We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forresters Arms

3.0 of 5 The Square, Kilkburn, Nr Coxwold,, Kilburn YO61 4AH, England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Forresters Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
Forresters Arms
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    54
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
105
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Our second visit to Forresters for a 2 night stay, as previously excellent value for money, cosy bar and restaurant, wonderful food and perfect location. Noise from the bar in room 3 but to be expected as you are in a pub and after 11 all quiet. Breakfast is lovely. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
north lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely country pub with a relaxed atmosphere, very nice beer, excellent food topped off with cosy open fires! We enjoyed the trivial pursuit questions on each table. Nice touch while we were waiting for our food. Noticed that most people had a bit of fun with them too. Really enjoyed the food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Situated in the lovely village of Kilburn the Forresters Arms was an excellent find. We called in on spec one lunchtime. Very pleasantly suprised, wonderful atmosphere, very clean, attentive friendly staff. There is a good choice on the menu and also a specials board. Our order arrived without too long a wait and was very plentiful and piping hot, excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped by for lunch today and despite the fact it had been a very busy lunchtime the place was immaculate. Staff extremely polite and helpful,I spent a while with the' local art' display and comments from Freddie Trueman... C'mon everyone knows /Knew Freddie. Then the Food......Freshly Cooked and extremely well presented. Compliments to the Chef for my Ciabatta...worked very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pleasant welcoming staff, warm friendly environment. Called in for lunch ... not disappointed. Good choice on menu. Had hot Ciabatta with beef, gravy and hand cut chips. Very nice and reasonably priced. Will call again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went up to our room at about 5.00pm and it was VERY cold even though they knew we were coming around 4.00pm. It seems that the noisy fan issue has not been sorted, we assumed that it was the kitchen extractor that caused the whirring/vibrating noise in room (9), but we suffered until midnight and eventually got dressed and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nigel-Dawn, Manager at Forresters Arms, responded to this review

We don't normally respond to comments unless we feel that they are without merit, or distorting the truth.We are obviously very sorry that your stay with us was not to the standard expected, and clearly your visit wasn't. However, to imply that we have done nothing to eradicate the fan issues raised previously is hopelessly wrong! Of the 170 reviews... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

Just returned from an exceptional two days at this wonderful country inn. Warm welcome, lovely double room, excellent food and cheerful friendly locals. Breakfast was very tasty locally sourced produce and ample to set us up for a day. Thank you to both Nigel and Dawn for making our first stay so enjoyable and we look forward to many more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Just returned from two night stay including New Years Eve after a friendly reception a few drinks sat by a well stoked fire we were shown to our rooms by a very nice young lady. Rooms are very pleasant and immaculate even thou dogs are welcome in the rooms would not know and pet had been in rooms totally immaculate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Hi fellow travellers! My partner and I spent a lovely 48 hour mini break at the Forresters including New Years Eve. There's so much one could write about the facilities, the lovely rooms and blah blah. But this time I will simply say what draws us back to this great gem of a pub restaurant with ten guest rooms. Lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redcar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

Booked in with friends to celebrate new year. The room we had was great as it was outside the main part and had easy access for walking the dog. Friendly reception when we arrived from landlord and locals + other guests! roaring fire and fab food served by lovely staff. Even though the dj was a no show in true... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Forresters Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forresters Arms

Address: The Square, Kilkburn, Nr Coxwold,, Kilburn YO61 4AH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kilburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forresters Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Forresters Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forresters Arms Hotel Kilburn
Forresters Arms Kilburn, Yorkshire

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay