We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Pulau Gaya hotels

Gayana Eco Resort

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Malohom Bay | Gaya Island, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gayana Eco Resort to your Saves list
Gayana Eco Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Pulau Gaya
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
PeteT44881 Saint Louis, Missouri
  • Overview
  • Reviews (250)
  • Photos (302)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (62)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    71
    31
    16
    17
See reviews for
44
140
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

All staff was EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. Premises was VERY clean. We loved visiting the sister resort. Spa was amazing. Bar was fun-- free happy hour drinks. it had stormed the nite before we arrived and staff was "cleaning" the ocean! Breakfast was really good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I chose this hotel rather than the SLH hotel on the same island (which I always picked SLH hotels) was because my sis wants to experience water villas. I booked on hotel website and the price was not cheap. Lagoon villa is the entry level and we booked the Mangrove villa, the next level up. But upon check-in, with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stay only at the beach villas. That's the resort's key differentiator. For the price tho, the little things were annoying- the garbage on the beach, a broken step on the villa, algae on the step. On the flipside, the staff were really attentive and nice, and the breakfasts were fab. Lunch and dinner were pricey so you might want to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear Liulang, Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your oceanview room (not beach villa). You are right it is wonderful to be able to jump in to the sea directly from the deck of your room. Thank you for pointing out that one of the steps leading into the sea was missing, this... More

Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here for just two nights, but felt fully recharged upon departure. Main advantage of resort is that it's build in harmony with wild nature around, which makes you a part of this nature. I find those precious moments in sync with mother-nature to be priceless. Transfer and check-in were flawless - we found transfer station on Jesselton ferry terminal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Launceston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed 3 nights here at the end of an action packed tour of Borneo. We had a beautiful ocean facing villa and our request to have our 25 year old sons room nearby was fulfilled and he was next door so we could open the shutters between the two decks to make one big area. It is worth having... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We spent 5 nights in Gayana Eco at the Palm Villa for our honeymoon in early May of 2014. The check-in process was rather smooth; we were greeted at the check-in office on the Jesselton Point Ferry Terminal, left our luggage and took the boat to arrive at the facility. The trip takes just about 15-20 minutes with the hotel's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear secil H, Firstly, I most apologise for the shrew which entered your palm villa and disturbed your honeymoon. We try to deter them from entering our rooms but sometimes they just don't listen. Being located on an island off the coast of Borneo, one must expect nature is in an abundance.This to me is actually a strong selling point... More

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

After reading the negative reviews I was more than nervous for our stay at Gayana Eco Resort, but unlike those reviews, our entire experience was incredible. We stayed for 4 days from the 14th to 18th of May to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. Before we left for the trip, the resort emailed to inform us that the pool was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jazskimo, Wow thank you for such a wonderful and thorough review, I shall ensure this is shared amongst everyone in Gayana. Creating raving fans or ambassadors of our property is the key to our future success so thank you for becoming one. We truly hope to see you and your husband back in Gayana soon again. All the best... More

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My sister and I stayed 3 nights in the beautiful Ocean Villa (Rm 44) in April. I had read the previous reviews about the resort but definitely did not see the large amount of rubbish floating nearby or experience any "stench". The Ocean Villa was superb - and especially having your own private jetty to jump into the lagoon to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear Vietnamexplorer, Exceeding expectations is what we try to achieve with every guest visiting our beautiful resort. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you for sharing your experience with fellow TripAdvisor readers, we hope to see you again. Tomas More

Busan, South Korea
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Secluded and very quiet. Beautiful and serene. Chinese seafood restaurant was great. Hot breakfast a-la-carte served instead of buffet breakfast. Best massage I have had in a long time although pricey. Unfortunately plagued with red tide at the time of our visit end March, therefore by midday the water was an opaque reddish-brown colour but clear first thing in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TomasAndersen, General Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear Family_of_thre3, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you had to experience Sabah during the worst red tide ever. However I am please to tell you that our crystal clear waters have returned to us and the rubbish no where to be found. I agree something must be done in the long run for Sabah to remain with... More

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

then things went downhill. We was picked up from the airport then taken to the ferry port and waited for the 230pm boat. Things were going along ok and staff were friendly and helpful. Then a short boat ride to the resort although make sure your baggage goes on the right boat as one of our bags ended up on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rainer S, Executive Assistant Manager at Gayana Eco Resort, responded to this review

Dear starmanistanbul, As spoken in our conversation at the resort I have noted down all your comments and shared the issues with the team and all responsible leaders immediately. We have recognized our shortcomings in our service in this particular instance which certainly didn’t meet your expectations as well as our standards. Please let me assure you that we have... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gayana Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gayana Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gayana Eco Resort

Address: Malohom Bay | Gaya Island, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Pulau Gaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gayana Eco Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Gayana Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gayana Eco Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Gayana Resort
Gayana Eco Resort Malaysia/Pulau Gaya

302 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (287)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gayana Eco Resort rests serenely at the edges of Gaya Island off the coast of Borneo. 52 over water villas designed to enhance the soothing sounds of the surf, while capturing the enduring vistas of Mt. Kinabalu on the distant horizon. At its heart is about protecting and re-generating our precious Marine Ecology, and the only property to feature its own Marine Ecology Research Centre propagating Giant Clams and restoring damaged coral reefs. Striking the perfect balance of forward thinking ecology and indulgent luxury which pampers both the body and the enlightened soul. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
44

See which rooms travelers prefer