We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The New Inn to your Saves list
Kilkhampton EX23 9QN, England
Hotel amenities
The New Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Kilkhampton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilkhampton
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    4
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (47)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have visited this pub a number of times for meals, which are always good, plentiful and well presented. Interesting that they can actually let you know which cow the steaks are from and from which local farm. Shall definitely keep this on our regular visit list whenever in Cornwall.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Welcombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We live quite close to this pub and go there fairly often for a drink and/or a meal. Good basic pub grub at reasonable prices, good beer and a nice atmosphere. Be warned, it gets very busy during peak holiday periods.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We often stay with friends in Kilkhampton and sometimes hire a cottage for a week in the summer and we always make sure we go to the New Inn for drinks and a meal or two. It's such a lovely atmosphere with really friendly staff - a proper local pub. The food is really good too and they serve freshly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is my 6th 1 night stay at the New Inn and having travelled all over the UK, Europe and the Far East on business for over 35 years I feel compelled to write a first trip advisor review for this gem of a pub. Over the years I have been fortunate to stay in a wide variety of accommodation... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having enjoyed a great meal at the New Inn 2 years ago we decided to spend a couple of nights there on our way back from Cornwall. It was an excellent choice. Chris and Yvonne are great hosts and having been there for 30 years know how to run and provide what people want. The room was superb way above... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have just had the most amazing meal which was reasonably priced, cooked to perfection and very tasty. We haven't had a meal as good as this for a good few years. The service and ambience were also great and the staff were considerate and very friendly. The portions are certainly not scrimped on and the choice available is not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trowbridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We turned up here for a good friend's wake Thursday afternoon. The buffet that we were served was excellent, there was about 70 of us all eating and drinking. The staff looked after us very well. When we went to our room I was very impressed. The bed was big and comfortable and the shower was out of this world.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wednesbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our 2nd holiday at this wonderful pub.Chris,Yvonne ,Mark and all the staff made our stay most enjoyable.Even during extremely busy periods there were no excessive waits for food and when it arrived the food was as usual of the highest standard.From the E-mail received before arrival through to our departure we couldn't have received better service anywhere.The condition of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We ate at the pub on the last night of our weeks holiday. I tried to book a table at the beginning of the week but it was already fully booked and was told to just turn up, the earlier the better. We did just that and arrived at 5pm, played a few games of pool and had a drink.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christopher P, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as you can see from the previous status not everyone like yourselves realise that pub kitchens do get very busy and it is only possible to cook so many meals at a time. All our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order and we are so pleased that The New Inn met all of... More

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I suspect this was the very worst pub we have ever been in. I would like to say something about the food, but we had none! We had booked a table for 8 pm. We arrived and were unable to get into the car park. Given the number of people in the pub v the number of cars, it appeared... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Christopher P, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

We were horrified to read your negative review, to post a review of this nature all the facts should be published. Firstly a table was reserved for you the previous evening and you did not show up or ring to apologise, we have been told that you went to The Westcountry Inn and argued with the Landlady that you had... More

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: Kilkhampton EX23 9QN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Kilkhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15th century village inn offers modern en-suite accommodation and quality food in a traditional pub atmosphere ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The New Inn Kilkhampton, Cornwall, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?