We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sands Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
32-40 Curtin Crescent, Maroubra, Randwick, New South Wales 2035, Australia
Sands Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maroubra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
GeckoGolf Cootamundra
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
10
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Cootamundra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This motel surprised me, when I drove in I thought this might be basic. But I was wrong, very wrong. The reception staff were very friendly. The room was great. Very clean. Best bistro staff all happy and friendly. Shops right next door. And a nice walk to the beach. 10 minutes to the airport. Worth the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a clean and spacious room which could have accommodated four people comfortably. The location was convenient for local attractions and you could shop for essentials right next door, while the bistro offered nice meals at a good price. Definitely on my favourites list.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Terrigal, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very good mattresses and a convenient location. Expensive for what it is! No shortage of parking and surrounded by shops and above a club. Easy walk to the Maroubra South beach.lots of restaurants to suit any taste. Would stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Figtree, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

myself and 2 friends stayed here on tuesday, was very happy with everything, the room was very spacious, the meals were cheap and amazing, very friendly staff, and close to beach. Would definatly stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

This hotel was a great budget option for us in a good location. The room was comfortable and met all of our needs. Roomy enough for the family, good to have Woolworths very close by. Parking was good although a little difficult at times. The restaurant food was cheap and good. Great selection of meals available. Was close to beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

I found the room at the Sands Hotel to be very clean and quiet, I was able to get a good nights sleep ready for the next days travel. Loved the big bath tub, just great. Staff were freindly and inviting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The food in this place is just gorgeous! And it's extreamly cheap! It's super fast too, the staff are all really nice! They also have a little area in the corner for the kids which is great! Definitely recommend this place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Drove from Canberra to Sydney for a meeting at short notice. Stayed at the Sands for the night before next day's meeting in Sydney. Originally thought that for an out of the way place it was a bit pricey for a motel, BUT... * The rooms are clean * The staff are friendly *The beds are comfortable * The bistro... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Checked in here based on "quiet" reviews to find live band playing audibly (read loud) in bar below in every every room until 11pm. never again! And they are advertising for live bands for every Friday over summer! Don't go if you want to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Well here we are escaping our partying neighbours on Halloween....but wait there's live LOUD music through the whole venue, no mentioned on any reviews. My kids 10 and 7 can't sleep! BEWARE! BEWARE! BEWARE!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gina H, Owner at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Krab_11 and krab2008, Thank you for both your reviews, and the multiple phone calls, and also the text messages. I understand that you were less than satisfied with your recent stay at the Sands Hotel, and I am sorry we were unable to resolve things for you during your stay. As I mentioned on the phone, we make no... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question