We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gladstone Motel

4.5 of 5
19 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7002, New Zealand (Formerly Destiny Motels)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gladstone Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gladstone Motel
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (15)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Regina, Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Lovely place with amazingly hospitable hosts! This was our first motel on our Honeymoon trip, and they set the bar high! Chris was super helpful any time we had a question (bars, restaurants, ice cream places, good beaches, etc) He even let us pick a few lemons for our drinks! When we arrived he gave my husband a bottle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi guys, Hope the rest of your trip was amazing! Glad we could help make your trip a memorable one and it was lovely to have you stay with us. Thanks for the review and hope we see you back sometime. More 

chch nz
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Arrived for 3 nights for a family birthday in one room and ended with 3 rooms for 6 nights for a funeral. Management were wonderful; accommodating, sympathetic and went out of their way to meet our requests. We had people coming in and out over the extra days as they came to the funeral but nothing was ever a problem.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi It was our pleasure to be of help to you, you are truly wonderful people and we wish you'd visit again. Hope your ring turned up somewhere. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed at the Gladstone for 2 evenings and were accommodated in a 2 bedroom apartment which had a small kitchen. Everything was spotless, nicely sized rooms and the beds were firm and comfortable. Location suited us perfectly and would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Room size and location great for our purpose. Disappointed no guest bbq to use. Clean but found lack of Unit servicing disappointing as was response from management. Could do better at customer service

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

It's our first trip to Nelson and we're only staying one night. A couple of weeks out we had to add another person to our booking. On top of that, due to flight times, we've requested flexibility around check in/out. Despite our short stay and level of demand, we've been welcomed like VIPs! All along the way the service has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

A new name and upgraded!! Looking fresh and clean with a very comfortable bed. Hosts are enthusiastic about their new venture and full of helpful information. A hop skip and jump from the main street of Richmond and all it has to offer. Will make this my permanent stop on every visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I checked in as a break away from the noise and busy streets of Wellington for the weekend. I found while cafes etc were only down the road I wanted to have time inside (weather wasnt the greatest) but the breakfast was alittle simple and could have had more options. However the power of the shower was awesome and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I've just returned from a work trip to Richmond, where I was put up at the Gladstone Motel. It was an enjoyable stay. Friendly hosts. Clean, warm, tidy, modern facilities. Comfortable bed! Nice shoer! Free (though limited) WiFi. Easy walking distance to the shops, restaurants and cafés, and kids playgrounds. If I was to suggest one improvement it would only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian D, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments which are appreciated. Regarding the WiFi; we allow 100Mb free as an introduction. This is normally more than enough for guests to check E-Mail, web browsing, Facebook etc. However if you require more, you only have to ask. The only reason we limit it is to discourage illegal downloads of Movies, Music etc (Large files) for... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We found the people friendly and helpful. With staff that were willing to go the extra mile to accommodate our needs. They talked to us about activities and places to go. The rooms were very clean and tidy

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We travelled with another couple and stayed for 2 nights in adjacent studio units 805 and 6. On arrival we found the units ready for occupation although we arrived early, no problem with booking in and found unit clean and tidy with good appointments. Hook was available for skylight and sky sport enabled us to watch AB's beat England in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question