We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Noir

Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Hotel amenities
Hotel Noir
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Clifton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
John R Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

736 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    224
    237
    143
    65
    67
See reviews for
51
476
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (736)
  • Mar-May only
    (211)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (183)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (179)
All months
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel is situated on Clifton Green on the A19 about ten minutes walk out of York city centre. There is private parking at the hotel, which is locked at night, but it is limited so don't leave it too late if you want a space! There is plenty of parking however on nearby side streets. Check-in was straightforward and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice enough place to stay and ten minute walk from York city centre. Staff are friendly, rooms are clean, breakfast is on the simple side but this is stantard for this type of hotel. Quite functional and presentable. Would recommend for quick stay? Yes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Apologies for the late review... I can't praise the staff here enough. So kind & helpful. An unscheduled emergency stop for 2 weary travellers. Clean & comfortable with modern bathrooms, nice wee bar area & a cracking good breakfast. Absolute Godsend! In my exhausted state I left some gift items in the room which were quickly found by staff who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Room was really small, so much so that the temperature became too much to bear even with the window open. A lot of noise from other guests in other rooms made it a little uncomfortable as we didn't dare speak in case others could hear us. However the staff were lovely, especially the older lady serving in the restaurant on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in Hotel Noir in early June 2015. The weather was great and I love York so I was really pleased to be getting back there. The reviews i had read were pretty average so i wasn't expected anything brilliant but i have to admit that i was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is a 5 minute bus journey or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel not as what it looks like from the pictures. Mucked rooms up paid for a double got a cheap twin room the shower plug was blocked and the whole place was full of dust not clean, the customer service was very bad staff arguing with us and the place is not worth how much we paid for it very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Clifton hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location very good 10-15 minute walk to to wall, free car parking but if full can park on adjacent street. We had a room at the back which was very bright and quiet, free mini bar and chocolates, fresh milk, tassimo machine plenty of sugar etc, a safe which was good, iron and ironing board, free newspaper of our choice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Robbing swines, lied about complimentary drinks and took from my account without authorisation. I was not given an invoice at check out, neither had I given my card details for expenses. They had retained my details from booking and reused them. Never been so appalled in all my life at being so lied to so thoroughly. Can't believe that I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear ef993, You booked a room over the phone, and later called back asking to join our Friends Of Noir club which gave you a 10% discount, and at your suggestion it was agreed that instead of giving you this refund, we would give you complimentary drinks during your stay, and I left a note on your booking to this... More 

UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked via booking.com for a Friday night. Due to work not letting me have time off we then had to change our booking which via the booking.com website was very easy. Checked the booking a bit closer to the time and found that I had been changed for the Friday night stay and not Sunday as was now the case.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came back last weekend as we'd had a great stay a couple of years ago. Sadly things haven't moved on. We had a room at the front with a 4 poster bed, which was completely wrong for the room. The room was quite small so felt overpowered by the bed. Also you couldn't watch tv from the bed as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay