We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Away Suansawan Chiang Mai

43/1 Moo 6 | Mae Rim-Samoeng Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai
Share an Experience

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    48
    19
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
50
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a joy to find this place, tranquility with excellent service. The resort was beautifully kept, with a lovely swimming pool. The restaurant was open all day and served really good food, there is fishing, library, pool table,dvd hire to keep you entertained, also lots to see and do around and about. We had three nights after doing the mai... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked two nights of Deluxe Suite for escaping the busy & noisy city. It was great, exactly gave us what we wanted - quiet, far from the busy area, just relax! The bonus is the restaurant open all day (from 6:30 until 10pm)., as we really just wanted to have a good rest and do nothing. So we don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Manager at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review despite one or two problems during your stay. It is good to know you felt that we were 'value for money'.My restaurant staff will be extremely happy to hear of your comments. I apologise that you were inconvenienced by last week's sudden ant invasion. I think the hot weather brought them out although... More 

Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I cant believe the negative or even mediocre reviews here! This place was super! I rented 4 cabanas/rooms for 1 night as our time was limited, and wish we had known about this place before we arrived! Wifes family was ecstatic about the room quality, I appreciated the western food options as well as the ease of getting a couples... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return. It is gratifying when the hard work pays of with satisfied guests. I think our facility is excellent for children with its amount of space so I am pleased that you enjoyed that aspect. thank you... More 

Sunnyvale, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Before your flight, make arrangements for the days you'll be staying at the hotel for local activity places to pick you up from the hotel (most offer this service for free). I had some say that even though the hotel is far, if I could just get to the Four Seasons that they'd pickup from there. I emailed the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it was good of you to take the time to write such a long review. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

After not visiting this hotel for six years we were amazed to see the developments that have enhanced the calm surroundings. The room by the lake was very comfortable and provided everything we needed with evenings on the terrace much enjoyed after our varied day activities. The pool was a welcome sight to cool down after temple visiting or elephant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

It is always a good feeling to see returning guests but that is enhanced when they take the trouble to write reviews. Thank you so much for returning to our resort and thank you so much for the lovely review. Please come back and see us again soon More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

Two nights stay , the nature and landscaping around was perfect, roomes layout very good ; many light inside the room need to be fixed; the shower water presure was low and could not utalize the heated water for shower; no ventilators in the bathroom ; the towels were little old ; although the bath was very spacious and romantic;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the resort but I notice there were a few defects and it is my intention to eradicate these. I think you might have stayed in a room where we are just about to refurbish the bathroom and they will all... More 

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I checked in on 4th Jan 15. I stay one night in your resort. Since I walk to the reception counter. I found one girl who busy with phone. I wait 5-10 mins to check in with busy phone call staff. The room are nice but look old. The Jacuzzi is not working but never mind. I don't care to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. Your small delay at check-in was probably due to one of the receptionist showing a guest to the room which is part of our service. If the other receptionist receives an incoming call they must deal with it. I do apologise for this small delay. Regarding your comment on... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

This is a Filthy 1 star motel at best. The rooms were filthy, the bed smelt unclean, the bathroom smelt damp and hadn't been cleaned in months plus the pool though allegedly cleaned daily was almost green. Location is far from everything at least 1 hr. Really disappointing. With the cost of taxis being 1200B return into town and 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I am really shocked that you found your room dirty as we have not had a similar complaint for years. All of the management team including myself check rooms and now never find a dirty room so I will investigate to try to find out what was the problem.... More 

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and service excellent as we were moved to a superior room upon complaining about state of bathtub in a standard room, however we were disappointed there were no bikes over the 3 nights we stayed. Location is perfect for nearby x center and other attractions such as orchid gardens and tiger kingdom but it is at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that all of the comlimentary bicycles were out with guests. We do keep 5 bicycles but they have high usage and whilst you were staying with us 2 were away being maintained at the shop More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I live in Chiangmai but we had family visiting from Australia and we wanted to get out of town for a few days, This is the place to go it you want to relax and have a massage, Our rooms were very nice and the setting is beautiful. Our little 2 yr old grand daughter had fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I am very please that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. We really appreciate your business and the positive review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question