We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Maroubra hotels

Sands Hotel

32-40 Curtin Crescent, Maroubra, Randwick, New South Wales 2035, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Sands Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maroubra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014
pgcombos Canberra, Australia
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    39
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
9
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (61)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Drove from Canberra to Sydney for a meeting at short notice. Stayed at the Sands for the night before next day's meeting in Sydney. Originally thought that for an out of the way place it was a bit pricey for a motel, BUT... * The rooms are clean * The staff are friendly *The beds are comfortable * The bistro... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Checked in here based on "quiet" reviews to find live band playing audibly (read loud) in bar below in every every room until 11pm. never again! And they are advertising for live bands for every Friday over summer! Don't go if you want to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Well here we are escaping our partying neighbours on Halloween....but wait there's live LOUD music through the whole venue, no mentioned on any reviews. My kids 10 and 7 can't sleep! BEWARE! BEWARE! BEWARE!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gina H, Owner at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Krab_11 and krab2008, Thank you for both your reviews, and the multiple phone calls, and also the text messages. I understand that you were less than satisfied with your recent stay at the Sands Hotel, and I am sorry we were unable to resolve things for you during your stay. As I mentioned on the phone, we make no... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Returning for the second time this year is an indication that overall we were pleased with the standard of accommodation for the price. As in our previous visit, our room was very clean and the only small complaint we had was that over our three night stay the bed was never properly re-made, just the sheets and coverings pulled up.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Castlemaine, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

All staff went out of their way to help us feel comfortable and at home. Food at the bistro was at a reasonable price and had a small rage but big variety of different food. The staff were friendly and helped with anything we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gina H, Owner at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! There are some things that we are powerless to change - the location of our rooms above the pub, for example - or the fact that they are all up a flight of stairs. But the one thing we do have control over is the way we interact with guests, and the... More 

Tuncurry, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

This was a truly pleasant surprise to me nice bright room with kitchenette balcony and fully equipped very clean right next to small shopping certre so you can buy food to take to your room or you can eat in the Bistro we had lunch very nice and too much food for $10 Its close to bus stop and easy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gina H, Owner at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this 5 star review. We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Sands Hotel, and in particular - our new Bistro. We only launched our $10 menu in late September, so the positive feedback is lovely. Thank you also for mentioning our stairs. We do make note of them on our website... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Recently had friends stay at The Sands while visiting. Spacious rooms ideal for families or out of town tradies. The only accommodation in the area, mins to beach, quality food in downstairs pub. Highly recommended, with friendly staff and ample parking available for heavy vehicles. Surprisingly quiet rooms with pub closing at reasonable hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
canberra australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The room for this hotel for the four of us (two singles and a double) was perfectly fine, clean and comfortable. TV, hairdryer, towels all good. What was a bit of a shame, and they can't do anything about this, is that the hotel is home to a bar, sports betting/sports tv watching/pokies and a bistro diner which are all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We always value feedback - especially if it can help us improve our product! It is true that our motel is occasionally disadvantaged by it's location above our bar. On most nights we are closed by 10pm, although on weekends may stay open as late as midnight. Our deluxe rooms are located on the... More 

Maleny, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I recently visited Sydney for a family event and stayed at the Sands in Maroubra. It was clean and spacious. The room was a decent size with a balcony. When I first arrived I was a little concerned about the pub underneath. However, once we were in our room we did not hear a thing. It was amazingly quiet .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Forresters Beach, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and quite spacious. The staff were pleasant, the location handy for our purposes and the parking convenient. The village shops very close by were useful too. If we need to be out that way again we would certainly return to the Sands.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: 32-40 Curtin Crescent, Maroubra, Randwick, New South Wales 2035, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Maroubra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay