We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Owen Sound hotels

BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Doug G
  • Reviews (200)
  • Photos (87)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    67
    22
    8
    14
See reviews for
46
75
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were gouged for $404.12 for 2 rooms for 1 night. Front desk tried to be funny to explained to me why I was charged $404.12 for 2 rooms for 1 night and why i was being gouged and because they can, there are no other inns in the area. Way over priced. I could stayed at a real 5... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi Matt Y, I must say I am shocked by your review of our hotel. In my eight years working here, I have never heard anyone say that this was their worst hotel experience ever. In fact, there are so many great reviews for this hotel that I am honestly startled by some of your comments. This was a very... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice patio in summer time. Overlooks the bay. Nice wine flights were offered when we were there. Nice hot tub with view of the bay but not large enough for swimming. Not a pool per se. Not cheap to stay there.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi Doug G, I am glad that you were able to enjoy part of our summer menu with the wine flights while sitting on the patio overlooking Georgian Bay. By offering fresh fish, divine desserts and wine flights we are attempting to create a memorable experience for our guests and it is nice to see that you were able to... More

Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Best Western Inn on the Bay in Owen Sound in April 2014 while visiting family. I shared a room with my husband and daughter, while other family also stayed in the same hotel. It was a nice updated clean hotel with friendly staff. The route we drove in on seemed a bit industrial, but the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi Gracefulfun, I would like to thank you for posting such an insightful review of your experience at our hotel. We are so very fortunate to have such a beautiful location in Owen Sound and it is nice to see this reflected in your comments. We do have many different options for guest rooms and should be able to accommodate... More

Markham, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very nice view out of the hotel. The lake is just near the hotel. I had a very nice dinner at the restaurant, and the view out of the window is wonderful,although the price is not low. Not a lot of choices for Breakfast. rooms are clean.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi Chao C, It is nice to see that you could enjoy and appreciate our beautiful location on the shores of Georgian Bay. It can be quite expensive to have as much prime waterfront property as we do and this does reflect in our rates to some degree. We try to offer an experience that justifies our rates and seek... More

Pickering, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent accommodations. Beds very comfortable. Extremely clean. Overlooking the water. Nice dining room. spa was relaxing. Staff very attentative and nice. We wanted to stay only one night as we were attending a wedding on the Saturday but were not allowed to book one night. We had to book 2 nights to get the accommodation at this BW. I am... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi Nancy M, I would like to thank you for your patronage to the Best Western brand. Your loyalty is very much appreciated and I am glad that you have not been disappointed in any of your experiences. That says a lot for how far we have come as a franchise. I hope that the two night minimum was not... More

Freehold, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was quite large, clean, beautiful view. The restaurant served delicious food. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were very happy with our choice. We will stay here again if we ever return to the area

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi Eileen G, I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us in Owen Sound. Our restaurant is especially nice this time of year with the patio overlooking Georgian Bay and hope you were able to enjoy that with your dining experience. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We will look forward to... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for the week end and had the corner room with a Jacuzzi. It was a great room with a water view. Room very clean and also had a fireplace. Staff were all friendly and I would recommend staying here.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi Janet F, I am so happy that you could enjoy one of our most beautiful suites while you stayed at our hotel. The Jacuzzi suite was built to provide one of the best views in Owen Sound and the room has every option we have to offer. If you are returning to the area in the future, please ask... More

Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent last weekend here with 140 other ladies (and a few gentlemen) at The Ontario Handspinning Seminar. What a gorgeous setting - perfect June weather with sunny days and mauve coloured sunsets over the bay. The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and accommodating to all our our requests, even if they had to. The rooms were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi needles4ewe, It was an honor to host the Ontario Handspinning Seminar for their 50th anniversary year! I am very happy to see that you and your colleagues enjoyed your experience at our hotel and felt welcomed during your stay. Each of our staff members truly care about each guest experience as we all take pride in our hotel and... More

Guelph, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great view , Good service , Excellent dining Safe , Quiet , all superlatives. This hotel surprisingly is 30 years old and looks new. It is very well maintained . The staff is courteous and efficient and obviously care about the place. Its one of the best BW's we have stayed at. Perhaps a bit more expensive than some others... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi Norma F, I would like to start by thanking you for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel. I could not ask for a better review and it makes me feel great knowing that you enjoyed your experience here so much. We truly care about each guest that stays with us and our ownership is always investing to... More

Collingwood, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We did not stay in the hotel but were looking for a good steak on our 29th Anniversary. My SIL suggested this restaurant. We she was spot on! We lounged over drinks and appetizers for about two hours and then we ordered the steak, I had the roast beef special with garlic mash and caesar salad to start. Everything was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, responded to this review

Hi Skyturtle101, I am very happy that your son in law recommended the Bishop's Landing restaurant for your anniversary dinner. It is even more pleasing to see that you enjoyed every aspect of your experience in our dining room. We currently employ two Chefs that work to ensure quality food comes out for every meal and I am glad to... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay

Address: 1800 2nd Avenue East | P O Box 516, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5RI, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn On The Bay Hotel Owen Sound
Best Western Owen Sound
Owen Sound Best Western
Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay Owen Sound, Ontario

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
100

See which rooms travelers prefer