We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gladstone Motel

19 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7002, New Zealand (Formerly Destiny Motels)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gladstone Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gladstone Motel
Add Photo

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
3
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (17)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Made our stay very pleasant, Host even made dinner for us when local restaurants closed on a Sunday!... very neat, clean, and wonderful hosts. Will stay again! happy Aussie. It was cold for us Aussies but the heater in the bathroom made it nice and cosy. bed very comfy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

After a house fire we had to move our family into a motel for 4 weeks. It was always going to be a full house with 3 kids and 2 adults in a motel but the team at Gladstone motel made us feel very welcome at the same time making our room (2 bedrooms, lounge/dinning and bathroom) feel like home.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi Andrew and family, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to give you some sanity amongst all of your upheaval. Hope your new house is amazing ! More 

Regina, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Lovely place with amazingly hospitable hosts! This was our first motel on our Honeymoon trip, and they set the bar high! Chris was super helpful any time we had a question (bars, restaurants, ice cream places, good beaches, etc) He even let us pick a few lemons for our drinks! When we arrived he gave my husband a bottle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi guys, Hope the rest of your trip was amazing! Glad we could help make your trip a memorable one and it was lovely to have you stay with us. Thanks for the review and hope we see you back sometime. More 

chch nz
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Arrived for 3 nights for a family birthday in one room and ended with 3 rooms for 6 nights for a funeral. Management were wonderful; accommodating, sympathetic and went out of their way to meet our requests. We had people coming in and out over the extra days as they came to the funeral but nothing was ever a problem.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi It was our pleasure to be of help to you, you are truly wonderful people and we wish you'd visit again. Hope your ring turned up somewhere. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

We stayed at the Gladstone for 2 evenings and were accommodated in a 2 bedroom apartment which had a small kitchen. Everything was spotless, nicely sized rooms and the beds were firm and comfortable. Location suited us perfectly and would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Room size and location great for our purpose. Disappointed no guest bbq to use. Clean but found lack of Unit servicing disappointing as was response from management. Could do better at customer service

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

It's our first trip to Nelson and we're only staying one night. A couple of weeks out we had to add another person to our booking. On top of that, due to flight times, we've requested flexibility around check in/out. Despite our short stay and level of demand, we've been welcomed like VIPs! All along the way the service has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

A new name and upgraded!! Looking fresh and clean with a very comfortable bed. Hosts are enthusiastic about their new venture and full of helpful information. A hop skip and jump from the main street of Richmond and all it has to offer. Will make this my permanent stop on every visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I checked in as a break away from the noise and busy streets of Wellington for the weekend. I found while cafes etc were only down the road I wanted to have time inside (weather wasnt the greatest) but the breakfast was alittle simple and could have had more options. However the power of the shower was awesome and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I've just returned from a work trip to Richmond, where I was put up at the Gladstone Motel. It was an enjoyable stay. Friendly hosts. Clean, warm, tidy, modern facilities. Comfortable bed! Nice shoer! Free (though limited) WiFi. Easy walking distance to the shops, restaurants and cafés, and kids playgrounds. If I was to suggest one improvement it would only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian D, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments which are appreciated. Regarding the WiFi; we allow 100Mb free as an introduction. This is normally more than enough for guests to check E-Mail, web browsing, Facebook etc. However if you require more, you only have to ask. The only reason we limit it is to discourage illegal downloads of Movies, Music etc (Large files) for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay