We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Kitchener hotels

The Walper Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Queen Street South, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1A1, Canada (Formerly Walper Terrace Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Walper Hotel to your Saves list
The Walper Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    20
    22
    18
See reviews for
15
34
10
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I posted a review on Expedia a couple of days ago... apparently that review has been hidden., so I shall post here as a follow up. Lets just say that this hotel needs to have a lot of love to become an elegant 1890's hotel with 1890's class and style. The kitchen staff need hair-nets - my girlfriend wound up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Walper Hotel. The level of details serves to help us better educate our staff and identify areas for training and improvement. We appreciate your feedback and take guest comments seriously. I believe I did see and reply to your feedback on Expedia, but will also post a response here. We... More

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel committed many things and those were not there and it screwed up my stay. The bed sheets were having holes :O , the heating system runs automatically with a great noise and along with that sound whole night there will be a sound of someone pulling some chains or shutters (don't know from where that come). The most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ranatuka, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Walper Hotel. We will be undergoing renovations later this year, including upgrades to all of our rooms and their amenities to ensure the comfort of our guests. We recognize that some of our rooms are in need of some repair and are committed to doing everything we can to ensure... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The location is very good. However the room was a great disappointment. I booked a queen suite.There was bad smell in the room. The microwave wae out of order. The carpet seemed dirty. The bedding was ok. The washing machine was terrible that it semed no one used it for more years. I stayed for ten days. The service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Isabel L, Thank you for your recent feedback about your August stay with us. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations. The hotel was purchased in September of last year, and is now under new management with many upgrades taking place. Over the next few months, we will be addressing the... More

Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip in January. My group was obviously given the unrenovated rooms, as we all reported the same problems in the morning. The heating system is ancient and louder than any I have ever experienced in a hotel. I ended up turning it off to sleep, and since it was about -25C that night, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lolatengo, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Walper. Earlier this month we received our first shipment of pillow top King beds to begin replacing the firmer mattresses throughout the hotel. Additionally, we have begun the process of replacing all of our pillows, terry, and linen throughout. As you mention in your review, we will be... More

Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Five years ago, my husband brought me to Walper Terrace for a weekend and purposed to me. This past weekend (Feb 15, 2014) was our anniversary so my husband surprised me with a night away at Walper to bring back those special memories of our engagement. Let me say, this second time was a huge disappointment!!! Our first stay we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melissa Y, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Walper Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations, especially when celebrating a special anniversary as you were. We appreciate the care you have taken in detailing your experience and take feedback from our guests very seriously. I would appreciate the... More

Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We came to Kitchener to go to a concert at the Centre in the Square and decided to stay downtown at the Walper and be able to walk to the concert and nearby restaurants. The reception was very friendly, and they gave us room 509, a corner suite that looks newly renovated, although it has lovely high ceilings and has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MissAntarctica, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Walper Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed stay and that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to having you back soon! Sincerely, Domini Baldasaro General Manager, The Walper Hotel More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We bought a groupon coupon special to go to the Walper,have Sunday brunch( best on Sunday's)and 2 adult entries to the children's museum special show about sexuality.I loved being there-the staff were very very helpful and the brunch had such delicious dishes. There is an added attraction knowing al Capone lived there,lady gaga hid there,and Lennox Lewis stayed there as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Dear susanoppenheim, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Walper Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you and your family back soon! Sincerely, Domini Baldasaro General Manager, The Walper Hotel More

Bruce-Grey, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Walper Hotel is a historic property in downtown Kitchener, great location and walking distance to many area attractions. Very neat property with a lot of potential, however, the "recently" renovated rooms are far from recent! One of the worst beds I have ever slept in... Overall though, very unique and historic hotel and it is not AWFUL but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It's hard to evaluate a place that has such astounding potential while at the same time has such little attention to the details that make a memorable stay. At this moment I am sitting in a gorgeous room with soaring ceilings, beautiful curtains, an amazingly comfortable bed and beautiful antique light fixtures that add ambience and style. So far, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Dear redross2011, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Walper Hotel. I am pleased to hear that your stay overall was a good one, but sorry that we did not meet your expectations in regards to housekeeping and maintenance. We appreciate your feedback as it keeps us striving to exceed these expectations as we enter into a very exciting... More

LaSalle, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to attend the Chriskindl (German Christmas Festival) the weekend of Dec. 7/8. We chose the Walper because of its close proximity to the event, downtown Kitchener. We loved how rich the hotel was in history and its one of a kind unique-ness! Our room was like a quaint apartment with a kitchenette (granite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colleen C, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Walper Hotel. We truly appreciate your support and recommendations and are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of the close proximity to the Christkindl Market. We look forward to having you back again in the very near future. All the best, Domini Baldasaro, General Manager More

Been to The Walper Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Walper Hotel

Also Known As:
Walper Terrace Kitchener
The Walper Hotel Kitchener, Ontario
Address: 20 Queen Street South, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1A1, Canada (Formerly Walper Terrace Hotel)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Walper Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1893 and renovated in 2011, and following in the footsteps of notable visitors, The Walper invites its guests to rediscover the hotel where guests have enjoyed the rich architectural details of a time gone by, blended with the attentive, warm and welcoming service only experience can deliver. Credited as the original commercial establishment in the town of Berlin, and recognized as the first to have hydropower, guests will be treated to a unique balance of history and modern comfort as they stay, dine, or celebrate in the hotel enjoyed by William Lyon Mackenzie King, Wilfrid Laurier, Pierre Trudeau and nearly every other Canadian Prime Minister. Among others, Eleanor Roosevelt enjoyed breakfast in the courtyard and Louis Armstrong played his trumpet off the King Street balcony. Guests are encouraged to explore the building that housed liquor smuggled by Al Capone and that hid Lady Gaga, the queen of display, who remained unrecognized days into her stay. Visitors will dine in the Ballroom where Lennox Lewis once fought, and relax in suites enjoyed by everyone from Royalty, to leaders in the Arts, Cultural, Technological, and Political Realms who have chosen The Walper as their preferred accommodation in the area for over 120 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Walper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Walper Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.