We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel

4 Marine Parade | Main Beach, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    12
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We stayed here for the first time recently. We were in room 2A which is ocean front on the second floor. The apartment was very spacious and bright,and had a very nice kitchen facility. The couches were comfortable and the heat pump worked well on a very cold night. The bedroom , bathroom and lounge/kitchen were absolutely spotlessly clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Third time staying at the Pavilion and certain to be back. Have stayed in different rooms each time and was happy to settle into 3F for the weekend. Management is friendly with particularly great service from Gail on my first visit. Thanks Guys

Was this review helpful? Yes
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

Stay for the weekend in the winter. I thought this accommodation was overpriced. Could hardly see the water from our room, which wasn't a major. We thought we were getting two double rooms with double beds, but one room was squashed and it had two single beds we had to place together. There was a lot of condensation on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We were a little disappointed. The location is superb. We had an apartment on the Front but as well as being very noisy (as at 5 am) it smelt very musty. The bed was a bit cheap - steel tubular! . I did think I would heat up some food but there were no dishes for the microwave. There was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

We stayed here in March this year for the State Ocean Swim Series. A great place to stay as the event is held on the beach in front of the hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Spacious and well equipped accommodation. Close to The Mount shopping/restaurants area, as in easily walkable.Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

This is a spacious apartment with a wonderfully well equipped kitchen with e.g. freezer, dishwasher, washer, dryer etc. It is right in the main part of Mt Maunganui within easy walking distance of the Mount and shopping areas and cafes and restaurants. We stayed in apt 3G, which was unfortunately above the extractor fan from the restaurant below the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hello LizandDavidUK, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write about your stay at the Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation. The apartment you stayed in on the 3rd floor side of the complex above the back entrance to the restaurant, has been earmarked to be refurbished after the Christmas period. The Apartment Owners have arranged for the plans to... More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My husband booked this apartment for a birthday celebration. We had a side apartment with a partial sea view. The location was great, but I would question the 5 star rating. We did expect a little extra for the money and when talking to the Manager about a couple of issues in the apartment we were told these were privately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Michelle W We value your very important comments as stated to you when you discussed them with us. We have also passed them onto the Apartment owner as we stated we would do, and have been in discussions with them. With respects to the bath, many modern apartment complexes around that were built in the last 10 years... More 

Portree, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We booked this hotel so long ago, we didn't know what to expect. And we got a surprise, as the space was so big, with the most exceptional view of the beach and the sea!! So we are more than happy to give this place an excellent vote. We only saw the Manager when we checked in and out, because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pavilion A, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mark We trust you had a safe journey home after your NZ Experience. We are pleased that we were able to be part of your trip and trust that your memories and photos will continue to give you those many happy memories. We would love to host you again when you make it back to our part of the... More 

Langstone, South Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This one night at Mount Maunganui was the most expensive accommodation of our 4 week New Zealand trip but I was certainly not disappointed. The accommodation was 5 star as was the view over the beach. Extremely comfortable seating, well equipped modern kitchen, great bedroom, everything was first rate. Great breakfast in the adjoining cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

The Pavilion are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, that capped off your holiday to your expectations. Thank you for your much appreciated comments, and please do inform us of any return visit, as we would love to accommodate you once again as a very special guest. Tony and Raewyn Business Owners/Managers Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This is in an unbelievable location right accross the road from one of the best beaches in the area. Mount Maunganui. The property has great eating establishments right next door and the Surf Club only meters away. This is so handy to all amenities. The property is very nice, all very clean and well looked after. This is my second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning KingyOE It is with pleasure that we read your comments on your recent stay at the Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation. We are extra pleased that you found our service, cleaniness, location and the other facilities around us to your liking. It is pleasing for us all here that you found time to express your opinions and we always take... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Maunganui
3.1 mi away
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
Trinity Wharf Tauranga
#17 of 58 in Tauranga
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pacific Apartments
The Pacific Apartments
#2 of 4 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 17 in Mount Maunganui
5.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#6 of 12 in Mount Maunganui
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#2 of 12 in Mount Maunganui
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quest Mount Maunganui
Quest Mount Maunganui
#14 of 17 in Mount Maunganui
3.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay