We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Canmore hotels

Sunset Resorts Canmore

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sunset Resorts Canmore to your Saves list
Sunset Resorts Canmore
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #23 of 32 hotels in Canmore
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Leigh-Calgary Calgary, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (105)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (45)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    26
    16
    15
    16
See reviews for
36
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Sunset Resort wasn't my first choice, but Canmore hotels were booking up for weekend. Rate for weekend was acceptable (similar to other properties). Booked in for standard 2 queen, but was upgraded for no cost to a 2 bed condo. Much more room than I needed for sure, but ok in the end. The Goods: -Close to downtown (you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom with jacuzzi. We got a room with balcony instead of jacuzzi. When asked, they told me that they call it an 'upgrade'. I never asked them for any upgrade... What a surprise!!!!! How can it be an upgrade if i donot need a balcony??? They were unable to switch me back to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked this hotel through Dealfind which was $150 for a 2 night weekend stay ($99 for a 2 night stay during the week) and they also gave us a $100 gift card to a local restaurant in town. The catch? Sit through a timeshare presentation. They promise they aren't pushy. We'll see. We arrived around 8:30 on a Friday... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We took this resort through an Intervale timeshare exchange. We checked in at the resort's front desk then went to lunch. When we returned we tried to get into our room with our bags and groceries but were told we were in the wrong part of the resort and were sent to another office for Sunset Resorts which apparently runs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here on a time share exchange for a week. It is a very good hotel on the edge of Canmore well within striking range of Banff and the park. The rooms were a bit warm even with the windows open and the shades drawn to keep the sun our (and this was May with night time temps in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The building is modern and nice but there were a number of things that we became disheartened with. The heat in the condo was unbearable. Only 2 little tiny windows to let air in, had to shut the pilot light off on the Fireplace, turned the heat dial to cool and still sweated. The thermometer read above 25 continually day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Thank you we appreciate your comments as our goal is to constantly improve. Our building is very well insulated which serves us well during the winter season but unfortunately the air conditioning unit doesn’t kick in until the temperature consistently reaches 12 C. Due to this the Spring season can be a little tricky. That being said, it does take... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked this through an offer we found on Dealfind. Our room was sweltering even with the window open. Our room was nothing like the pictures online and seemed to be under renovation. Green masking tape on the floor, paint missing... Everywhere seemed to smell like stale beer. We moved to another hotel for our second night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Our Dealfind promotion was a great success but unfortunately, the contractor who was hired to renovate some of the units wasn't able to complete them on time. We did our best to accommodate all of our guests and this is why you were moved. We apologize for any inconveniences. Maintenance was able to rectify the heating issue as a valve... More

big city
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had called to book a 2 bedroom suite, but then it wasn't available when we confirmed the booking, so we had to book two 1 bedroom suites. They were farther apart than expected, but it still worked out alright. The reception upon arrival was friendly and helpful. We received (per suite) 2 cards to get into the building, parkade... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at a Sunset Resort Condo over New Years, 2013. We had a 2 bedroom condo, one large room with a queen bed and one tiny bunk room with bunk beds. There was a full kitchen and very nice living/ dining area. Because we were skiing etc every day, having the washer and dryer was a real luxury. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The living area is very small. The pIctures online are deceptive (purposely?). When we booked we made it clear that we were coming with 6 adults yet they put us in this tiny suite. Herb Tarlek salesman will tell you what ever you want to hear. Not cool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alain C, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Resorts Canmore, responded to this review

Dear CalgaryJa54, our 2 bedroom units are standard and sleeps up to 6 people with 4 people sleeping in the bedrooms and 2 people sleeping on the pull-out couch situated in the living room. Most of our guests understand the 2 bedroom unit confirmation but perhaps, booking 2 rooms may have been a better option for you. Should we have... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sunset Resorts Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Canmore with
any amenities

Been to Sunset Resorts Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Resorts Canmore

Address: 1151 Sidney Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 3G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Resorts Canmore 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Sunset Resorts Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Resorts Canmore Hotel Canmore
Sunset Hotel Canmore
Canmore Sunset Hotel
Sunset Resorts Canmore Alberta

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
19

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer