We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge

730 Clarke Road, Coquitlam, British Columbia V3J 3Y1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Add Your Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Where to start............. Upon check in the people in the office were very unpleasant. Not helpful at all. When I finally got my room and went in, it smelt awful, looked awful and the bathroom was not cleaned properly. The maid comes and goes into the room whenever she wants without knocking first. Throughout the night cops would stop by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Here's the thing... who would write a review like this? If you are seriously looking at the reviews to help make your decision, then look at other online review sites as well. When we have a problem with someone, we ask them to leave... this sounds like sour grapes! Our staff gets rave reviews so this comment about the staff... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I am currently staying at the Sleepy Lodge Motel and I could not be any less impressed. They obviously have no screening process whatsoever on their guests. Every time I leave my room I am eyed by any number of incredibly shady people to the point that I do not feel safe here at all, and refuse to go outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, General Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It just happens to be the worst review on Tripadvisor since it came under new management and ownership in January 2014. When reading the reviews and making your decisions, please take that under consideration. I am thankful that the police will come out when called and I am certain that... More 

Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I had to be in Vancouver for a conference, and literally EVERYTHING downtown was booked (unless I wanted to pay $500 a night, which I didn't). I also only needed a place to sleep, nothing fancy. Found the Sleepy Lodge on here and was shocked and turned off by all the horrible reviews, but noticed that there were new owners... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, General Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review and sorry for the delay in responding! Summer was very very busy as we were sold out every night! Your comments about the pillows are heard... we have already been replacing them and are actually putting four pillows on each bed. I hope you will come back again, this time by choice,... More 

Alberta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I had written a review for Booking.com a few weeks back which has not been posted. As I said in the review for their site, I really don't know who is writing the positive reviews to this property. My husband and I had paid in advance for the nights we were to stay at the property but were wondering if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! As you were witness to, we are making efforts to improve the guest experience on a daily basis. We are very sorry that the switch out of furniture caused you so much distress. We had no idea it would when we asked your permission to enter. So sorry for the... More 

Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

They are in the middle of a renovation so you have to bare with them but the staff was extremely nice and very helpful. They helped us get around Vancouver even recommended taking the skytrain instead of driving and paying for parking in downtown Vancouver. If you are looking for somewhere to stay on a budget this is the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am grateful to have been able to be of assistance to you and look forward to seeing you again! More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We visited our family nearby and stayed for two weeks at the Sleepy Lodge. The staff are very polite, very cooperative and helpful. Always smiling, no matter how complex your request is. Promptly responded to our needs, even changing the furniture in the room to better accommodate them. You do have to ask for a daily change of towels if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review of our property! We are making progress every day and look forward to more positive results! See you next time? More 

Cranbrook, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is not for the faint of heart and those who need the internet to work, but it is priced to save you costly fees if your planning to stay for more then 7 days in Coquitlam! I will give them e for effort for trying they are renovating somewhat but first thing I would fix is some WIFI... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel Laurier! Yes, the wi-fi is fixed... installed 6 more routers! Hope all is well with you! More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed here because I was going to a friend's wedding and we thought it had improved. It hadn't. The rooms are dirty, dated and smelt. They smelt of being lived in whereby nothing had been cleaned for months and my non-smoking room? Of smoke. The back of the bathroom door was filthy and pieces of the bathroom door was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, General Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your trip in 2013. I am very sorry to hear of your experience. In February 2014 the motel came under new ownership and management and we are currently in the process of upgrades. Several rooms have already been painted and brightened up and we will be placing updated furniture... More 

Okanagan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Attended a workshop in town and needed a cheap place to stay. Not high end, but serves its purpose. I felt safe and everything was clean, although a little dated. No complaints, this place is plenty good for an economy traveler.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, General Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review after your stay in May of 2013. I am really happy that you had a good experience! In February of 2014 the motel was purchased by a new management team and is currently undergoing upgrades including fresh paint and new furniture. I hope the service will continue to be what anyone would... More 

London, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I booked this accommodation before I read the other reviews. I then called them to ensure the accommodation was NOT what the reviews were portraying it. Well, fortunately, I can report that indeed it is NOT. I was well treated...staff could not do anymore to accommodate my wishes than they did. Cleaning staff was friendly as well as front desk.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CoquitlamSleepyLodge, General Manager at Coquitlam Sleepy Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the positive review after your stay in 2012. As part of the new management team that purchased the property in February 2014 I hope you will make a trip back to visit. We are doing some upgrading including new paint and updated furniture! Even a budget hotel needs a face lift from time to time. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question