We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Pulau Gaya hotels

Gayana Eco Resort

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malohom Bay | Gaya Island, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% Off 2nd & 3rd Night!
Save Saved
You added Gayana Eco Resort to your Saves list
Gayana Eco Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Asiatravel.com
and 7 more sites!
77%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Pulau Gaya
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    69
    28
    14
    16
See reviews for
41
134
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: friendly staff everywhere. They are excellent! Decent restaurants. Spacious room. Nice place to relax. A dessert for 2 pax to celebrate my birthday . Cons: The electricity suddenly runs out in the mid night. My mum was so scared and we called number 0 to the guest service assistant but the phone wasnt put through or nobody answer the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First of all, if you have much concerns of the water quality (actually, mainly falling leaves, twigs, occasionally food packages near the pillars of the water Bungalow) in the water, don't go! since the water condition really depends on the weather, and the Bangalore were constructed along the mangrove, it is completely natural and make sense to found some trash... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newbury, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am posting this review since I have been unable to get a response from the owner or management. I am from the state of New Hampshire in the United States. My son and his wife live in Taiwan where they are both teachers. My wife and I recently visited Sabah with them in early February 2014. It was our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This place is unbelievable! Total luxury, with gorgeous surroundings. Everything has been thought about. Waking each morning to your breakfast being delivered by boat to your balcony is special. The staff are so helpful and thoughtful and nothing is to much bother. Before you go you have to remember that Borneo is not the most developed of locations, but this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Where do I begin ... Arriving on the island my heart sank - the resort looks old and dated, but the worst thing was the brown dirty water and the amount of rubbish floating around the villas and on the beach. It was disgusting and I had decided there and then before I'd even got off the boat that there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear Pinni Travels, I am so sorry for the fact that you were not given the care nor attention you deserved when you stayed back in February. I agree we have had some communication issues but these have thankfully been rectified. I don't want to pass blame elsewhere, certain things such as sea condition and weather we cannot control. However,... More

Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
74 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This research centre for the conservation of giant clams and corals is located within the resort. The work done to propagate the corals and giant clams is interesting. Its a small centre and would take only an hour to view the video and exhibits.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Whyalla, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this resort for 5 nights- Safe to say with the amount of money we were spending- our expectations were extremely high We arrived at Gayana Eco Resort on the Shuttle Boat around midday- and were immediatley greeted by their lovely staff. We were taken to our room which was not ready yet. A little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kl
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

enjoyed but felt too much commercialism and found some flaws: - checkout time is too early at 11am. pick up for boat going back to BKI is at only 11am and 1pm. is the resort trying to make us eat lunch at the resort? we felt inconvenience and the resort's commercialism. - too many loud nuisance guests. They annoy us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tainan, Taiwan
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Please look at the photos which have been attached to this review. They speak more than any written description. Why would someone pay a 5-star price to be in a place like this? The resort has been grossly misrepresented. It doesn't matter where the trash comes from. The management doesn't care enough to put up sufficient barriers for it and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your contribution ,I don't blame you for being dissapointed, so are we! As i have stated in previous blogs, during the North East Monsoon (Nov-Feb) we can sometimes be overwhelmed with rubbish from mainland Borneo and nearby stilt villages, while we attempt to pick up and clean the sea we will never completely succeed. There... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed only one night,resort has a Super General Manager who is really trying very hard. Unfortunately the sea is full of rubbish and you don't feel like going to the sea. Great place for families but beware sea is really NOT clean. Very sad to see the beaches are dirty which is a major problem now at Indonesia,Cambodia,Vietnam and most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Gayana Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gayana Eco Resort

Also Known As:
Gayana Eco Hotel
Gayana Eco Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Gayana Resort
Gayana Eco Resort Malaysia/Pulau Gaya
Address: Malohom Bay | Gaya Island, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Pulau Gaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gayana Eco Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gayana Eco Resort rests serenely at the edges of Gaya Island off the coast of Borneo. 52 over water villas designed to enhance the soothing sounds of the surf, while capturing the enduring vistas of Mt. Kinabalu on the distant horizon. At its heart is about protecting and re-generating our precious Marine Ecology, and the only property to feature its own Marine Ecology Research Centre propagating Giant Clams and restoring damaged coral reefs. Striking the perfect balance of forward thinking ecology and indulgent luxury which pampers both the body and the enlightened soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gayana Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gayana Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.