We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Oracabessa hotels

Goldeneye Resort

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Oracabessa | St, Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Offers LIVE
Save Saved
You added Goldeneye Resort to your Saves list
Goldeneye Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
92%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oracabessa
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Melib212 New York City, New York
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
78
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and i just got back from a long weekend at Goldeneye and we can't wait to go back. It's stunningly beautiful--the beach, the lagoon, the rooms, the sunsets. Everywhere you go, great music is playing, the restaurants have a very cool, laid-back vibe and the food—the food—is unreal! We had calalloo for breakfast, lunch and dinner...and jerk everything.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights and wish we had of stayed longer. The service is fantastic, the food is good, and the level of R&R this place provides is fantastic. The hotel staff are all very friendly, accommodating, and genuinely want to make sure you have a good time. The grounds keepers even were delightful, cutting a coconut from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we first arrived, I was very excited as the reception area was well designed and felt authentically caribbean with the white wall walls and the dark wood accents with wonderful old photographs, etc. and the dining room was quite nice as well. I was disappointed though as I walked out and most of the property lacked a feeling of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I had a long weekend to celebrate our birthdays (which are a day apart) and booked the Two Post Outpost Package which gave us two days on the beach at Goldeneye and two days in the Blue Mountains overlooking Kingston at Strawberry Hill. There were an number of freebies that came with the package including free transportation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ricardo B, General Manager at Goldeneye Resort, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest: Thank you for this great review.We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time at both GoldenEye and Strawberry Hill. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed the Lagoon cottage at GoldenEye and all the amenities that come with it! We all look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful properties. Best Regards, Ricardo Bowleg More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I would say that the reviews here are way over hyped. It is a very nice place to getaway if you dont want much to do. THE PROS: fairly quiet, the cabins are set on a beautiful lagoon, the kayaks are fun to ride around on, water sports guys were great and helpful, and it's a good place to hang... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ricardo B, General Manager at Goldeneye Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest: We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. The beauty about our resort is that even when the hotel is full our guests can get that quiet, private and peaceful feeling. However, there are times when guests will connect in groups at the restaurants and the bar. Even though we normally get glorious comments on our... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I went to The Golden Eye for a two week stay in February 2014 for my 50th birthday and our 27th anniversary. It is truly a magical place. So serene and beautiful. The place is laid out so well. That even though it was fully booked when we arrived over Valentines day. It felt like we where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ricardo B, General Manager at Goldeneye Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review. We are very thrilled you had a wonderful vacation and you chose GoldenEye for your 50th Birthday and Anniversary celebration. I will be sure to pass on to the staff you mentioned in this review. We Wish you happy memories and look forward to welcoming you back—just let us know when and... More

Innisfil, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and i did the two post outpost stay with 3 days at Strawberry Hill and 4 at Goldeneye. From the moment we arrived at Goldeneye the staff and accomodations far surpassed our wildest dreams... The room was incredible... the food was delish.... the service awesome (i got a sunburn on the second to last day and the staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ricardo B, General Manager at Goldeneye Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your generous review of our hotel! It was a pleasure to have been able to host you. We were grateful to hear that our staff made your trip a success. The comments you have made about our rooms, food and your overall stay will also serve to further motivate our team. We look forward to... More

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I recently booked a vacation to Goldeneye only to receive an email a couple of days later informing me that hey had overbooked and could not honor my reservation. They offered no solution, no offer to reimbursement airfare, no alternative except to rent two one bedroom villas at the standard rate. Totally unacceptable. In addition, I am a returning customer.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Ricardo B, Manager at Goldeneye Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We do appreciate you choosing GoldenEye and Island Outpost! Once we identified the error there was little we could have done as we are a small Boutique Hotel with limited rooms. However, our reservations team did offer their best available solution which you have accepted so we were under the impression that all was resolved considering the offer... More

Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had the opportunity to go with some friends to Goldeneye this past December and had such an incredible time. The resort is beyond beautiful and very private! The 2-bedroom villa we stayed at was right on the beach and so comfortable. The outdoor shower was a really nice treat! The staff was so welcoming, the service was great and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ricardo B, General Manager at Goldeneye Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you for your kind review. Your positive comments about GoldenEye, the service and staff was rewarding to our team. We all look forward to your return and can assure you that we will make sure your next visit is even more memorable! Regards, Ricardo Bowleg More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Goldeneye lives up to the hype. It's hard to find a high-end but not fussy experience in the Caribbean and this does the trick. My husband and I wanted a great room and great food, but didn't want to have to dress up for the experience. We stayed in a one-bedroom villa, then had to move to a lagoon cottage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ricardo B, General Manager at Goldeneye Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We do appreciate your great review about our hotel, food, staff and our Spa. We do look forward to welcoming you back to our property and will make your next stay even more memorable. Best Regards, Ricardo Bowleg More

Been to Goldeneye Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldeneye Resort

Also Known As:
Goldeneye Hotel Oracabessa
Goldeneye Hotel
Goldeneye Hotel Ocho Rios
Goldeneye Resort Ocho Rios
Goldeneye Resort Jamaica/Oracabessa
Address: Oracabessa | St, Mary, Oracabessa, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Mary Parish > Oracabessa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Oracabessa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldeneye Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GoldenEye was Ian Fleming's Jamaica retreat and where he wrote all 14 of the James Bond novels. Today, accommodations at the original resort include: The Ian Fleming Villa, 11 one and two-bedroom Beach and Lagoon Villas, six Lagoon Cottages, and one Ocean Front Villa. Located on a stunning 52-acre site, GoldenEye is home to secret coves, breathtaking private beaches, tropical forests, and a seawater lagoon. The property is also home to the FieldSpa and two restaurants - Bizot Bar (a beach bistro) and The Gazebo (finer dining). GoldenEye is located 20 minutes east of Ocho Rios. It is a 90-minute drive from Montego Bay Airport and an 8-minute drive from Ian Fleming International Airport (private aviation). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, HotelsClick, MrandMrsSmith, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Goldeneye Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldeneye Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.