We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Stillingfleet B&Bs / inns

Harmony House

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Green | York, Stillingfleet, York YO19 6SH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Harmony House to your Saves list
Harmony House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
100%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
heatherandandy264 Winchester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (30)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
15
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just had the lovliest of stays at Harmony house with Hilary and Paul. We arrived to tea and cakes in the guest lounge and were then shown to our room which actually turned out to be a self contained annex .It was alot larger than expected and all beautifully done , I was so comfortable i could have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review

Thank you very much. It was lovely to meet you and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Whitby and the lakes. Come and see us again soon. Hilary and Paul More

Barton, England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Reserved 2 rooms and stayed 3 nights in lovely comfy beds during the Yorkshire stages of the Tour De France. Hilary was very helpful with local knowledge of the best spots to be to view the race and info on transport etc. Wonderful cakes for tea when we got back late afternoon. Excellent breakfasts even when we requested an early... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simplycooking, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, the weekend was tremendous with the Tour de France in the area. Thank you for your review and I didn't mind getting up early at all !! Hope to see you again some day. Regards Hilary More

Warwick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in the family annex. Perfect for two adults and two children. The breakfast was delicious and we had the option of continental or full English. We went full English. The location is beautiful and we wouldn't stay anywhere else for a trip to York or Leeds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simplycooking, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review

Thank you very much. I am glad our family annex suited you well. I hope we will see you all again sometime in the future. Kind regards Hilary More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We only spent one night at Harmony House as we were moving on to stay with our daughter, we were so impressed that we would like to stay longer the next time we are in the area. Our room was quiet and comfortable with everything we should need. We had a wonderful welcome from Hilary - the tea and cakes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simplycooking, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I was a pleasure to have you and hope you will visit us next time you see your daughter. Kind regards Hilary More

Leigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

What a wonderful place, Hilary and Paul were very welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast was superb, probably the best ever we have experienced on our travels. We stayed in the Lilac room. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, tea, coffee, cake and biscuits all in room, thank you. You can forget your car,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simplycooking, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I hope we will see you again soon. Thank you for all the information about the bus, we are very lucky to have such a good service into town. All the best Hilary More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stayed twice at Harmony House, in the annex and in the Tulip room. The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The food is excellent and the welcome from both Hilary and Paul is delightful. We would not hesitate to recommend this house to anyone looking for a great place to stay when visiting York.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simplycooking, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. I hope we will see you again soon. Apologies for the delay to respond More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay! The bedroom was luxurious and had everything you could ever need, even home made cake and cookies! The bedroom we stayed in looked out over a river and field with sheep in, pure heaven for a country break. Near some lovely pubs and so easy to get in to York from. Hilary was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review

thank you so much for your review. it was a pleasure having you and really pleased you enjoyed both the cookery course and the accommodation. It would be lovely to see you again if you in the York area and I hope you had a super Christmas Hilary More

Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

The accommodation was wonderful, like home from home. The attention to detail re guests comfort was second to none. The food was excellent, the hospitality amazing. It felt as though we were long standing friends of Hilary and Paul even though we had just met. We would have no hesitation in recommending Harmony House to anyone and will certainly look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hilary F, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review

thank you for your review Vanessa. You were a joy to have staying with us. We love it when people spend the evenings together around the fire in the lounge after a day out , and make use of the facilities. I hope you had a great Christmas and come back to see us again with your fun and laughter.... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Had one night here and will visit again. Made very welcome with tea and scones in the guest lounge. Very comfy room and bed, refurbished shower room which was lovely and warm. Breakfast great. Plenty of choice and evidence of home cooking throughout. A bit out of the way so would suggest you order a meal from Hilary and bring... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simplycooking, Manager at Harmony House, responded to this review

Thank you very much and you are welcome. I hope the rest of your break was enjoyable and what you were expecting. We would love to see you again and if you would like a meal, please do get in touch. With best wishes Paul and Hilary More

heswall
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wonderful bed and breakfast. This is our second visit to Harmony House. This time our children came with us, and Hilary cooked a lovely meal for us all on our first night to celebrate my husband's birthday. My son and I attended one of Hilary's cooking courses on our second day. It was really enjoyable and the food was great.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simplycooking, Owner at Harmony House, responded to this review

Thank you very much. It was lovely to see you both again and meet the children. It was great you could spend a family weekend together and enjoyed the course and meal. Hope to see you soon. Hilary and Paul More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Harmony House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Harmony House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony House

Address: The Green | York, Stillingfleet, York YO19 6SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Stillingfleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Harmony House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

22 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Harmony House dating back to the 17th Century is in the rural village of Stillingfleet 6miles south of York. Harmony House Bed & Breakfast has a 4 star Gold and Breakfast award from Enjoy England and it is run by Paul & Hilary Finney. Full English breakfasts are available, as well as lighter alternatives including homemade pancakes, eggs benedict or smoked haddock. With a log fire during the winter months, Harmony House's guest lounge is ideal for relaxing and reading or and watching the barn owl when he is flying over the Green. We have free wifi but it is not high speed,and it is no smoking throughout. Some of the building dates back to the 17th century and some bedrooms have original wooden beams or a beautiful view over the Green. Bedrooms in the main house unfortunately do not accommodate children and have a mini fridge, a flat-screen Freeview TV with homemade biscuits and cakes. The annex is a self catering family room with ingredients supplied for a DIY continental breakfast. It has a private entrance, a compact kitchen, dining area and a TV with a DVD player in the lounge. There is a hideaway double bed downstairs and twin room en suite shower upstairs so is ideal for families with young children. Evening meals are available midweek on request and hot and cold snacks can be prepared for you at short notice. Weekend meals can be booked in advance for a group of 4-8 so you can invite your friends and family to join you. Hilary is a cordon Bleu cook and has a small cookery school attached, so you can book on to a class during your stay. York's historic city centre and its racecourse can be reached within a 20-minute drive. The A1 motorway is also within a 20-minute drive and the trans Pennine cycleway 2 miles away together with Naburn Lock caravan site & marina,Escrick Cawood and Riccall. Sherburn aero club is within 10 minutes drive and stillingfleet lodge gardens are nearly next door ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Harmony House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer