We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Away Suansawan Chiang Mai

4.0 of 5 43/1 Moo 6 | Mae Rim-Samoeng Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai
Professional photos View all
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
35
45
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a Filthy 1 star motel at best. The rooms were filthy, the bed smelt unclean, the bathroom smelt damp and hadn't been cleaned in months plus the pool though allegedly cleaned daily was almost green. Location is far from everything at least 1 hr. Really disappointing. With the cost of taxis being 1200B return into town and 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I am really shocked that you found your room dirty as we have not had a similar complaint for years. All of the management team including myself check rooms and now never find a dirty room so I will investigate to try to find out what was the problem.... More 

London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and service excellent as we were moved to a superior room upon complaining about state of bathtub in a standard room, however we were disappointed there were no bikes over the 3 nights we stayed. Location is perfect for nearby x center and other attractions such as orchid gardens and tiger kingdom but it is at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that all of the comlimentary bicycles were out with guests. We do keep 5 bicycles but they have high usage and whilst you were staying with us 2 were away being maintained at the shop More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I live in Chiangmai but we had family visiting from Australia and we wanted to get out of town for a few days, This is the place to go it you want to relax and have a massage, Our rooms were very nice and the setting is beautiful. Our little 2 yr old grand daughter had fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I am very please that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. We really appreciate your business and the positive review. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I went to this place with my 82 years old Mom on the mother' s day. Feel impressive with the nature, my room is just in the front of a pond. A panorama view from the room is amazing. I discover later on, this resort also provides a long term rest and care for the elder worldwide. The breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you and your mother enjoyed the stay and the gardens and views. I hill have the door lock that you mentioned repaired or replaced. More 

Bangkok
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Sadly trip adviser map very far from real location but staff managed to guide us. (Head to elephant poopoo paper, keep going past signs for four seasons then it a few km on right - well signposted) All rooms seem to be a good size and are comfortably equipped. This is of the higher end of "family run" hotels in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for the review I enjoyed reading it although I don't like to be thought of as 'cheap' despite trying hard to give value for money. More 

asia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

a nice place to get out of the city and only 5-10 minutes drive to the mae rim attractions (quads/waterfalls/botanic gardens/tiger place etc)...nothing in walking distance so bring either a car/scooter, or be prepared to entertain yourselves in the resort. lakeside room was nice, but for the price nothing special. pool was nice enough, but not big enough for lengths... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We were very quiet during the political troubles in Thailand and with low numbers we cannot really create atmosphere in the restaurant; an empty restaurant is always an empty restaurant. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the Lakeside rooms More 

hong kong
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early March. Good property, decent staff, nice pool and other activities like cycling, boating etc. Breakfast was good too... We also enjoyed the Wii! Was really cool. Our room also had a Jacuzzi. The only thing is is a bit far from the main city but that was one of the reason's we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Thank you so much for the review. We have been working hard on curing some complaints in previous reviews so it is great to receive another good review. Thank you again. More 

Dorset
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is located about 30 minutes from Chaing Mai so it means you have to depend on the hotel for all meals, etc. The rooms are scattered around a small lake in what seems to be an old banana plantation so very picturesque, and the rooms are comfortable, clean and well equipped but the hot water system let them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed most of your stay but disappointed that you had hot water problems. Every villa has its own hot water system but we have had some problems during the past month or so and we are undertaking a refurbishment of each system to cure the problem More 

Ningbo, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Travel with 2 kids and 2 elder. We booked 3 rooms and stayed first for 4 nites, then another 1 night. Size of the room and cleanliness is great, problem is with the bathroom in our room ( room with big bath tub, which we dont use coz is just too big and the water is too small) and kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the detail of the good points. I apologise that you had hot water problems. Each room has its own individual system and in the last month or so some rooms have had problems. We are refurbishing the systems to cure the problem.In many cases it was the building design of the control systems so... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel with its kind and gentle staff gave us a warm welcome from the start to the end of our week. We felt able to relax in this calm serene hilltop garden hotel with its flowers and shady banana tamarind and teak trees, to read, to swim, simply to shift down gears. We sampled delicious Thai food made from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your delightful review. I am pleased that you enjoyed both your stay in our resort and also some of the many attractions that the Chiang Mai area has to offer. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Away Suansawan Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Suansawan Chiang Mai

Address: 43/1 Moo 6 | Mae Rim-Samoeng Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Away Suansawan Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Away Suansawan Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Away Suansawan Chiang Mai

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby