We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds

Certificate of Excellence
Hunter River RR#3, New Glasgow, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Glasgow
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    6
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stopped here while cycling the confederation trail. While it was hard to cycle here because of the hills, we were rewarded by this wonderful campground with cabins. In addition, the staff are the friendliest people we've met, and that is saying a lot when you're on PEI.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautifully maintained, friendly staff. My site had plenty of privacy. Found the price for a basic, unserviced a little expensive compared to other camp-grounds. But really enjoyed it and would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a well maintained place to stay. Camping cottages or trailers are definitely the way to go. The owners are always helpful and ready to answer any questions you have. The on-site store is a little more expensive ( 50 cents to a dollar ) for ice and things but still very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really liked this campground and found the owners very friendly. We were camping with our dog so our site was located away from most of the others and this was great, it was a huge site with good privacy. The grounds and facilities are very clean. The location is great, I loved the Gardens and Butterfly house down the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
17marles56, Owner at New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds, responded to this review

Hi there. So sorry for the late night set up. It is not our practice and we have turned away many this summer because we didn't want to disturb anyone. The rule we have is in and set up before dark. This couple had assured me they would be here late afternoon and set up. They then called and said... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible terrible terrible!! The owner (the male ) is extremely rude and has quite a temper... This is not a campground for family fun... Kids are not allowed to play in the pool and everyone must be in bed by 11pm..you cannot speak too loudly, listen to music or sit back and relax... He drives around looking for things to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
17marles56, Owner at New Glasgow Highlands Campgrounds, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. Unfortunately things did not go the way you were expecting. For us alot of the issue was we did not know who was who (visitors at sites, in pool and parked at store) Our facilities are for our registered guests and by law we need to know who is in our campground at all times. As... More 

Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I can't say enough good things about this campsite. We stayed in a cabin for one week. The entire campsite was extremely clean and well maintained. There wasn't one time that I went to the washroom to find it dirty - and it rained several times. The owners were always around to ensure that everything was clean and well maintained.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The campsite was breathtakingly beautiful. The owners are wonderful people that go above and beyond. So accommodating. We were in a Rv so they td us just to get set up and they shuttled us down the road where we enjoyed a delicious lobster supper at New Glasgow Lobster suppers. Pride of ownership is evident everywhere you look. We will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a terrific family-operated campground. The grounds were immaculate and the facilities were all well-maintained. Marlene and Les are the perfect managers, hosts, and occasional travel advisors. The campground is just a couple of kilometers from the New Glasgow Lobster Suppers. When we arrived and parked our RV (with no car in tow) Les came by and offered to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very clean tidy and efficient but if you like staying up late or have children who like cannon balling/splashing etc whilst in the pool then beware. There are 19 rules that have to be observed whilst in the pool area. 12 O clock curfews for camp fires, etc etc. The owners are nice but somewhat uptight to say the least.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great little campground - level gravel sites - little store with some snacks and camping supplies -great water pressure and sewer - super clean washrooms -great pool with large deck - very clean and tidy anywhere you look around the campground. -the cottages look clean and cosy too!! Will be back for sure!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Glasgow
7.0 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
6.9 mi away
Shining Waters - Ingleside Resort
4.7 mi away
Around the Sea Rotating House
Around the Sea Rotating House
#1 of 1 in North Rustico
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Resort at Cavendish Corner
Resort at Cavendish Corner
#8 of 9 in Cavendish
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barachois Inn
Barachois Inn
#2 of 4 in Rustico
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
6.8 mi away
Silverwood Motel
Silverwood Motel
#3 of 9 in Cavendish
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities