We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel

4 Marine Parade | Main Beach, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
20
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 via mobile

This is a spacious apartment with a wonderfully well equipped kitchen with e.g. freezer, dishwasher, washer, dryer etc. It is right in the main part of Mt Maunganui within easy walking distance of the Mount and shopping areas and cafes and restaurants. We stayed in apt 3G, which was unfortunately above the extractor fan from the restaurant below the hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hello LizandDavidUK, Thank you so much for taking the time out to write about your stay at the Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation. The apartment you stayed in on the 3rd floor side of the complex above the back entrance to the restaurant, has been earmarked to be refurbished after the Christmas period. The Apartment Owners have arranged for the plans to... More 

Auckland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

My husband booked this apartment for a birthday celebration. We had a side apartment with a partial sea view. The location was great, but I would question the 5 star rating. We did expect a little extra for the money and when talking to the Manager about a couple of issues in the apartment we were told these were privately... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Michelle W We value your very important comments as stated to you when you discussed them with us. We have also passed them onto the Apartment owner as we stated we would do, and have been in discussions with them. With respects to the bath, many modern apartment complexes around that were built in the last 10 years... More 

Portree, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We booked this hotel so long ago, we didn't know what to expect. And we got a surprise, as the space was so big, with the most exceptional view of the beach and the sea!! So we are more than happy to give this place an excellent vote. We only saw the Manager when we checked in and out, because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mark We trust you had a safe journey home after your NZ Experience. We are pleased that we were able to be part of your trip and trust that your memories and photos will continue to give you those many happy memories. We would love to host you again when you make it back to our part of the... More 

Langstone, South Wales
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

This one night at Mount Maunganui was the most expensive accommodation of our 4 week New Zealand trip but I was certainly not disappointed. The accommodation was 5 star as was the view over the beach. Extremely comfortable seating, well equipped modern kitchen, great bedroom, everything was first rate. Great breakfast in the adjoining cafe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, General Manager at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

The Pavilion are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, that capped off your holiday to your expectations. Thank you for your much appreciated comments, and please do inform us of any return visit, as we would love to accommodate you once again as a very special guest. Tony and Raewyn Business Owners/Managers Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This is in an unbelievable location right accross the road from one of the best beaches in the area. Mount Maunganui. The property has great eating establishments right next door and the Surf Club only meters away. This is so handy to all amenities. The property is very nice, all very clean and well looked after. This is my second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning KingyOE It is with pleasure that we read your comments on your recent stay at the Pavilion Beachfront Accommodation. We are extra pleased that you found our service, cleaniness, location and the other facilities around us to your liking. It is pleasing for us all here that you found time to express your opinions and we always take... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We arrived and had planned to stay for one night but walked in and immediately opted to stay longer. Great location, helpful staff and everything that you need. If I had one niggle it was that it was only a queen bed that ratted, but comfortable. We would have liked to stay longer but sadly had to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Henry's_crew Thank you so much for taking the time to write a brief on your stay at the Pavilions Beachfront Accommodation. We value your comments and we are having the rattle in the bed addressed as I write. That was a futon slat bed and has required some adjustment. Thank you for pointing this out. We trust that... More 

Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

As a single female traveller I felt so safe and cared for here. The lady on reception was so welcoming and friendly, it really made my stay. My apartment was not one of the absolute beachfront ones, but I still had a lovely little balcony and views of the sea from there. The kitchen facilities were all lovely and new,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Good morning Megan_362. Raewyn and I thank you for your kind words. Especially knowing that you felt secure and relaxed while you stayed with us at the Pavilion. Even for partial seaviews, you manage to be able to enjoy them and feel the ambiance of being at Mount Maunganui along with mount "Mauao" and of course the famous Mount Ocean... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Stayed one night, should have been more. Very friendly and helpful reception (owner). Excellent features and layout and a top quality bed. A really well thought out floor layout. Couldn't ask for more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Wynmead, thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Pavilions. Nothing beats waking up in the morning to the view of the beautiful Mount Ocean Beach, sun streaming into your apartment and the water glistening a welcome back to you while you relax on the balcony. We are so pleased that you... More 

Taupo
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a neat place to stay and getting a full sea views apartment is bliss. Right for the time of arrival we knew we were in for a great stay with the friendly accommodating reception we received. Picture this - sea views, pleasure boats and ships on the sea, a clean open beach, the sun shimmering on the sea -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Brian, It is always great to know that our clients such as yourself went away from your stay at the Pavilions and found the many items associated with the area were also worthy of your valuable contribution. We look forward to being able to host you again in the near future. Thank you Tony & Raewyn Owner/Managers Pavilion... More 

Redcliffe, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

What a great week we had at the Pavilion's. We were made to feel extremely welcome by Tony and Raewyn (the Managers). Our room was set up perfectly for us as we arrived after hours. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from right at the front door. We loved going for walks around "The Mount". The beach right across... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pavilion A, Owner at Pavilion Beachfront Boutique Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Barry A Thank you for taking the time out to write your response. We always appreciate contributing comments and will always try and excel further from them. We are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay and that you utilized the many attractions that Mount Maunganui and the Pavilion Beachfront Apartments have to offer. We look forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (56)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (26)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question