We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gladstone Motel

19 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7002, New Zealand (Formerly Destiny Motels)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Gladstone Motel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

My friend and myself booked a room for a night and ended up staying four. The service from the moment we booked in to our room was delightful, nothing was to much trouble. The room was a two bedroom unit, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you would ever need. Would highly recommend this motel. Tops. Kathy and Louise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015 via mobile

Just want to say that it was a very nice motel and the service was the best Iv seen in a long time . The service on the rooms was exceptional and I will recommend everyone to stay with your motel. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ They also have everything you need, frying pans cutlery even a can opener. Highly recommend big thumbs up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

Made our stay very pleasant, Host even made dinner for us when local restaurants closed on a Sunday!... very neat, clean, and wonderful hosts. Will stay again! happy Aussie. It was cold for us Aussies but the heater in the bathroom made it nice and cosy. bed very comfy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

After a house fire we had to move our family into a motel for 4 weeks. It was always going to be a full house with 3 kids and 2 adults in a motel but the team at Gladstone motel made us feel very welcome at the same time making our room (2 bedrooms, lounge/dinning and bathroom) feel like home.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi Andrew and family, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to give you some sanity amongst all of your upheaval. Hope your new house is amazing ! More 

Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Lovely place with amazingly hospitable hosts! This was our first motel on our Honeymoon trip, and they set the bar high! Chris was super helpful any time we had a question (bars, restaurants, ice cream places, good beaches, etc) He even let us pick a few lemons for our drinks! When we arrived he gave my husband a bottle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi guys, Hope the rest of your trip was amazing! Glad we could help make your trip a memorable one and it was lovely to have you stay with us. Thanks for the review and hope we see you back sometime. More 

chch nz
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Arrived for 3 nights for a family birthday in one room and ended with 3 rooms for 6 nights for a funeral. Management were wonderful; accommodating, sympathetic and went out of their way to meet our requests. We had people coming in and out over the extra days as they came to the funeral but nothing was ever a problem.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi It was our pleasure to be of help to you, you are truly wonderful people and we wish you'd visit again. Hope your ring turned up somewhere. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed at the Gladstone for 2 evenings and were accommodated in a 2 bedroom apartment which had a small kitchen. Everything was spotless, nicely sized rooms and the beds were firm and comfortable. Location suited us perfectly and would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Room size and location great for our purpose. Disappointed no guest bbq to use. Clean but found lack of Unit servicing disappointing as was response from management. Could do better at customer service

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

It's our first trip to Nelson and we're only staying one night. A couple of weeks out we had to add another person to our booking. On top of that, due to flight times, we've requested flexibility around check in/out. Despite our short stay and level of demand, we've been welcomed like VIPs! All along the way the service has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

A new name and upgraded!! Looking fresh and clean with a very comfortable bed. Hosts are enthusiastic about their new venture and full of helpful information. A hop skip and jump from the main street of Richmond and all it has to offer. Will make this my permanent stop on every visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.3 mi away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
6.7 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford Court Motel
Oxford Court Motel
#2 of 4 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay