We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Solara Resort & Spa

4.0 of 5 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GreenLeadersSilver level
Solara Resort & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Solara Resort & Spa
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    121
    55
    34
    14
See reviews for
188
106
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (455)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (195)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The 2 bedroom suite (Aurora 310) would be great for two couples, but the sofa bed was a big disappointment. Other resorts within walking distance of this one have better sofa beds. Of course you don't know till you try. (or read a review) Given that there was storage for over 3 dozen bottles of wine in 3 separate coolers/fridges,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We recently spent the weekend here at a friends condo. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The resort was very clean and pretty quiet. The only draw back was the pool/hot tub. The pool is VERY small so when it's busy you can barely enjoy a soak in the hot tub either. Great place for families and pretty close... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear blguerrero: Thank you very much for your excellent review and your continued patronage! Our Team’s mission is to ensure all of our guests receive Star treatment and go home with a memorable hospitality experience. Do apologize about out pool being very small we are looking at making a larger pool area in the near future. Once again, thank you... More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

The suite had a much appreciated view Of the mountains. It is a great home base to a day of hiking in in Banff. We're panning to return late summer/ early fall. Nice hiking and some nice restaraunts in town. It is a little strange that there are no restaraunts on the premisist.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear DBlackl: Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay noting our fantastic location and comfortable, well-equipped suites! I’m pleased you enjoyed our huge two-bedroom suites which are large enough to accommodate up to six people. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore! Kind... More 

Okotoks, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Such a beautiful place to stay! Perfect for our family (and three young children). Lots of room to stretch out and so nice to be able to have meals in our suite. Great value for the money and we will definitely be back again. Our only complaint, we would have liked to have stayed LONGER!! Great place!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear mom2cash: Thank You for your awesome review. I’m pleased you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us in our spacious and well-equipped two-bedroom suites! Once again, thank you for your review, your continued patronage and I do look forward to hosting you and your family again on future stays in Canmore! Kind Regards, Darryll Hunter General Manager More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This hotel has a perfect emplacement and the landscape around is simply amazing. All the staff were really friendly and accomodating. Everything was perfect and we really enjoyed our stay there.. We'll go back for sure!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Renee R: I’m absolutely delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us! Our Team Members always want to provide our guests with a unique and special experience and when we get great feedback like yours, we know we’re meeting our goals! Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you on future... More 

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stayed with my daughter in Solara in November 2014. We've got a huge main floor condo (2 bed, 2 bath), very lavish - the uber modern kitchen, the cork floors, three fireplaces (one in the living room, one in each bedroom) - everything was very impressive! Location is perfect, and underground parking was an asset. It was very cold in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear inna301: Thank you for your awesome review noting large our two-bedroom suites. All suites have a fully-equipped kitchen (full-sized refrigerator, stove, dishwasher and microwave) and ensuite washer/dryer. The majority of the two-bedroom suites also have two bathrooms. Do apologize about the heat and drain not working well. Delighted you enjoyed our amazing location and the best underground parking in... More 

Calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor. We had a balcony with a bbq (electric) which worked great! The kitchen was very well equip and we had everything we needed. Unfortunately the coffee pot was of poor quality (probably needed replacing) but It did eventually end up working. Afterwards I found a bodum French press, doh!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jenn076: Thank you for your awesome review noting large our two-bedroom suites. All suites have a fully-equipped kitchen (full-sized refrigerator, stove, dishwasher and microwave) and en-suite washer/dryer. The majority of the two-bedroom suites also have two bathrooms. Do apologize about the coffee maker. We are actually replacing our coffee makers with top quality stainless steel ones. Also delighted you... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

Internet service was terrible. We had our own Netflix (wouldn't work), rented movies which never worked, had to switch out our PS3..... got lost trying to find the lobby. The room was dusty and you could see where the housekeeping hadn't cleaned (under tables). Had a stain on the front of my sheets.... not juice! Doesn't seem very organized and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christine B: Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you advising us of the concerns relating to the internet and PS3's. I will be having the maintenance team check all PS3's. We also have conducted a check of the whole wifi system at the resort. We have re-set all routers and all Wi-Fi systems on... More 

Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I attended the Solara Resort in October 2014. The cost was very reasonable, and the front desk very helpful and friendly. The first big plus was the very spacious underground parkade that allowed me to park my truck inside. I found my room with ease, and was very impressed with the cleanliness and atmosphere of the ample room. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jcsch: As a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor I Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review and to rate your recent stay at the hotel a 4/5! I’m pleased you enjoyed the spaciousness of your fully-equipped 2-bedroom suite. Also delighted you enjoyed our amazing underground secure parking. The best underground parking in Canmore. Do apologize for... More 

Kamloops
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We rented a 2 bed 2 bath unit. Amazing view of the mountains. The property was excellent. Granite counters, Hard floors. Super clean. Well stocked with the dishes, cutlery, bedding, towels. Comfy beds. Very up scale décor. Perfect walking distance to downtown shopping, restaurants and pubs. Very close to great walking trails with easy access. Highly recommend if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Fluffykamloops: Thank you for rating your stay a 5/5! Our well-equipped and spacious two-bedroom suites are perfect for sharing and all have two bathrooms. I’m also pleased you enjoyed our excellent location with our amazing majestic view of the mountains. Our underground secured and heated parkade is the largest in Canmore and can accommodate the largest of vehicles. Once... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#3 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore

140 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
0:35
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay