We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset Resorts Canmore

1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Sunset Resorts Canmore
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Travelled as a couple. We stayed at the Sunset Resorts Canmore from Friday-Sunday in December. Upon checking in we were told that we were upgraded to a larger room with a mountain view, balcony and underground parking…what a way to start the trip! I had read a few negative comments on here before our trip so I was a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Malaya567
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review, we appreciate and hope to see you guys again soon! More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015

The room was pleasant and well appointed. Everything was clean and the bathroom was quite spacious. After some of the negative reviews I had read I was prepared for less than perfect and I was pleasantly surprised at the accommodation. I was however quite astonished there was no pool or hot tub. I must have missed that in the reviews.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TriciasTrips
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Reply; Thank you for your comments we are happy that you enjoyed your condo stay with us. Although we receive hundreds of positive reviews by our guests unfortunately it is more common to see a large percentage of negative reviews actually being posted online. Either way we encourage our guests to post their comments so that it may not only... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

we had the pleasure of spending 2 wks. at sunset resort in, canmore, alberta. it was our second stay there & like our first visit, it did not disappoint. the staff is very knowledgable,friendly & made us feel welcomed. they provide a very tasty bbq once a wk. a nice guided hike & phil, the owner will spend some hours... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aukse E
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments! We definitely appreciate when guests take the time to let us know they had a good experience with us and advise other guests of the activities they enjoyed! Thank you and we hope to see you again! More 

St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

Alright, not sure where to start or how to organize this, so I apologize now for the randomness of this review.. We booked this hotel/resort for a last minute trip to Canmore/Banff because with an almost two year old, we wanted a one bedroom suite. I had read the reviews here on TA, was a little hesitant but in the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Imthatguytcb247
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you had a really good time with us overall. Please note that we do in fact offer an early check in or late check out service for a fee but on occasion due to logistics we may not be able to accommodate this request. I am surprised to hear that you had... More 

Winnipeg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

Rooms were large enough and updated and beds were very comfortable and rooms were very quiet. They were too hot even though heat was off. Microwave in 1 room not working. Not adequate lighting in 1 room. Housekeeping unreliable and inefficient. Check-in was difficult - maybe staff person was not well? Check-out was much better with a different person who... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
Alain C, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your condo style vacation but please in future call our Front Desk so that we may address any issues that you may encounter during your stay. Most problems can be resolved very quickly for you. Our housekeeping team works very hard and they are on a tight schedule especially during the... More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

We are here right now and it is wonderful. We traded our week in Ormond Beach for this resort because we wanted to visit Canmore and Banff and are NOT disappointed. Yes, it was built many years ago and may not be in the best of conditions but it certainly has satisfied us. We have very spacious rooms and everything... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheKuesters
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment, which was lovely and spaces. The master bedroom was enormous, second bedroom small and the third bedroom had no windows (not sure you can all it a bedroom). Kitchen facilities were good, we also had a dishwasher and dishwasher tablets! Washing machine came with powder as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
Alain C, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you had a great time in one of the most unique units in Canmore. Most of our 3 bedroom units are lock-off style that are basically a 1 bedroom unit situated beside a 2 bedroom unit with a common vestibule but this 3 bedroom at Sunset Resorts Canmore is one large unit that sleeps... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2015

We stayed for one week in this hotel. It's not dire, however there are much nicer places available with better customer service. In summary, the room was fine, however was only cleaned once during our stay - no fresh towels, made bed, fresh coffee, clean cups, etc. Reception were very unhelpful in this regard. I wrote the below on 29/8,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
Alain C, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

First of all we apologize for our late response for some reason it was not posted this fall. We are very disappointed as we pride ourselves on having good communication with our guests. If our guests have trouble reaching one of our reps we ask them to please leave a message. Please note that most condo style vacations are similar... More 

Travelers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Regina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2015

Good location, great pool for families, but the inside was tired and beat up. 2 nights of noisy parties, inside was not as clean as we expected. Hotel staff were not as welcoming as other places we've stayed at. I paid an extra 85 dollars for a mountain view, and if you craned your neck over far enough, you could... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Beautifulbluewaskesi
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the pool and our close proximity to downtown Canmore. However, due to the high traffic during the summer, it is difficult to perform extra maintenance and deep cleans until the fall season. Our housekeeping team is well trained and works very hard to keep a constant high standard of... More 

Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

The location is great, the suite was a good size. However...We were visiting Canmore for a family wedding and spent the time prior to the wedding camping. But we wanted to have a hotel room for the family to get changed in before the event. Knowing that check in time is normally 2-4 pm, I went to the hotel 4... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hammergirl9191
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Canmore. You are correct our check in is at 4pm and if you are in need of an early check in, we do charge $40 for that service as it can create many logistical problems. Due to this, on occasion we simply can’t guarantee this service as someone may have already... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#1 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,098 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grande Rockies Resort
Grande Rockies Resort
#24 of 30 in Canmore
3.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#14 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 386 reviews
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay