We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Stone Trough Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Colne Road, Kelbrook BB18 6XY, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

133 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    71
    39
    11
    11
    1
See reviews for
24
51
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Cottingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A couple of weeks ago, my wife and I booked this small very old country hotel at short notice i.e. on the Friday and stayed there the following evening as we wanted to be in that area. There is some refurbishment going on at the moment but this did not affect our stay or anyone else's. The room although not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very pleasant Sunday lunch. Two courses for £9 and they were good meals too. Lovely black pudding started and prawn cocktail. Then roast dinners were also excellent. Staff were lovely and though the place wasn't that busy there was a nice atmosphere too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time here and will go again when we can, this is a huge establishment which is very well managed, Our room was very comfortable and as we only stayed one night and was more than sufficient. The breakfast was superb. Set on the main road in beautiful Lancashire scenery this is the place to visit if you are around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
burnley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our wedding reception here and couldn't have been happier ... Jenny and all her staff are fantastic , always happy to help , we were well looked after , couldn't have picked a nicer place for our wedding reception ... Have been back a number of times and are always made to feel welcome ... The location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Had a friend's wedding nearby, decided to stay here for the night. I was told that the executive rooms differed from the club rooms in that they had a bath, unfortunately my 'executive room' had no bath. This was quickly remedied as the staff immediately provided me with another room. Previous reviews have stated the cold, the windows in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Nice well run independent hotel, room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was good, evening meal good if somewhat limited choice, a wedding reception was held there on Saturday, very noisy late evening, could be heard in our room, otherwise a nice relaxing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Stayed for the first time last week and totally agree with the the previous reviewer. The bedroom was cold and shower room extremely cold- no heating available. Not sure why the staff did not think to put on the central heating when the weather was so cold and damp. However, the room was clean, and had lovely fluffy towels. Could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

We have stayed at this property a couple of times before and have always been happy with the rooms allocated. Unfortunately, not on this occasion. We chose a Club Room which is located in the main part of the hotel. As this room rate was cheaper that the other rooms we'd stayed in I expected the room to be smaller... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review

This is no surprise to see this review , these rooms are ready for a refurb we have done one in the club class rooms and I do wish I had shown it to you as it was available . I would like you to return ,but as I said to you on departure if you had come to me... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

just returned from a lovely long weekend, where we were made feel really welcome the staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.the room was modern clean tidy with ensuite.breakfast was excellent a choice for everyone full english recommended,lunch and evening menu good choices

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Just returned from a wonderful weekend visiting family in nearby Burnley. We had experienced some difficulty finding a hotel room in Burnley itself for the Saturday evening, however at around 10:30pm we called the Old Stone Trough Hotel, and thankfully they had a room available. We arrived around 11:00pm and the night porter (James) was just wonderful, making us feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay