We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

954 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Panoramas (8)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

22 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Yreka, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

This is starting from 3 stars. It is old. I barely see people staying there during Thanksgiving break. There is no hair dryer, no coffee pot, no closet and hangers. It just doesn't make sense that we cannot blow dry our hair and cannot have anything hot in our room in such freezing days and no where to hang our... More 

Helpful?
Thank jywu109
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015 via mobile

Again, I booked this location based on reviews from trip advisor. Wanted something within walking distance of Harvey's for concert. Searched on Trip Advisor map and found this as being the most reasonably priced. This is a small mom and pop place with no special frills or big lobby but if you can look past that we found our room... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2upride
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

To be honest this motel was mediocre - at most. The rooms were very small and the whole accommodation was very old. The beds were very uncomfortable but at least the rooms were some kind of clean. The owner was handsome but appeared some kind of confused. The stay was for one night alright but next time i would rather... More 

Helpful?
Thank globetrotterHH013
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The hotel is going trough a major remodel but that didn't stop the staff from taking great care of us. Room was large and clean and had everything we needed. The location is convenient and close to lake and sights. We had a very nice stay.

Helpful?
Thank Cindi C
Brentwood, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Room was totally outdated and not very clean. We left the first morning of our 2 night stay to find vomit and feces next to the back stairs where the parking is. When we returned hours later it was still there and again the following morning. I understand the there is young people partying in the area but it should... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dani S
Carl D, Owner at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this incident to our attention. You are absolutely right, this is unacceptable. We are taking measures to make sure it doesn't recur. We apologize for your inconvenience, and hope you will let us show you better hospitality at some point in the future. More 

Travelers are raving about these South Lake Tahoe hotels

Rosemead, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family just got back from staying here and was very satisfied. It was very comfortable and is located in a great location. This hotel is in walking distance to the Heavenly Village and all the Casinos. It is also walking distance to the beach. We felt secure with our car parked outside our window of our room. The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The price and location of this place were fine, but everything else left much to be desired. The room was clean but bare bones...no place even to hang up clothes except for some pegs on the wall! We asked for an iron and got one, but they didn't have ironing boards. The TV was a flat screen but only played... More 

Helpful?
Thank oswel
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

When we arrived, there was trash in the parking lot and there were trash bags sitting out in the hallways, probably from housekeeping. The television didn't work. The toilet seat was sliding off. There was no AC, just a portable fan. The bed sagged. We could smell cigarette smoke in the hall ways and there were cigarette butts at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank chucktodd75
Carl D, Owner at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay! We were unaware that you required a room with air conditioning, and would have done our best to accommodate this, had we been aware. We did, however, buy you a brand new fan; it was two days old. Unfortunately, since you arrived directly after July 4th, due to the... More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Courteous, helpful staff made every effort to help me with a reservation problem (my mistake). Quick response and happy outcome! Soooo much better to deal with than the big hotels! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank N S
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here for 5 weeks during the 2014 ski season at Heavenly. The Inn is very conveniently located just about 5 minutes from the Gondola and the casinos. My room was always warm and comfortable. The manager was always available if I needed a local's advice about the weather or information about the area. My room was very clean,... More 

Helpful?
Thank skiErikski
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (264)
Viewed
Budget Double (33)
Viewed
Ecomony King (34)
Viewed
Economy Queen (29)
Viewed
Economy Queen (with Desk) (40)
Viewed
Standard Double (33)
Viewed
Standard King (34)
Viewed
Standard Queen (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 mi away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#2 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Grand Residence Club Tahoe
Marriott Grand Residence Club Ta...
#9 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn by the Lake
Inn by the Lake
#24 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Tahoe Inn
Park Tahoe Inn
#33 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
3.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#19 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort and Beach Club
#16 of 70 in South Lake Tahoe
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay