We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grouse Inn

1633 Capilano Road, North Vancouver, British Columbia V7P 3B3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grouse Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grouse Inn
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    34
    38
    20
    35
See reviews for
43
47
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I chose the Grouse Inn from the Expedia site for a last minute cheap night's sleep. For a 2-star motel on motel-alley I really just hoped for a clean room. The room, number 214, was not only clean, but had a renovated bathroom, 2 queen beds with lots of decent pillows and an in room coffee station. Though I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the good. 1. very good internet wifi - 50 mg down, 20 mg up. i believe Grouse Inn has the best wifi speed compared to most motels. 2. good location. just off the Lion's Gate Bridge. 3.7 miles walking distance to Stanley Park. 2 miles to Suspension Bridge. very quiet location, safe neighborhood. 3. good value. less than $50. the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Happy with our stay. Good value for the price. Clean and comfortable. Used the Wifi service for both our computers. We didn't experience any problems. Left books behind which the staff kept securely for us. We are returning to Vancouver and will stay here again. Thank you Grouse Inn Staff! Close to the seabus and the best Raw food vegetarian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Stayed here for 5 nights in February and was fairly impressed with the accommodation. The hotel wasn't particularly busy so breakfast was plentiful and, to be honest, did the job. The room included a large bed, fridge and microwave. There was a "musty" smell and I think this was also due to the single pane windows which meant a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

As a Public Health Inspector, I know to check very basic things in a hotel room before getting settled in. There was trash in my room from the previous visitor and even worse, there was a USED CONDOM at the head of the bed. I kid you not. I have never seen a hotel room like this. Unfortunately, the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
elaaaki, General Manager at Grouse Inn, responded to this review

We were very surprised to read your review of your recent experience at Grouse Inn. Especially that when we checked our logs and spoke to our staff, we found lots of contradictions. For instance, our records indicated that you checked in at 3:30pm and requested to leave at around 8:30pm. Our staff member offered you another room, it was an... More 

Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Big comfortable room, daily housekeeping, wifi good, free local phone calls, free breakfast that is much better than the usual free offerings elsewhere, good price GBP44 per night. BUT MOST OF ALL - thank you to the lovely, attentive and polite staff who were so helpful when my bags went missing for 3 days due to Menzies baggage handing at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Don't book in this hotel if tou need to use Internet. You will not be able to open your mail. Worthlss hotel, don't think about saving money, because your health is going to sever if you will tray to use Internet

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We stayed three nights at the Grouse Inn over the New Year having traveled from Seattle, and before that Portland, Crescent City and San Francisco (went on a road 10-day road trip from Los Angeles). We stayed in room 235 on the second floor. For what it's worth, Grouse Inn is a budget friendly and decent hotel. It is located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

We stayed here for the night to get the ferry across to Vancouver Island. Low budget hotel, rooms old but clean, we stayed with our dog and it was fine for a one night stay. The breakfast was good for a free one and it was handy for some eating places close by which meant you didn't have to drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Van Anda
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
35 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Best budget value in the area. Free breakfast is a bonus and for the price, very basic but substantial. Bonus is pool. Basically clean, could use some updates, but that might raise the prices. Will go back if cost is same as other local facilities. Grouse Inn is the most updated one of the budget hotels, and certainly is the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question