We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Away Suansawan Chiang Mai

4.0 of 5 43/1 Moo 6 | Mae Rim-Samoeng Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    46
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
38
46
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars NEW

Before your flight, make arrangements for the days you'll be staying at the hotel for local activity places to pick you up from the hotel (most offer this service for free). I had some say that even though the hotel is far, if I could just get to the Four Seasons that they'd pickup from there. I emailed the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After not visiting this hotel for six years we were amazed to see the developments that have enhanced the calm surroundings. The room by the lake was very comfortable and provided everything we needed with evenings on the terrace much enjoyed after our varied day activities. The pool was a welcome sight to cool down after temple visiting or elephant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

It is always a good feeling to see returning guests but that is enhanced when they take the trouble to write reviews. Thank you so much for returning to our resort and thank you so much for the lovely review. Please come back and see us again soon More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two nights stay , the nature and landscaping around was perfect, roomes layout very good ; many light inside the room need to be fixed; the shower water presure was low and could not utalize the heated water for shower; no ventilators in the bathroom ; the towels were little old ; although the bath was very spacious and romantic;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the resort but I notice there were a few defects and it is my intention to eradicate these. I think you might have stayed in a room where we are just about to refurbish the bathroom and they will all... More 

Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I checked in on 4th Jan 15. I stay one night in your resort. Since I walk to the reception counter. I found one girl who busy with phone. I wait 5-10 mins to check in with busy phone call staff. The room are nice but look old. The Jacuzzi is not working but never mind. I don't care to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. Your small delay at check-in was probably due to one of the receptionist showing a guest to the room which is part of our service. If the other receptionist receives an incoming call they must deal with it. I do apologise for this small delay. Regarding your comment on... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a Filthy 1 star motel at best. The rooms were filthy, the bed smelt unclean, the bathroom smelt damp and hadn't been cleaned in months plus the pool though allegedly cleaned daily was almost green. Location is far from everything at least 1 hr. Really disappointing. With the cost of taxis being 1200B return into town and 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I am really shocked that you found your room dirty as we have not had a similar complaint for years. All of the management team including myself check rooms and now never find a dirty room so I will investigate to try to find out what was the problem.... More 

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and service excellent as we were moved to a superior room upon complaining about state of bathtub in a standard room, however we were disappointed there were no bikes over the 3 nights we stayed. Location is perfect for nearby x center and other attractions such as orchid gardens and tiger kingdom but it is at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that all of the comlimentary bicycles were out with guests. We do keep 5 bicycles but they have high usage and whilst you were staying with us 2 were away being maintained at the shop More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

My husband and I live in Chiangmai but we had family visiting from Australia and we wanted to get out of town for a few days, This is the place to go it you want to relax and have a massage, Our rooms were very nice and the setting is beautiful. Our little 2 yr old grand daughter had fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I am very please that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us. We really appreciate your business and the positive review. More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I went to this place with my 82 years old Mom on the mother' s day. Feel impressive with the nature, my room is just in the front of a pond. A panorama view from the room is amazing. I discover later on, this resort also provides a long term rest and care for the elder worldwide. The breakfast is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you and your mother enjoyed the stay and the gardens and views. I hill have the door lock that you mentioned repaired or replaced. More 

Bangkok
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Sadly trip adviser map very far from real location but staff managed to guide us. (Head to elephant poopoo paper, keep going past signs for four seasons then it a few km on right - well signposted) All rooms seem to be a good size and are comfortably equipped. This is of the higher end of "family run" hotels in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for the review I enjoyed reading it although I don't like to be thought of as 'cheap' despite trying hard to give value for money. More 

asia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

a nice place to get out of the city and only 5-10 minutes drive to the mae rim attractions (quads/waterfalls/botanic gardens/tiger place etc)...nothing in walking distance so bring either a car/scooter, or be prepared to entertain yourselves in the resort. lakeside room was nice, but for the price nothing special. pool was nice enough, but not big enough for lengths... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter B, Owner at Away Suansawan Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We were very quiet during the political troubles in Thailand and with low numbers we cannot really create atmosphere in the restaurant; an empty restaurant is always an empty restaurant. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the Lakeside rooms More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Away Suansawan Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Suansawan Chiang Mai

Address: 43/1 Moo 6 | Mae Rim-Samoeng Road, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection)
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Away Suansawan Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Away Suansawan Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Away Suansawan Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay