We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Trailhead

Hotel website
3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd., South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150 (Formerly Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Trailhead
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
california
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in South Lake Tahoe to do a bit of gambling and enjoy the snow, and chose The Trailhead motel for my two night stay. I checked in on a Thursday, the 14th of January, and checked out on the 17th. My single King bed room was clean, had a good heater for the main room, and also included... More 

Helpful?
Thank firedog13814
Brian A, Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hello Guest! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and for your next visit, we do offer coffee pots to take to your room at no extra cost. Just let Front Desk know at check in. This building was built in 1947, so the bathrooms tend to be a bit smaller than what we are used to, we... More 

Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a trip to South Lake Tahoe for skiing at Heavenly and Kirkwood resorts. Heavenly is right down the road, and you can walk to the Gondola from the hotel. It is about a 10 minute walk so it is helpful if you can have someone wait with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank AJH798
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2015

Super clean rooms. Great,friendly, helpful staff, close to casinos, close to grocery stores and lake. Lots of parking. Breakfast and coffee. Most comfortable hotel bed ive ever slept in. Clean bathrooms. Quiet. Pool. Non smoking rooms. I think there are jacuzzi rooms.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Rachel! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon! More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015

Pros Close to Nevada casino hotels Parking close to room Sheets clean Cons Carpet within room and outside in hallways severely stained. It was dark brown but still the stains were plainly evident. Very noisy. I asked via email for a rear room but was given the one right next door to the office (next to the road). I asked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darran A
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Darran, We have gone over your review with the entire staff and will be fixing any and all issues to the best of our abilities. Unfortunately, we do not have rear rooms. All of our rooms face the parking lot and highway. The pool is structurally unsound and we can not fill it up, it floods onto our neighbors... More 

New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

This review is actually an edit to my a previous review. We booked two rooms and as I previously described mine was adequate. Unfortunately I discovered on the day of departure that the other room although designated non smoking smelled like smoke and old cigarette butts were under the air conditioner. The two people in that room knew that the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison H
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Alison, I'm sorry your stay wasn't as pleasant as you had hoped. I just wanted to inform you that all of our rooms are non-smoking. If there was an issue regarding smoke and cigarette butts, we encourage you to inform the front desk immediately so that we can resolve the issue. I have also shown this review to our... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

Maybe we got lucky but our room was perfectly clean, save there was only a trashcan in the bathroom not the room. We stayed during the week, it was pretty quiet. The donuts for breakfast were nice, but there was nowhere to sit. The front desk was nice and helpful going so far as to book us a trip on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tarun P
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Tarun, Thank you for your feed back. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. We actually just bought some new buckets for trash cans and placed them all in the rooms this week. I hope to see you again in the future! More 

Sf Bay Area
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2015

We made last minute reservations and were left with a few choices. We ended up at the Trailhead. From the minute we left our car, we were confronted with dirty entryway, overflowing garbage cans, to ash trays filled with cigarette butts. I could feel debris under my feet in our room and it made me feel that our room had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann C
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Ann, I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as pleasant as you had hoped. I have sat down with my cleaning staff and have gone over the reviews with them and hold them accountable and to ensure this does not happen again. I hope you change your mind about our establishment, we try our best to make... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015 via mobile

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! The pool is drained and the spa is too! The lady who checked us in I saw smoking a couple minutes later right in front! That makes your business look so bad number one and number two my brother (who was staying there) has asthma! Right when I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crepelover13
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hello Guest! Thank you for your feed back. We will correct the things that are within our control. More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Thankfully I got a great deal from Groupon for this hotel because I would've hated to pay full price. The first issue is that they advertised the room as 2 queens, but my husband, adult daughter and I all agree that the beds were NOT queens, but rather doubles. I toss and turn a lot at night and need lots... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sonshine101
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hello Guest, I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as pleasant as you had hoped. I know that the vertical stripes on the duvets are slimming, but the beds we have on property are queen size. Each bed and pillow are new and only a year old. Our building was built in 1947, hence why the bathrooms are... More 

San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015 via mobile

Room was semi-clean, remodel that was listed in hotel description was far from an actual full remodel. Carpet was severally stained, bathroom was extremely small no room to even put anything in there had to leave in room and go back and forth. Bed was small and uncomfortable. We had requested an early check in and had an email to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Esmeralda15
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Esmerelda, I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as pleasant as you had hoped. I have sat down with my cleaning staff and have gone over the reviews with them and hold them accountable and to ensure this does not happen again. Our building was built in 1947 (hence why the bathrooms are smaller than what we're... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
1.3 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#25 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson Express Inn S. La...
#38 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Taho...
#30 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino Center Lake Tahoe
Americas Best Value Inn - Casino...
#26 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.6 mi away
7 Seas Inn at Tahoe
7 Seas Inn at Tahoe
#8 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay