We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

JavaCove Beach Hotel

Travelers' Choice award winner
Jalan Batu Karas, Cijulang 46394, Indonesia
JavaCove Beach Hotel

322 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    248
    55
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
83
99
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (322)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Javacove is the perfect relaxed place to stay for a surfing holiday. You could not ask for a better set up. Firstly, the staff are incredibly kind, friendly, fun and always helpful. This is our second stay and we always feel very welcomed and well looked after by all staff, particularly, Iman and Ainun. At Javacove, you just walk across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Java Cove is a very refreshing break from the normal Indonesian hotels. The room was fantastic (surfer room with 2 singles). I could see the waves from my balcony which is always handy. The staff were great, especially Ainun. She made sure my trip was as smooth as possible and even provided me with medication when I was ill. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have just stayed for two weeks. Perfect place for long boarders. Just across the road from some great waves. We surfed every day, sometimes several times a day. I can't speak highly enough about the staff, they can anticipate your every need and are very friendly but they also respect your need for privacy. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Paris, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very very expensive and cold hotel for just a view on the surfing spot,no place to relax in this hotel,we had the cheap room(60 dollars!),and feeling cheaper than in a low guest house,very bad breakfast,security guard,security wall...people working there are very nice and helpful but i guess not the owner....

Was this review helpful? Yes
javacovebeachhotel, Owner at JavaCove Beach Hotel, responded to this review

The owners are people too. People who have worked very hard with our staff to create a hotel that 99% of our guests enjoy and appreciate. We understand you were angry we would not give you a full refund when you cancelled. If your goal is revenge by trying to upset us and our wonderful staff then congratulations you have... More 

Budapest
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you like comfort (aircon, pool) this is the best place to stay in Batu Karas. You step out, and practically you're at the waves, the staff can arrange you whatever you need (surflesson, rental...). The food is western, it was good for breakfast, but for dinner we choose the local options, from the left side of the beach, where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend and I had such a wonderful time staying in Javacove. It is the best hotel in the area. It is clean, safe, comfortable, most conveniently situated right in front of the beach. We booked the budget room without air-con, and it is good enough for a comfortable sleep. There is also hot water which is just the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located in the ideal spot of the Batu Karas directly opposite the waves, this hotel is the best choice for Western Travellers chasing the surf. Cosy beach shack feel with all the things you'll need on a surf holiday with quite a few nice extra bonus you'd be unlikely to find elsewhere in the area. Our favourite extras were: the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
perth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed a month and surfed everyday - had a great time and could haver stayed longer! The hotel is small, modest with a homey feel, and all the staff are very obliging and friendly. The breakfasts are great, the pool lovely with plenty of room to chill out and watch the surf. There are many local warungs for evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel right on the beach front, walk across the road and you're surfing. The staff are top notch as is the service, the free breakfasts are really good too. The layout is great with a really nice pool area. Super relaxing environment. Good places to eat all around so try as many as you can

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

if you re searching for the most unfriendly hotel in indonesia,this is the one!passing the security gate(so dangerous in batu karas......) behind the wall ,we had a room upstairs for 60 euros by night!( we booked it a week ago as trip advisor and geo saying it s the best hotel!),the room is very small,walls are dirty and old,and everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
javacovebeachhotel, Owner at JavaCove Beach Hotel, responded to this review

We are always open to criticism but attacking us personally is unfair and suggests revenge is the aim. What is not mentioned in this review is that when these guests cancelled their last 2 nights they demanded a full refund even though our cancellation policy was clear when they made their booking. We had refused other bookings to hold the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (31)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities