We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

2.0 of 5 954 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The hotel is going trough a major remodel but that didn't stop the staff from taking great care of us. Room was large and clean and had everything we needed. The location is convenient and close to lake and sights. We had a very nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brentwood, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Room was totally outdated and not very clean. We left the first morning of our 2 night stay to find vomit and feces next to the back stairs where the parking is. When we returned hours later it was still there and again the following morning. I understand the there is young people partying in the area but it should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl D, Owner at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this incident to our attention. You are absolutely right, this is unacceptable. We are taking measures to make sure it doesn't recur. We apologize for your inconvenience, and hope you will let us show you better hospitality at some point in the future. More

Rosemead, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family just got back from staying here and was very satisfied. It was very comfortable and is located in a great location. This hotel is in walking distance to the Heavenly Village and all the Casinos. It is also walking distance to the beach. We felt secure with our car parked outside our window of our room. The staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The price and location of this place were fine, but everything else left much to be desired. The room was clean but bare bones...no place even to hang up clothes except for some pegs on the wall! We asked for an iron and got one, but they didn't have ironing boards. The TV was a flat screen but only played... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

When we arrived, there was trash in the parking lot and there were trash bags sitting out in the hallways, probably from housekeeping. The television didn't work. The toilet seat was sliding off. There was no AC, just a portable fan. The bed sagged. We could smell cigarette smoke in the hall ways and there were cigarette butts at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carl D, Owner at Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay! We were unaware that you required a room with air conditioning, and would have done our best to accommodate this, had we been aware. We did, however, buy you a brand new fan; it was two days old. Unfortunately, since you arrived directly after July 4th, due to the... More

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Courteous, helpful staff made every effort to help me with a reservation problem (my mistake). Quick response and happy outcome! Soooo much better to deal with than the big hotels! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed here for 5 weeks during the 2014 ski season at Heavenly. The Inn is very conveniently located just about 5 minutes from the Gondola and the casinos. My room was always warm and comfortable. The manager was always available if I needed a local's advice about the weather or information about the area. My room was very clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Corolla, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

First of all, the location is perfect. You are literally minutes away from gondola, casinos and the lake.  The staff is very friendly and helpful. When we found out we have problems with the microwave and called the reception, the issue was taken care of right away. The guy at the front desk was always there to help, whether it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

don't expect big comfort and frills in this hotel. This is a very simple, nice place on a good location near the beach. the room had good beds & airco, the walls were rather thin. owner is very considerate and makes you feel welcome. if you're looking for a fair budget hotel, this is the place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Best Choice inn very much it was very clean. It was also very close to resturants, shopping, moovies, and more. The rooms were recently remodeled. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Overall it was a great stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe

Address: 954 Park Avenue, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Best Choice Inn South Lake Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Choice Lake Tahoe

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay