We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boathouse

Certificate of Excellence
Auchinstarry Marina, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Boathouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 2 Kilsyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
JardinesFan Falkirk, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    55
    18
    19
    8
See reviews for
49
74
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Called on the off chance of a table and we were lucky. Busy Sunday. Restaurant is large and airy - unfortunately raining so couldn't really appreciate the surroundings? Staff were friendly and welcoming. We only had mains which were very filling. We will certainly return on a sunnier day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I love this restaurant. I have been multiple times for birthdays, drinks and double dates. The menu is lovely and frequently changes to keep you on your toes! The décor is beautiful and feels really light and summery in the warmer mouths whilst also feeling warm and cosy in winter. Staff are attentive, polite and helpful. I will definitely be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Falkirk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked a table for four, ladies get together yesterday afternoon. Cocktails to start, smashing starters, mains and deserts. Cocktails to finish. Reasonably priced. Varied menu. Couldn't fault the food, service was excellent - wish I had got the name of our waitress and would have given her a mention - very helpful and informative. Only let down was the weather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When my brother decided to get married in a nearby castle we decided to book out all of the rooms in hotel so that our side of the family could all stay here together around the time of the wedding. Josie and her team made this an effortless process and I can not thank them enough for all their hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Katie B, Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed such a special occasion with us and we were also happy to accommodate your family at our venue. From your review we see that you stay quite a distance away but we hope if you are ever back in the... More 

Errol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We visited here with family when we were attending a service at the nearby cemetery. Not ideal headspace for enjoying a lunch but emotions and hunger were high so we chose the nearby Boathouse for letting off steam and filling up on a much-needed indulgent lunch. It was incredibly busy for a Tuesday lunchtime and another large funeral booking was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear superali99, Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Boathouse. It appears from your critique that you enjoyed almost all elements of your visit and we would like to thank you again for your review. We hope to see you and you party again in the near future and hopefully under happier circumstances. Kind Regards The Boathouse Team More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Without doubt the Scottish breakfast is tremendous and the setting is lovely but a little more attention to customer service is needed. Not best practice to say we would have a bit of a wait when we pre-booked a table. Table was pointed out to us and we were left to make our way to it. The waitress herself, who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Robert F, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Boathouse. Please allow me to say how disappointed I was to learn that you did not enjoy all elements of your visit. If you would like to discuss this matter in full, please do not hesitate to contact me on 01236 829200 Kind Regards... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was keen to try this restaurant after hearing a few friends speaking about it and I was pleased I did. Very large choice on the menu & the presentation was phenomenal. The service was very particular, right down to our waiter introducing himself personally which was a great touch. Would recommend and re visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Megan S, Thank you for such a glowing review of our establishment. A positive review, such as your own, is such a wonderful morale boost for all team members and we are all extremely happy that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you for another visit in the future. Kind Regards The Boathouse Team More 

Longcroft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited for my wife's birthday with her family, friendly welcome shown over to our table promptly and given menus. Waitress came over and introduced herself and got a drinks order. Menu has a good selection and even the fussy grandmother-in-law got something she liked! Service was great and very efficient. The food was lovely and no complaints from anyone and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear northfacephotographer, Thank you for your recent review of The Boathouse. It is clear from your feedback that you enjoyed your visit and we are all overjoyed that you chose to use our establishment for such a special occasion. We look forward to you returning in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, The Boathouse Team More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked into the Boathouse for a night as my sister was having her birthday dinner here and i was travelling from Inverness, The room i had was lovely it was big which is nice as so many places have no extra space, the bathroom was spotless (something i always check in hotels) ample towels complimentary toiletries, only minus point... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear maclady52, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Boat House. It is clear from your review that you enjoyed all elements of your visit. A positive review, such as yours, is a real morale boost for all team members and motivates our team hugely. We hope to see you again in the near... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nobody from The Boathouse replied to this comment which I did send to The Boathouse. I hope it helps someone else. Drove from Glasgow. Arrived early for 7pm booking. Had guests.Table number 5 for five Table sticky.Cutlery not clean. One fixed price menu between five of us.Had to pass it around the table.This is the menu we picked from. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear cristinak669, Thank you for your critique of our business. Please allow me to apologise that your experience did not meet expectations with regard to your surroundings and the service and food you received during your recent visit. I would like to reassure you that this experience was by no means a typical one and I will be investigating all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilsyth
0.9 mi away
The Coachman Hotel & Restaurant
2.7 mi away
The Westerwood Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
4.1 mi away
Castlecary House Hotel
Castlecary House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cumbernauld
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow - Cumbernauld
21.8 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
5.7 mi away
Glazert Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay