We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Talbot House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
18 - 20 Bridgford Rd | Nottingham, West Bridgford, Nottingham NG2 6AB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Bridgford
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Talbot House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    104
    37
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
29
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been staying at Talbot House for many year's now for the cricket, fantastic location and great hospitality. If you want anything ask Andy the owner and you couldn't be in better hands! I am a Hilton/Marriott Gold member, and obviously this is not comparable, it is a B&B and the price difference tells you that, but I still... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TalbotHouseHotel, Manager at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

Always good to see you guys when the Test Match cricket is on across the road. Thanks for the review, we were really flattered by your kind comments. Andy and Ali More 

Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great place to stay if you're in the area for a sporting event - wonderful service, clean and comfortable rooms, generous breakfasts. We really couldn't have asked for anything more (execpt maybe for a better cricket match), and we'll definitely be back for the next Ashes test at Trent Bridge!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TalbotHouseHotel, Manager at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

It was really good to meet you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to meeting you next time! More 

birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

Good location though hotel looks a little dated. Arrived to find my booking of a twin which had been changed via email had reverted to a single but this was changed without fuss efficiently. Room was next to a busy street but the windiws did a decent job of blocking most of the street noise. Room was clean though with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TalbotHouseHotel, Manager at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are pleased that you appreciated the breakfast put out for a 4.30am start for the athletes staying with us. The full English breakfast charge was applied when we became VAT registered with a 20% charge on all income paid in tax. We decided not to put up our prices but to absorb the difference by... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

What can I say, terrible place to stay... It was loud, dirty and poor value for money. Stains on the sheet made me gag before bed. The TV was ok. The whole room was very dated and the carpets smelt of wet dog. £70 per night was a joke if it was £20 I would be happy but certainly not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TalbotHouseHotel, Manager at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

Well it looks as if you have spilled your tea on the duvet cover. Indeed all of our linen and towels come freshly laundered from a local supplier as in our "green policy". Sheets and covers are changed immediately on checkout when rooms are cleaned and serviced and double checked when the rooms are ready. If in the event that... More 

Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

I have stayed here on numerous occasions to visit my student son, it's the perfect family run b & b at a very reasonable price. I've travelled on my own and Andy & all the staff make me feel very comfortable. I've had a variety of rooms all of which are spotlessly clean and warm. Great location and easy to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TalbotHouseHotel, Manager at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, we are always pleased to host you when you are visiting Nottingham. We look forward to meeting you again when you next visit. More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Comfortable rooms ,most helpful proprietor and staff,Adequate continental breakfast,well managed parking and ideally located for West Bridgford centre,access to City centre of Nottingham and located near Cricket and football grounds and not far from Water Sports centre

Was this review helpful? Yes
TalbotHouseHotel, Manager at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. Hope to see you again next time you come over to Nottingham More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

I have been a guest at this Hotel for the last 3 years due to me being a huge sports fan of Nottingham Forest and the Cricket the location is superb. Andy, Ali and recently appointed manager Daiva always go the extra mile to make sure your stay is a pleasant one the rooms are very clean with tea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TalbotHouseHotel, Manager at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review and we are always happy to see you when you visit. Only sorry that the Ashes Test Match finished before your arrival and that you did not get the Sunday you were looking forward to! More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

This intimate hotel is one I heartily recommend to anyone visiting Nottingham for whatever purpose. The breakfasts are excellent & the staff friendly. There is a flexible can-do attitude that isn't always the case at larger venues. Visit it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TalbotHouseHotel, Owner at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

We are really please that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us. Our Manager does her best to ensure everybody is comfortable and has an enjoyable stay. Welcome back any time! More 

Rugby
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We foolishly chose this hotel because of Tripadvisor reviews although it's fabulous location was a factor. It's not a nice hotel, it isn't the best in Nottingham. The first room we were given didn't even have a locking door. The second room was powered by extension leads stuck to the wall. The breakfast was served in a dated bar and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TalbotHouseHotel, Manager at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you appeared not to enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms do all have locks but some require locking from the inside prior to leaving. One of our staff would have showed you this had you asked. Regarding the four way adapters in some rooms, these were provided in response to the increasing number of electronic items... More 

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

A pleasant homely unpretentious hotel, inexpensive, and with very friendly and helpful proprietor. Clean comfortable bed, good shower, and the full-English breakfast, for which you pay a very reasonable extra £5, was excellent.There's free parking, and frequent buses into Nottingham centre leave from right outside the door. Only gripe was that the double-glazing in my room still let in traffic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TalbotHouseHotel, Manager at Talbot House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for posting a review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Bridgford
0.6 mi away
Beeches Hotel & Leisure Club
Beeches Hotel & Leisure Club
#1 of 4 in West Bridgford
4.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Nottingham
Jurys Inn Nottingham
#24 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham Arena - London Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Nottingham South
Premier Inn Nottingham South
#8 of 56 in Nottingham
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#19 of 56 in Nottingham
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
3.0 mi away
De Vere Venues East Midlands Conference Centre & Orchard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities