We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain View Inn

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
100 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X2, Canada
Mountain View Inn
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    5
    19
    36
    16
    30
See reviews for
35
31
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mountain View Inn was the first hotel we were staying in during our adventure in the Rockies, and I was admittedly a little nervous. I read the reviews here on Tripadvisor (and let's be honest here - they're not very good), and was truly expecting the worst. However, seeing as we were trying to keep a relatively tight budget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kayleigh P, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your nicely written review. We appreciate when guests understand we are an economy style hotel and cannot offer the amenities of a resort style hotel. We try our best to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests with the best service possible. We are always constantly striving to improve our property but as with everything,... More 

Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We checked in after hours and retrieved our key from a lockbox. When we entered the room, my daughter first noticed that there was a hair on one of the pillows. At first I didn’t think much of it. But then when she pulled down the bedspread and flat sheet, she discovered a box containing a tube of prescription ointment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kayleigh P, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review

We first would like to apologize for the condition of the beds in your unit! It is always our priority to ensure all guests receive a clean room with the highest attention to detail, but with anything else, human error can occur. We have fully refunded your reservation back to you and realize this will not make up for the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were travelling on a budget, so we couldn't afford some of the outrageous prices in Banff. Instead we stayed in Canmore. The pickings were a bit slim, given the time of year so we chose the Mountain View Inn. We were a bit hesitant, given some of the negative reviews we had seen but figured we'd chance it... And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kayleigh P, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your review of your time with us. We are always striving to provide the best experience possible, within the means of our hotel. We do have the lack of outlets on our list and hope to find a solution to in the near future. Have a wonderful summer! More 

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have not written a review before, but I feel I must on this one....this was awful!! Stains on the carpet, dirt on doors, one crappy pillow per person and at least a dozen hairs (from multiple body places) in the bed as well as in the tub.....no way this room was cleaned at all and was definitely not done... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kayleigh P, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay with us was not to the standards that we set forth with our housekeeping team. We do not have an excuse for the issues that you encountered during your time and will continue to ensure our standards are ever rising on quality and attention to details. We hope that you have a wonderful summer! More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled as a group with 4 seniors, 6 adults and 2 teenagers for a short excursion near Banff. Stayed here for only 1 night and the evening turned out to be a better choice than staying at Banff. Lower cost, only a 10-minute ride from Banff and less bustling vicinity. The room is basic and clean with great emphasis... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kayleigh P, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for your review. We are always looking to provide the best stay possible for our guests within the means of our property. We hope that you have a wonderful summer! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a cheap, simple, older style, no amenities hotel. Affordable but I mean NO amenities in the double queen room. No daily maid service. No coffee pot, no microwave, no mini fridge, key lock not card, no elevator - stairs but it's only a two level. Has a blow dryer in the bathroom. No continental breakfast. Coffee in lounge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kayleigh P, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review

We thank you for your review. We hope that guests understand that we are an economy style hotel with a 2 star rating as we do not have the activity amenities to offer. We do have basic rooms for the guests on a budget, however, there are also upgraded rooms that offer the in room amenities like the mini fridge,... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The stay at the hotel was mediocre at best. The floors were stained leading up to our room, I found two bugs in the room, there was no microwave, no fridge, no restaurant, they didn't do your bedding or towels during your stay, and the bed was very uncomfortable. The only thing that this hotel had going for itself was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

I stayed at the Mountain View Inn, for three weeks because of work. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who needs long term accommodations. They never cleaned my room once. I asked about this, and they said to clean the room a service charge would be added to my bill. What the hell is that. Not cleaning the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

Excellent room for the cost - very cheap. Room was clean and had an awesome view. Can't complain. We will definitely stay in this hotel again. Pretty convienient location as well. TV remote instructions if you need them ... Haha

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

"BED BUGS" The room was clean and decent for the price EXCEPT the day we left the hotel , I found a bedbug on my shirt. It is certainly something I didn't want to take it home... It caused lots of stress and lots of cleaning ! !

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Kayleigh P, Manager at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review

I would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that a guest may have experienced during their time at our establishment. Our hotel takes all complaints and comments very seriously and deals with them appropriately and our front desk pride themselves on offering the best service possible. We wish that all guests enjoy their time with us and we are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#15 of 33 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Canmore
Econo Lodge Canmore
#8 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
#11 of 33 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#1 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 33 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay