We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Clifton hotels

Hotel Noir

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Noir to your Saves list
Hotel Noir
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Clifton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Write a Review

532 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    159
    116
    59
    61
See reviews for
38
346
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here in April. Lovely hotel, nice and clean and only a short walk into York. Tiny car park but plenty of parking available nearby. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast was lovely and plenty available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a gem of a Hotel ! This is our second stay and we found everything spot on. Fantastic four poster bedroom, absolutely spotless and cleaned every day. Everything you need for a short break. The complimentary mini bar was an added bonus. We stayed overlooking the green at front of hotel and were not disturbed by traffic noise. Will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
co.durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I could not fault this hotel,The room was spotless clean,the decor very tastefull and the free minibar was a bonus.I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again because another bonus was the free parking and it was only a fifteen minute stroll to the center of York.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

it just goes to show how reviews can vary.My wife & i stayed there & must say how pleased we were,the staff were great,the room was clean,we could not ask for any more & would therefore recommend to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed st this hotel for the 2nd time over the past few weeks. The hotel is excellently positioned with York town centre a 10-20 min walk away, and a 4pound taxi ride back after a few drinks. The rooms are comfortable and decorated well, they have tassimo coffee machines and a mini bar with a few free drinks in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked our room after reading reports about the hotel. It's always difficult to decide as the reviews are mixed for this hotel. My only real complaint was the noise from the main road as we had a room at the front. This kept me awake until 1.00 am. I did then sleep well. The bed was lovely and soft.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The worst hotel we have ever been! We were less than welcome by unfriendly and cold though polite staff. They didn't even suggest to assist with our three suitcases to carry through three floors of extremely narrow and steep stairs! The furniture was very old but they tried to camouflage it with black and white paint. There was a disgusting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. The young girl on reception is pregnant, and normally would ask another member of staff to assist you with your bags up the stairs if required however as you did not arrive at the hotel until half an hour after check out had closed... More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the room was dirty, every scratch showed on the black painted wood work, as did the dust on the skirting boards, the furniture was chipped. the safe didn't work and despite informing reception, was never repaired. the extra touches such as free mini bar did not make up for the shabbiness of the room. They let themselves down again by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am a little unsure of when you stayed with us, as the paper bath mats to which you refer were phased out 6 months ago now. All our rooms are cleaned by an experienced housekeeper and checked by a manager before being signed over for check in, so I am shocked to hear that... More

somerset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights, we booked online and got a very reasonable price. Hotel was clean and modern, very comfortable bed. Hard to get the right temperature on shower, but that was the only fault. A lovely touch was complimentary beers wine and coke topped up every day. Friendly reception. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, I’m very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back if you are visiting York again in the future, Kind regards, Hotel Noir More

Sheffield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel for a Saturday night with my husband. The car park isn't huge but we found parking space on the road next to the hotel. Check in was easy enough. Room was very good. Shower was excellent. Complimentary mini bar with prosecco, wine, beer, chocolate and soft drinks was a lovely touch. Free wi-fi is great. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Prices are high across the city on a Saturday night due to the huge demand and we always price match with comparable 3 star hotels, however if you are able to be flexible with your dates then there are cheaper stays to be had – please give... More

Been to Hotel Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York, UK
Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Clifton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.