We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Stone Trough Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Colne Road, Kelbrook BB18 6XY, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Old Stone Trough Hotel
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    36
    11
    11
    1
See reviews for
23
48
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (127)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for the first time last week and totally agree with the the previous reviewer. The bedroom was cold and shower room extremely cold- no heating available. Not sure why the staff did not think to put on the central heating when the weather was so cold and damp. However, the room was clean, and had lovely fluffy towels. Could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this property a couple of times before and have always been happy with the rooms allocated. Unfortunately, not on this occasion. We chose a Club Room which is located in the main part of the hotel. As this room rate was cheaper that the other rooms we'd stayed in I expected the room to be smaller... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review

This is no surprise to see this review , these rooms are ready for a refurb we have done one in the club class rooms and I do wish I had shown it to you as it was available . I would like you to return ,but as I said to you on departure if you had come to me... More 

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

just returned from a lovely long weekend, where we were made feel really welcome the staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble.the room was modern clean tidy with ensuite.breakfast was excellent a choice for everyone full english recommended,lunch and evening menu good choices

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Just returned from a wonderful weekend visiting family in nearby Burnley. We had experienced some difficulty finding a hotel room in Burnley itself for the Saturday evening, however at around 10:30pm we called the Old Stone Trough Hotel, and thankfully they had a room available. We arrived around 11:00pm and the night porter (James) was just wonderful, making us feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

We had booked 2 nights at the Crown Hotel in Colne (don't go there) but when we got there, they had cocked the booking up so they suggested we stay at this hotel. Great idea. For the same price roughly £67 we got a thoroughly modern, clean, tidy and very comfortable and clean double room with ensuite. A little out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review , and hopefully we will see you again Kind regards Jennifer General manager More 

Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

This night was appalling from start to finish. The food was good but the service was so bad it was laughable! Salad etc missing from meals, I had to ask for custard, cream and cutlery when it was obvious it had been forgotten for the sweets. Waited 40 mins for them to sort bill... Never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hotel034, General Manager at Old Stone Trough Hotel, responded to this review

Before I replied to your review I needed to speak with my team . After discussions concerning the night it is apparent that there was a hand over issue on the shift change . Which I will apologise for . That explains the lack of cutlery , custard etc was ready in the kitchen it had not been forgotten, you... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

iv stayed here twice now with my partner visiting him family and both times the desk staff have been very helpful and efficient. The bar staff are also very friendly! even when we came in at about 3am after a few too many and the bar staff cleaning were more then happy to give us numbers for kebab type places... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

Stayed here one night as we where attending a party nearby. We had just flown into Manchester airport after a weeks skiing holiday so had lots of luggage including skis, Jenny put us into a larger room than we had booked so we could unload everything in the room. The welcome was warm and friendly and after unpacking we ordered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lancaster
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We have stayed here twice since Christmas due to party invitations in the area ,we stayed in the main building where the rooms are small but cosy lovely clean bedding with all things you might need the first time we stayed I had forgotten my phone charger the lovely lady that runs the place scouted round staff and found me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Went with my dad today (Tuesday) for the 2 main meals for £10 offer that is on Tuesday to Friday between 12 and 14:00. First time we had been and I must say it was excellent. The staff were very attentive and brought the drinks over instead of having to wait at the bar area, and the food when it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities