We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel

4 Marine Parade | Main Beach, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Add Photo

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    11
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Third time staying at the Pavilion and certain to be back. Have stayed in different rooms each time and was happy to settle into 3F for the weekend. Management is friendly with particularly great service from Gail on my first visit. Thanks Guys

Was this review helpful? Yes
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stay for the weekend in the winter. I thought this accommodation was overpriced. Could hardly see the water from our room, which wasn't a major. We thought we were getting two double rooms with double beds, but one room was squashed and it had two single beds we had to place together. There was a lot of condensation on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We were a little disappointed. The location is superb. We had an apartment on the Front but as well as being very noisy (as at 5 am) it smelt very musty. The bed was a bit cheap - steel tubular! . I did think I would heat up some food but there were no dishes for the microwave. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

We stayed here in March this year for the State Ocean Swim Series. A great place to stay as the event is held on the beach in front of the hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Spacious and well equipped accommodation. Close to The Mount shopping/restaurants area, as in easily walkable.Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

This is a spacious apartment with a wonderfully well equipped kitchen with e.g. freezer, dishwasher, washer, dryer etc. It is right in the main part of Mt Maunganui within easy walking distance of the Mount and shopping areas and cafes and restaurants. We stayed in apt 3G, which was unfortunately above the extractor fan from the restaurant below the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hello LizandDavidUK, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write about your stay at the Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation. The apartment you stayed in on the 3rd floor side of the complex above the back entrance to the restaurant, has been earmarked to be refurbished after the Christmas period. The Apartment Owners have arranged for the plans to... More 

Auckland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My husband booked this apartment for a birthday celebration. We had a side apartment with a partial sea view. The location was great, but I would question the 5 star rating. We did expect a little extra for the money and when talking to the Manager about a couple of issues in the apartment we were told these were privately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Michelle W We value your very important comments as stated to you when you discussed them with us. We have also passed them onto the Apartment owner as we stated we would do, and have been in discussions with them. With respects to the bath, many modern apartment complexes around that were built in the last 10 years... More 

Portree, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We booked this hotel so long ago, we didn't know what to expect. And we got a surprise, as the space was so big, with the most exceptional view of the beach and the sea!! So we are more than happy to give this place an excellent vote. We only saw the Manager when we checked in and out, because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mark We trust you had a safe journey home after your NZ Experience. We are pleased that we were able to be part of your trip and trust that your memories and photos will continue to give you those many happy memories. We would love to host you again when you make it back to our part of the... More 

Langstone, South Wales
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This one night at Mount Maunganui was the most expensive accommodation of our 4 week New Zealand trip but I was certainly not disappointed. The accommodation was 5 star as was the view over the beach. Extremely comfortable seating, well equipped modern kitchen, great bedroom, everything was first rate. Great breakfast in the adjoining cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

The Pavilion are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, that capped off your holiday to your expectations. Thank you for your much appreciated comments, and please do inform us of any return visit, as we would love to accommodate you once again as a very special guest. Tony and Raewyn Business Owners/Managers Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This is in an unbelievable location right accross the road from one of the best beaches in the area. Mount Maunganui. The property has great eating establishments right next door and the Surf Club only meters away. This is so handy to all amenities. The property is very nice, all very clean and well looked after. This is my second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning KingyOE It is with pleasure that we read your comments on your recent stay at the Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation. We are extra pleased that you found our service, cleaniness, location and the other facilities around us to your liking. It is pleasing for us all here that you found time to express your opinions and we always take... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We arrived and had planned to stay for one night but walked in and immediately opted to stay longer. Great location, helpful staff and everything that you need. If I had one niggle it was that it was only a queen bed that ratted, but comfortable. We would have liked to stay longer but sadly had to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Henry's_crew Thank you so much for taking the time to write a brief on your stay at the Pavilions Beachfront Accommodation. We value your comments and we are having the rattle in the bed addressed as I write. That was a futon slat bed and has required some adjustment. Thank you for pointing this out. We trust that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay