We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland Harbour Oaks

16 Gore Street | Auckland City, 1010, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Auckland Harbour Oaks
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    59
    132
    129
    56
    39
See reviews for
107
154
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (415)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The only good thing about this apartment is the view and location. The bathroom is tiny, the shower leaked, the decor is old, the wind whistles through it all night. I think it came with a carpark which is good. The bedrooms are tiny. For 4 people exxy....no!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For our 1 year anniversary we decided to bisit New Zealand from Australia. Our travel agent booked us into the harbour oaks. The location of the hotel is great. Short walk to everywhere. The staff were friendly. However, when we got to the room, we were surprised at how cramped it was. We ordered a queen bed room, but what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udai S, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am terribly disappointed to read that your stay was not to your satisfaction, we will take your comments under consideration upon future improvements. Phased refurbishment is on the plan soon. Do not hesitate to contact me directly on feedback@vrhotels.co.nz if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Auckland Region hotels

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location is great for seeing the city and being close to transport options but the accommodation we had was cramp in the 2 bedroom option rather outdated in the decor department our bed was 2 singles together. Overall great for a night if you need a place but not long term

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udai S, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the great location and views. Our apartments are much bigger than the standard apartments in Auckland and especially when compared to hotels that are even smaller.For the value that we offer our customers to certainly endeavour to do all we can to ensure you have a pleasant stay... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and were exploring Auckland and decided to stay a night so we wouldn't have to rush home. We've stayed at a few Oaks Hotels in Australia and always found them to be decent and well priced. We chose Auckland Harbour Oaks. When we booked we also booked a carpark (this is a must as it has VERY limited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udai S, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We have 30 car park spaces on 3 levels and 1GB free internet per day. However, your comments about the standard of maintenance is of a major concern to me. I have addressed your concerns with our Maintenance Manager and Housekeeping team. I will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It... More 

brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After travelling for a month in a motorhome, we thought we'd treat ourselves to above-average accommodation for our last few nights. We researched to find something special - spacious, views, lovely decor etc and were willing to pay more than usual but this place didn't feel any better than places much cheaper so we were disappointed. Photos of living room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udai S, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed the location views and all that the apartment offers as compared to a traditional hotel that offer smaller rooms at higher prices. Generally as in many cities in the world, locations in the CBD have multiple businesses in the vicinity. We also enjoy the proximity of various Restaurants,... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located in a not so salubrious street of Auckland the building itself is a towering modern block. Easy enough to locate, the first thing to be aware of is lack of parking on the street that is not metered or restricted. The Auckland Harbour Oaks has a limited amount of parking underground and the first levels so you need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Udai S, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Auckland Harbour Oaks. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the facilities offered with the neat and tidy apartment style accommodation and great views. The excellent location has the proximity to just about everything downtown Auckland has to offer! Please keep in touch with us direct so we... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well the property is pretty decent but the facilities and complimentary breakfast are not good. Firstly they served packed breakfast a day before which is not at all acceptable. And secondly all the rooms are not well maintained and spacious. If have an option would recommend some other hotels to stay near to the downtown area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udai S, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. However, the property you are reviewing does not seem to be our property. I hope this review can be moved to the appropriate property. Take care and I hope you choose us next time when you are in Auckland. Warm Regards, More 

adelaide
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed here quite a few times in past year. It works well for single business traveller who's looking for mid-range serviced apartment in downtown. Good points are ok room layout, views, general equipment in room, lots of nearby takeaways etc Poor points are very sparse utensils (it's a pain if 2 people when there are minimal knives etc), noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udai S, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. It is a privilege to have you as our regular guest! We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Good rooms, Great price, Best location – there are no properties in Auckland that can match what we offer with complimentary Wi-Fi.. We shall make... More 

Helensvale, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst the view was nice, the bed was short sheeted and there was no jug in the room. When house keeping were asked to follow up, they did, however spoke very little english and did not appear to be concerned. The apartment was supposed to be a luxury apartment, however this was the furthest thing from luxury. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Udai S, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback.I am terribly disappointed to read that your stay was not to your satisfaction, we will take your comments under consideration upon future improvements. It would be helpful in rectifying the problem for future guests if you could provide me with your room number and stay date. My email is – feedback@vrhotels.co.nz Regards More 

Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

Stayed here for 3 weeks in February. Nice apartment with stunning views over the harbour. Quiet establishment, free wifi, friendly, efficient reception and maintenance staff. Secure car parking costing NZD 25 per day. Boombox noise from the night clubs below was the only negative. No air con meant it was best to leave the windows and balcony doors open. Warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Udai S, Director of Sales at Auckland Harbour Oaks, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Auckland Harbour Oaks. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the facilities offered and the stunning views .The excellent location has the proximity to just about everything downtown Auckland has to offer. We appreciate your kind words for our staff who look forward to seeing you again! Please... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

126 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
0.7 mi away
Auckland City Oaks
Auckland City Oaks
#29 of 63 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Auckland
0.2 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#6 of 63 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay