We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solara Resort & Spa

#10 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel packages
187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Solara Resort & Spa
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    135
    57
    34
    15
See reviews for
201
116
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (488)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
There are newer reviews for Solara Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here as a mini-vacation from our regular lives in Calgary. Our girls like the kids play room and the pool. One thing to note is that the pool area has a hot tub, and the kids splash park, and a little wading pool, but no "real" pool for adults, so don't expect to be doing laps here. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day Calgary_guy_yyc, Thank you for your nice review, it always is appreciated. Certainly that without being "specifically" a children resort, we do indeed have facilities that kids always appreciate … consequently parents also! We have great pride in the level of luxury of our amenities and suites, so very happy that you have enjoyed it. We do have many... More 

Sacramento, California
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in Solara Resort & Spa of Canmore for a week during June 2013. It was for a relative's wedding. Unfortunately, the wedding was cancelled due to flooding in Canmore even in Calgary. It rained for 3 days. We lost power and stayed in dark for about few hours. And later, we were told the water source was contaminated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day flypig100, Thank you for sharing your thoughts in regards to certainly the most terrible period that Alberta has lived in years. I regret that your event in Canmore was obviously affected by the flood, which was a Provincial disaster. We did, as you mentioned, have to place some buckets in some of the hallways since the water has... More 

fort mcmurray
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Solara is a ultra modern condo styled hotel in Canmore. Honestly, it feels like a friend lent you his home for the week or week-end. Everything is clean and modern. The bath and shower set up are super nice, the three way shower is to die for. A lot of these places are nice but the shower sucks, or the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day GarywFortMcmurray, Thank you for your kind and especially very fair review; you obviously have some good experience of the Canmore area. We indeed have some incredible quality amenities at Solara that our guest simply witness by themselves and appreciate without a doubt; basically our units were made of taste and quality. But we now reach, as the "uber... More 

Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Imagining our wedding day and even more important ,the honeymoon, was nerve racking. My friend told me about Banff and as I looked into it I found The Solara Resort and Spa. We were amazed ,not only at the facilities , but how true online photos were. Well the photos were exact.From check in to leaving service was good. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day Reenche, Well, what a pleasure to see that while already experiencing one of the few most important moment of your life, that our little piece of life of this world, .. Solara, did actually completed a beautiful and unique time for you. Thank you, we are very greatful and I certainly hope we can welcome you back anytime.... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When we booked this condo we were expecting to find a different sort of place. The rooms were nice and well appointed, the beds comfortable (please give us a sheet and maybe a blanket instead of just a thick comforter!), but the building design felt more like a hotel than a condo. (We were also surprised to find that this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day PJ P, Thank you for your last review with Solara. Certainly that the style and range of accommodations in Canmore are all mainly based on condo type, especially for the size and luxury of the amenities. From your comments, I am happy to let you know that our bi-annual full cleaning of the carpets was done since then... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay at the Solara was so wonderful, we are already planning to do this again next year. We were two couples sharing a two bedroom condo and it was excellent. We were able to bring snacks and food to make our own breakfast and the kitchen had all we needed. Us ladies spent a good portion of a day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day MollysMum661, Such great to read your comments on having a great long week-end at Solara. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the One Wellness & Spa team since you kept such a royal souvenir from their treatments. As for the hotel services, I will also ensure to let know all front desk team and... More 

Pembroke, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Solara for 2 nights in September. We have stayed in many types of condos, B&Bs, vacation rentals & hotels over the years and were disappointed with our stay here. The room itself was beautiful, however, we had to keep our windows closed and could not use the balcony as we were located beside a large exhaust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day Ontariosunseeker1, Especially coming from a far distance as Ontario, it certainly is very disappointing to read that you were not satisfied as you deserved, regardless of the price. I appreciate you loved the quality and luxury of the units, but truly apologize for the inconvenience you had. Basically, the disappointments you expressed can be put on two elements:... More 

George Town, Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Seven of us stayed at Solara in the penthouse unit over Thanksgiving long weekend. It was a perfect fit for all of us, and we will likely be returning again. The Penthouse was huge! I was shocked at how large it actually was. The master and ensuite (more like spa) was perfect for my husband, 1 year old and myself.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day jujiles94, Thank you for your review, it certainly is well appreciated. We do have large and luxurious units that our guest are certainly very pleased with. I am happy that housekeeping has brought you anything that could have been missing; even if we do ensure at repeated time that any small items such as cutlery are being replaced... More 

Okotoks
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had a great weekend at Solara on Thanksgiving weekend. Accommodations worked very well for us as we brought along our small dogs. We had the 2 bedroom suite and the kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed. We found the room spacious and met our expectations. There were a few items missing as there were 5 in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day Freedomlover18, Thank you for such a great review and appreciation on our property. Definitely that the penthouse you have is indeed a very large unit. Since we have from 1 to 3 bedrooms units, all of them are actually very large, ... but not to the extent of this one. I can easily imagine that this was a... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed at the Solara resort and spa on two occasions during late September early October. On the first occasion we were allocated a premium two bed suite as the suite we were first shown only had two queen beds and I had my son and daughter with me. They upgraded us so that we could have one king bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Good day K w, Truly painful as a hotelier to read your honest and very respectful comments, but I thank you for voicing them. These simply helped us to accelerate any changes already in motion since the summer. Unfortunately, we could not complete these in time for your stay for my sincere disappointment. Let me detail more on your examples... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
0:35
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question