We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mission Belle Motel

Corner Victoria Road and Pacific Avenue | Mount Manuganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Hotel website
#7 of 12 hotels in Mount Maunganui
25 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mission Belle Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mission Belle Motel
  • Overview
  • Reviews (25)
  • Photos (22)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Mission Belle Motel to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

i rocked up around 8pm with no prior reservation, managed to get a nice ground floor spot no problems (though i think this would be different in the summer season) nice clean room, luxurious bed spread, nicely decorated room, HUGE spa bath, unfortunately i didn't have time to indulge. perfectly set up, nice little balcony too and right around the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review

Hi Megan F! Many thanks for a great review! You made references to all the great things that we are very proud of at the Mission Belle and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write such a lovely review, thank you! Whenever you're this way again please pop in and say Hi!... More

Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Its not often I am disappointed with my choice of accommodation but I was with Mission Belle Motel at Mt Maunganui. My room was discounted from $155 to $135 but I should have listened to myself and found somewhere else to stay. The room was cold and dark and why don't motels invest in a steam mop? The bathroom and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review

Oh dear! Bonniechris is not a very happy person is she? I knew from the second she walked into reception at 8.30am to check out that I was in for a negative attitude and sure enough the first words out of her mouth was a complaint followed by the words: "I write for Trip Advisor" which I immediately took as... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a great Easter stay we had in such an ideal, handy position. Several Family groups of us accommodated with ease by charming hosts, Cathy & Ray. With beaches, shops & great coffee within walking distance, it made a great base. Very clean & comfortable - loved sitting on our deck with a view of Pilot Bay. We will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We had a great Easter as the Motel was close to all attractions. We could walk to most places so no need to look for parking. Being central we could go shopping, walk round the Mt and visit both Pilot Bay & the Ocean Beach and all the lovely cafes nearby. Our hosts were very helpful when we booked and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Handily located with an abundance of eating places nearby.Good parking and ideal for exploring Mount Maunganui and the spectacular beaches. Value for money. Clean and comfortable . Only had an overnight stay at a busy holiday period but would definitely return again. Made welcome by the hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review

Thank you 'auldlachie', for a great review!! We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit to the Mount. We really do appreciate the time our guests make to write their reviews as it helps us to understand exactly what our clients like and dislike so we are able to adapt if needs be, to make everyone's stay with us... More

New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Booked Mission Belle as a friend and were racing the local half ironman. We train twice a day for weeks on end for a race that requires us to get up at 4.30am. So we look forward to a good nights pre race sleep. Unfortunately we were unable to get to sleep till around 1.30am due to the noise from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review

Hi HansenClark, we thank you for your feedback. We are really so very sorry that your stay with us was, shall we say, "unsuccessful"! As an ex-athlete myself, I fully understand your frustration at not being able to acquire a good night's sleep before the event you are competing in. However, I am also very aware that as a competitor... More

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a fantastic stay. The motel is in a great location, close to Pilot Bay and the Mount shops. The unit was well equipped and had everything we needed. Hosts Cathy and Ray were friendly and very welcoming, thank you! We only wish we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back! Wiebe & Genevieve

Was this review helpful? Yes
Te Kuiti, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Mission Belle Motel is situated close to the main street of Mt Maunganui and the harbour beach. There is ample off street parking and the whole facilty is nicely presented. The weather for our stay was horrible but our two room apartment was really nicely decorated and clean. We would definitely stay here again when at the Mount.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Coral, we were really happy that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again and we'll do our utmost to improve on the weather for you!!!! Cathy and Ray :-) More

Taupo, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the view of the outside of the motel to the moment we left, the service was impeccable. loved the Spanish/Mexican style of the building and the sophisticated décor of our apartment. very well situated for the two beaches ( the long sandy beach and ocean were fantastic) - plenty of surfers to watch too. Also very well situated for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for such a glowing review Gloria which is very much appreciated I can assure you!! We love this motel and have put a lot of work into it so it's a lovely gesture to see that our guests really do appreciate the efforts we make. We still have a lot to do but it is a 'work in... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Mission Belle Motel is very well located in Mount Maunganui, right in the middle between 2 beaches (one of them is harbour beach called Pilot Bay, and the other is an ocean lengthy white sand beach) and just meters from all the cafes and restaurants. Our room was very clean and comfortable, with capacious bed, small kitchen, and large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cathy P, Owner at Mission Belle Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comments about the Belle of which of course we absolutely agree with! It is in a great, very convenient location and the environment of Mount Maunganui is nothing short of amazing!! I was a bit confused about your comment about "paid wifi" and must point out that WIFI at the Mission Belle is... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mission Belle Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mission Belle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Belle Motel

Address: Corner Victoria Road and Pacific Avenue | Mount Manuganui, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Mission Belle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Mount Maunganui with
any amenities

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mission Belle is a family run motel in Mount Maunganui (Mauao). The Belle's hosts are Cathy and Ray who came over from England in 2008 and fell in love with the place as soon as they saw it. One of their favourite countries in the world is Spain and because it reminded them so much of the spanish buildings they were used on the coast it seemed to be the perfect scenario - a little piece of Spain in New Zealand - what more could they want??!! Unfortunately it wasn't available for them to own at that time but as soon as it came on the market, they snapped it up! They've been in the motel since December 2011 and have so far loved every minute of it. There is a sizable barbeque area and various seating areas dotted around the property, with or without shade and they have improved on the landscaping. The rooms were originally decorated with a "spanish' feel about them (hence the name) and now Cathy and Ray feel that updating the rooms is high on the agenda of plans that they have for the place. It is ideally located, close to all amenities that the Mount has to offer - fantastic cafes, amazing restaurants, and the beautiful stores that are all very appealing. With only a couple of minutes walk to the quiet Pilot Bay beach and a five minute walk to the main beach, there really is no need of a pool! Having said that, the Hot Pools are at the base of Mauao and are easily accessible with a ten to fifteen minute walk from the Belle. A beautiful walk around Mauao where you can take in some fantastic sights, or a more energetic or if preferred, a slow climb up to the summit will be an effort well rewarded with the magnificent views over the town and the sights of Tauranga. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mission Belle Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer