We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 Maunganui Road | Mount Maunganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Pacific to your Saves list
The Pacific
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
84%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Michelle S Wellington, New Zealand
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The apartment and facilities at the Pacific are appealing - comfortable beds, good quality linen, quiet at night, spacious living areas and decks, nice bathrooms (although our shower flooded the bathroom floor each time, and the toilet needed some maintenance - it was noisy a lot of the time), pleasant pool and spa area, convenient parking and good gym. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room wasn't ready at check in time which was annoying because we had to wait. This apartment was lovely with modern furnishings and very clean. It was handy having laundry and a full kitchen with fridge, the pool looked nice but didn't get to use it as we were on the beach most of the time. It was very handy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific, responded to this review

Hi Rua A, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are very sorry you were unable to check in at the correct time and we will take this on board with our future bookings to ensure guests can check in at the correct time. We hope you enjoyed your stay despite this and hope you... More

Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a well equipped spacious apartment with plenty of room for all six of us. Good sized bedrooms and bathrooms and well equipped kitchen to enable preparation and cooking of meals. Great facilities to use in pool. spa and gym. Good walking distance to beach, cafés, shops, mount walk in fact everything. The views from the seventh floor were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific, responded to this review

Hello Jennifer, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at pacific and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our one bedroom apartment was huge, with a lovely balcony overlooking the Mount and with sea views. Apartment equipped with everything you could need (including a few board games in case of a rainy day). Short walk to the Main Mount Street. 2 mins from beach and hot pools. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific, responded to this review

Thank you for the positive feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pacific. Look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. More

Gold coast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The Pacific is super close to the base of the Mount, and a 1 minute walk to the beach and to the bay. Not far the the main strip of Mt Maunganui either which means finding a great place for brekky and dinner was easy. The room wasn't bad, the kitchen/living room set up seemed strange with a couch that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific, responded to this review

Hello Cameron, Thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in January, we would love to arrange an apartment on one of our higher floors with beautiful views for any future stays with us here at pacific and we are delighted to announce the opening of a restaurant onsite which was not opened during your previous stay. More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

So this could be either Bookings.com fault or the hotel but when I arrive and am told sorry we are full and I have a confirmed booking from bookings.com my saga starts. The hotel are totally unhelpful and try send me to Tauranga info center. I didn't kick up as much of a fuss as I should have but me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review,I would like to express my sincere apologises for any inconvenience caused.We pride ourselves in providing our customers with excellent customer service, I regret that the service you received on the day in question was less than satisfactory. I would like to ensure you that we take all guest feedback very... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The location is fantastic, and a convenient stroll from the restaurants and Mount Maunganui itself (and definitely worth the hike). The apartment was a disappointment. It was a little soulless and had a worn, rundown feel with that "motor inn" smell you get at some older apartments. I sense the place is frequently visited by holiday makers and is due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThePacificApartments, Front Office Manager at The Pacific, responded to this review

we take pride In our cleanliness and the appearance of our apartments and are often complimented on the décor and overall presentation, but clearly we were not up to standards on your stay. I apologise that you were not fully satisfied with your apartment and hope this would not deter you from staying with us again in the future. More

Whakatane, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed a night at The Pacific with another couple of friends in a 2-bdrm apartment on the 3rd level. We had stayed here a couple of times before and were pleased with our room and this time was no different. We always ask for an apartment on the end of the building so that you get views of both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The Location was good, close to the beach. However the price was really expensive,for what it is. The pool wasn't heated or no sauna as advertise. The rooms and corridor weren't up to the standard you would expect for the 300+ a night. There was no milk on arrival and the front desk was not attendant, lucky the lovely lady... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Let me begin by saying it was difficult to find this hotel/apartment complex on Tripadvisor.com when I came to write this review. I put "Pacific" in all sorts of combinations in the search box and none of them pointed me towards New Zealand. It is listed under "Specialty Lodging" and not "Hotel". Why make it complicated? Why not just lump... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to The Pacific? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pacific

Address: 8 Maunganui Road | Mount Maunganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga 3116, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pacific is located a short stroll from both Pilot Bay and the Mount's Main Beach, and 60m from the base of the Mount and the world-renowned hot salt-water pools. The Pacific Apartments offer guests a new type of luxury not yet experienced at the mount. With accommodation ranging from spacious hotel-style rooms through to luxury 4-bedroom superior apartments, all with stylish master ensuites, fully equipped kitchens and laundries and finished with modern furniture, The Pacific is a true reflection of quality accommodation. Completing the picture of total comfort are extensive views through floor to ceiling glass, large private decks and individual air-conditioning along with services including wireless internet, Sky TV, on-site gym, pool, and spa. A short drive takes you to five major golf courses, Tauranga Airport, Tauranga city and some fantastic wineries. The city shuttle bus stop is also just a 2 minute walk away. Location, location, location Well-equipped conference facilities are also available for exclusive conferences, private dinners or boutique weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Pacific reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pacific, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.