We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village

1 Lake Parkway, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
Add Photo

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    247
    145
    78
    49
    30
See reviews for
229
113
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (549)
  • Mar-May only
    (129)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (176)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (137)
All months
There are newer reviews for Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village
See the most recent reviews
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We had a terrific experience in Lake Tahoe at The Forest Suites Resort. I want to come back to Lake Tahoe to explore more, and we would definitely stay at the Forest Suites Resort. Anyone who wants to experience the beauty of nature and the quality of a good hotel/resort should visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Sharon, Thank you so much for the 5-Star review! It is so wonderful to read your kind comments and we certainly appreciate the great feedback! We look forward to having you back as our guest and please feel free to contact us directly so we can provide you with another memorable experience! At Your Service, Bill Orman General Manager More 

Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We stayed at this resort as a complimentary stay by Diamond Resorts International. There is nothing like a resort at this place yet they charged a resort fee. Maybe the owners out to get more money. Out of the 2 pools i saw, only 1 was operational, other one was closed. Wifi reception was good, Room was well insulated ie.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and we certainly appreciate your feedback. The resort fee that is implemented includes many areas ranging from complimentary breakfast and free parking to no fee Wi-Fi and arts & crafts. We will add many more activities in summer and winter for both adults and children. We should have explained this fee more clearly at check-in... More 

San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

The best thing about Forest Suites is the location. Located on the edge of Heavenly Village, you can get here and park your car, walk to shopping, the cinema, restaurants, the Heavenly Gondola, and Van Sickle Park for hiking. The second best thing is the cost. You'll be paying less for accommodations than you would at the places on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. We’re certainly fortunate to be so close to the shops, cinema, gondola, and many restaurants in Heavenly Village. The Van Sickle hiking trails are also amazing. It’s also nice to hear that we provided a hospitable stay for you and we hear a lot of great feedback about our activities for adults and kids,... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

We paid premium for the last one-bed room suite available for snow ski season. So please plan your trip earlier😙. The apartment was ordinary equipped with basic nessesaries. We skipped breakfast after the first day except bringing back some coffees. The location was pretty good since the grocery store was around 7 minutes and gondola was about 5.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your review. We are definitely in a great location with plenty of shopping and great restaurants nearby. We’re also very lucky to have such a vibrant area with music, events and activities throughout the year. During our winter season, our room rates will certainly increase as there is great demand in the area,... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Stayed here Feb 2015. Staff polite but not very helpful. Average breakfast with not all things available every day. No consistency. Rooms very tired and only 1 ancient lift servicing all floors. Not on airport transfer route so bit of a hike to pick up point and staff unhelpful with that process

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review. I apologize for the lack of consistency with our complimentary full-American breakfast service as we strive to provide a consistent and enjoyable breakfast for our guests. Our breakfast team should always ensure that we continually monitor the breakfast room and replenishing items as needed. I’d also like to apologize for not providing more accurate... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

Great location for skiers and snowboarders. Walking distance to all amenities. The rooms were clean and large. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The only negative is that the interior decor is outdated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Maverick9353, We appreciate the 5-Star Review! We certainly are in a prime location for skiers, snowboarders and all the activities up at Heavenly in the summer. It’s always good hear such wonderful comments about our rooms and staff service and I have shared this with our team! Thank you again for sharing this and we hope to see you again!... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Stayed here for a 4 day weekend in Tahoe. I would say the best thing about this hotel is the location. It is in Heavenly Village and near all the attractions you could think of. (Gondola to Heavenly, restaurants, Casinos, shopping) And a very short drive to the lake. The amenities could definitely use some updating especially the elevators! Wow,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Myrna98, Thank you for sharing your review. We certainly do have a great location that is close to the Gondola, Heavenly Village and casinos. The drive to the lake is also very quick, taking less than 5 minutes to drive or a short walk to Lakeside Beach. I’m glad you were able to explore the local area. I’m also delighted... More 

Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We had a 2 unit bedroom that seemed clean. The building is well-located close to the gondolas and Heavenly Village's shoppes and restaurants. Breakfast was below average compared to standard continental breakfasts offered by 2 and 3 star hotel chains. Staff is friendly. If location is your bottom-line, this place will do the trick.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Nadeem, We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. It’s good to hear that your suite was cleaned, staff was friendly and you enjoyed our proximity to Heavenly Village and the Gondola. I have also discussed our complimentary breakfast presentation with our team and we will ensure that everything is properly prepared for our guests. I’m... More 

Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

My family has rented rooms at this hotel for the past 3 years during presidents week. First the good. 1.- Location is great with lots of restaurants around, plenty to do even gamble. Walking distance to the Gondola at Heavenly. 2. - Cost is very reasonable and always has been. 3. - Two (2) bedroom suites are great even with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Bob, Thank you for sharing this review and we sincerely apologize for not providing you with a more enjoyable experience. I reviewed your feedback with our team and we will focus on our daily cleaning and room maintenance, including any carpets or odor that needs service. I have also shared your comments about the quality of breakfast and we have... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
248 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Nice location but very dated suites. Clean but not upntondate modern. Dark and drab atmosphere in the suites. The staff are nice. The ancient elevator did not work, bathroom sink did not drain. Good breakfast is included as is a wine and cheese party every day from 4-5 pm. $12 daily resort fee and covered parking. A 1 minute walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wjorman, General Manager at Forest Suites Resort at Heavenly Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I’m sorry to hear that we were unable to provide you with a more enjoyable stay and I wish we could have addressed your concerns while you were here. Our elevators in both buildings 5 and 6 were serviced and operating correctly. We also had our maintenance team inspect all rooms to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

403 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (34)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite with Kitchen and Patio (56)
Viewed
Pool (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (7)
Viewed
Second Pool (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Two Bedroom Suite with Kitchen (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay