We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Waterloo hotels

Waterloo Inn

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   475 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2Z5, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Waterloo Inn to your Saves list
Waterloo Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
61%
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Waterloo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014
chab009 Windsor, Canada
  • Reviews (126)
  • Photos (39)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
17
28
11
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here one night. It was a last-minute choice and not a very good one. The room was clean enough but the bathroom needed renovating - peeling & yellowed anti-slip stickers on the tub, cracked tiles, and an old, cracked faceplate on the light switch (these cost $2 at Home Depot - buy a few for Pete's sake!). The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I've just returned from a business trip that was hosted at the Waterloo Inn. I stayed overnight, and then attended the conference in the morning. Upon check-in, the staff was very friendly and helpful. They let me know where I would have to go for the conference, as well as where I could get breakfast in the hotel (Rushes). The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I got a bad feeling as I walked into the lobby as it had the tired look of a hotel well past its prime. while the front desk staff were friendly and helpful, the décor is stuck in the 70s with lots of dark faux wood, mirrored ceilings and worn, stained furniture in the public areas. The room we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lindsay, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at this motel. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Gave us a cheaper room after check in. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but the rest of the facilities are very nice. Pool is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Waterloo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is excellent to read that our friendly staff was accommodating. We are particularly pleased that our staff was able to reduce your rate to suit your stay; it is always good ask about promotions and last minute discounts! We are happy to... More

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights at this hotel and attended a conference. Rooms are very comfortable, great mattresses, lots of fluffy pillows and a really amazing bathroom. Good closet and a mini fridge. I spent lots of time online in the business center. The lounge area is comfortable but not particularly inviting. Same with the restaurant although the food was very good.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Waterloo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to make use of our ample amenities. Thank you for noting the quality of our food we are particularly proud of our award winning restaurant. We are sorry to read that you did not find the lounge and dining... More

St. Marys, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a romantic getaway. The saltwater pool was a nice touch in an area with a lot of natural light and plants. The room service was prompt and courteous ( We especially enjoyed the chocolate covered strawberries. The front desk staff were warm and made sure to inquire about our service. We felt taken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Waterloo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to create an account and review; we love to read about guest’s experience with us! Our chocolate covered strawberries are our most popular in room enhancement; we are so pleased you enjoyed them! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our front desk team took care of you.... More

Burlington, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed at this location Jan 5th 2014 for one night, and as always a great comfortable room. The hotel was in the process of doing renovations of their rooms to improve their bathrooms, beds, and amenities. The bed was comfortable with several pillow choices, the flatscreen TV was 32" not the largest but the room felt a little cramped between... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Waterloo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It is wonderful to read that even during a time of renovation, you found the room great and comfortable as always. The space between the desk, chair and bed are certainly points to be addressed as we continue with our renovations. It is great that you enjoyed the spacious bathroom however unfortunate that rainfall shower-heads... More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had made the reservations through email a few weeks in advance and the reservation process was easy and prompt. The check-in was seemless as well however the front desk staff could seem a bit more welcoming and friendly instead of just chatting amongst themselves. The pool was cleanly kept, however on the 2nd night I went to use the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waterloo Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Waterloo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that you found the reservation and check in process easy, prompt and seamless. We regret that our front desk team was not as attentive and welcoming as we have come to expect. Our housekeeping staff works hard on all aspects of hotel cleanliness and takes pride in their work. Thanks... More

Owen Sound, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is getting dated. Have not been to the property for 5 years. Front desk staff very abrupt not very friendly or welcoming. Should have listened to the previous reviews. Not likely to return. Only good thing us Wildcraft restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Waterloo Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, it allows us to note the area’s in need of improvement and make the necessary changes to improve our guest’s experience. We recently completed a round of room renovations and will be continuing our renovations throughout the year. Smiling faces and positive demeanour can make a big difference in a guest’s experience and... More

Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I went on their website today and they say they were offering Easter Weekend special rates for $99. I tried to book on-line but it wouldn't work properly, so I called. I explained that I couldn't get it to work on-line and the gentleman said he would do it for me. He said yes I could get the Easter $99,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Waterloo Inn M, Guest Relations Manager at Waterloo Inn, responded to this review

We would like to sincerely apologize for the confusion you experienced to book our Easter Package. The package did indeed have a two tiered structure. A rate of $99.00 was being offered for our not yet renovated rooms and a slightly higher rate of $119.00 was offered for the recently renovated due to a smaller quantity of these rooms. We... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Waterloo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Waterloo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Inn

Address: 475 King Street North, Waterloo, Ontario N2J 2Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterloo Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Waterloo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Hotel Waterloo
Waterloo Inn Ontario

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Waterloo with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Waterloo Inn & Conference Centre is conveniently located on a treed, spacious property bordered by King St. and the Highway 85 expressway in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada. The Waterloo area is home base to dozens of well-known corporations including Manulife, Sunlife, RIM, Dalsa and Home Hardware, and our hotel is within a 10 minute drive. Mere blocks away are the University of Waterloo, Perimeter Institute of Theoretical Physics, Wilfrid Laurier University and the Centre for International Governance Innovation. Nearby attractions include UpTown Waterloo, Princess Cinema, Waterloo Park, African Lion Safari, Wings of Paradise, Grey Silo Golf Club, Stratford Festival (30 minutes away), St. Jacobs village (and Farmers Market) and throughout the month of October, Kitchener's Oktoberfest. At the Waterloo Inn & Conference Centre, the largest independent hotel in the region, deluxe accommodations and facilities are complemented by extraordinary staff providing friendly, professional service around the clock.Conference facilities rival those of west Toronto hotels, with over 15,000 sq. ft. of meeting space in two large conference rooms capable of seating up to 1200 people and an additional 5,000 sq. ft. in eight boardroom-/ breakout style meeting rooms. We also offer a beautiful heated pool and whirlpool in a quiet skylit atrium, sauna and fully equipped fitness centre, a 24-hour business centre, complimentary Wi-Fi and 24-hour room service. Local shuttle service is provided at no charge Monday to Friday. The hotel’s in-room amenities include mahogany finished bedroom suite and work desk with ergonomic chair, high-speed internet access, the in-room hospitality with refrigerator and coffeemaker, dual-line phones with voicemail and data ports, On-Command video/TV video games, and a complimentary morning daily newspaper. Located in the heart of the hotel, Rushes Restaurant is our hidden gem. The seasonally-refreshed menu offers an exquisite cuisine that will delight you for breakfast, lunch or dinner, be it in the contemporary main restaurant or Rushes Courtyard in summer. And don’t forget the wine list! Rushes’ excellent wine cellar has been recognized for the past three years with an Award for Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine. Guests coming to the Kitchener and Waterloo area will find special, personalized comfort and extraordinary service at our hotel, just what you are looking for after work for relaxation, or fun during a vacation getaway. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
160

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterloo Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer