We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Noir

Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Noir
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

769 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    232
    247
    151
    70
    69
See reviews for
53
500
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (769)
  • Mar-May only
    (211)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (216)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (163)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (179)
All months
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is nice and what you expect for the money you pay, but there where many aspects which let it down. Pros - Car parking Hotel room was ok, beds quite comfy. Accessible location Nice dining area Cons - The girl on the front desk was absolutely miserable and didn't at all look like she wanted to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Before completing our booking, we had e-mailed quite a few hotels in the area however it was this hotel which was the most prompt to respond. Matthew advised us to join friends of Noir and compiled a deal to include dinner, bed and breakfast. We received our email confirmation and menus shortly after booking. We arrived slightly earlier than check... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Due to a mistake on my part we needed a hotel in York at fairly short notice, and Hotel Noir was available at a reasonable price, given that it was for a Friday evening in mid-summer, and seemed to be in easy walking distance of the city centre, so I booked a compact double. When I later checked TripAdvisor I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Found this hotel to have really helpful, friendly staff. Very pleased we could park our car there from 9am before booking in. Free newspaper, and stocked mini bar, chocs were lush. The most harshest power shower ever really woke me up. But the negatives were that the room did smell musty, the TV kept losing signal and had naff channels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked one night stay en-route to the north of Scotland. Easy to book and got free upgrade as had signed up to newsletter as friend of noir. Upgraded from classic to four poster. Free mini bar was nice as was room BUT four poster creaked whenever we moved in bed. Not a problem though. Lovely bathroom with glass bricks between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tuxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This stay at the Noir Hotel and its a year since the previous stay. Again Matthew was on reception and the welcome was warm and he was only too happy to help us sorting a temporary room where we could change and get ready to go racing. On return to the hotel early evening our bags had been placed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Paid more than we expected, room very musty smelling and no fresh air as windows were locked. Bed small and very uncomfortable, noise of a fan going the whole night. Daytime receptionist unfriendly and not very helpful. Very disappointed with the standard for what we paid for the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear The C, I'm really concerned to hear you were charged more than you were expecting - we would never ask someone to pay differently from the price when they booked - please can you contact me on stay(at)hotelnoir.co.uk so I can investigate. I'm really sorry you didn't like your room - I'd really like to look into this as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Clifton hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 4 nights in August, lovely friendly atmosphere, the young European lady on reception was very polite and happy to help with nothing too much trouble. Dined here each night and the food was wonderful, tried to get the recipe for the burger relish from the chef and will definitely be trying to make it! Service in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed in a compact. Room was in need of a refurbishment and a tad grubby. The bed was like sleeping on a bag of sand ... rock hard and lumpy.... area was OK easy walking distance into the centre. But breakfast was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here twice and both times have been a very good stay the hotel is very easy to find and it comes with parking which in York is very hard to com by, the staff are very helpful and have very good knowledge of the area, the rooms are very fresh, clean and modern an excellent place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Car park(15)
  • Mini bar(9)
  • Coffee machine(9)
  • Poster bed(6)
  • Nice touch(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#10 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis York Centre
Ibis York Centre
#38 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#33 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Churchill Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#26 of 46 in York
4.0 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay