We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boathouse

Certificate of Excellence
Auchinstarry Marina, Kilsyth G65 9SG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Boathouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 2 Kilsyth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Corryfam Airdrie, United Kingdom
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    45
    15
    19
    8
See reviews for
42
66
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (165)
  • Mar-May only
    (55)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visited on Saturday with my husband and our 11 year old daughter. This was our first visit. Phoned and booked in advance as we were using our TESCO vouchers. Had booked for 12 noon and arrived at 10 to 12. Front of house staff not that cheery! As we were being allocated a table we asked to change to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Corryfam, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Boathouse. We were slightly disappointed to hear that you did not have the best start to your visit but over joyed that Ann saved the day! We will congratulate Ann on her customer care and thank you very much for bringing this to our attention.... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an excellent place to stay if you are doing long distance walk of the Forth and Clyde/Union Canal or John Muir Way, nice setting on the canal banks. The rooms are decent size, clean and we were fortunate enough to have room with view over small marina. We decided to have evening meal for two for £14.99, fairly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Robbo456, Thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Boathouse. We are all extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the views were just the "icing on the cake" We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay or for a dining experience in you are in the area. Kind Regards,... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Boathouse for the 3rd time, for a family birthday celebration. In an area lacking in nice places to eat, the Boathouse is a breath of fresh air. The canal side/marina location is very pretty and the restaurant is bright, airy, contemporary, and spacious. Our party of 5 included 2 teenagers, 2 middle-aged parents, and a granny, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear DJM1965, Thank you so much for your kind review of our establishment. We are extremely happy that you chose us for your special celebration. It is clear from your critique that you, and your party, enjoyed a typical Boathouse experience. I will pass your comments on to Craig (your server) and the whole kitchen brigade. A positive review, such... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited the boathouse with two friends not long ago - it one of the hottest days of the year. We sat outside in the glorious sunshine, however our table wasn't cleared with the previous customers plates and glasses, and had to get my own menus. I was then overcharged when paying at the bar for the meal, and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear Laurenmacs, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Boathouse. Customer feedback - positive or negative - is vital to the continued success of our business and is used as a continual staff training tool. If you could possibly contact me on 01236 829200 to discuss the events of your visit, it would be... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been here a few times and always been satisfied with the food. Decided to give the tapas a try this time but really wasn't impressed at all. In general the portions were very small, the calamari was chewy the king prawns were the smallest I've even had. We also ordered chorizo and black pudding but again wasn't impressed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear deedee000, Thank you for your recent review of The Boathouse. I was extremely disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy our tapas offering on the day of your visit. Our tapas dished have proven to be an extremely popular choice on our menu and I an sorry that they were not to your liking. As you have said... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and i spent a fri /sat here for a short break. Simply superb. The rooms are very good , clean spacious with all you could need. The resteraunt is a hidden gem we had dinner and breakfast that could hold their own with any top places ive stayed before. The staffare helpfull and couteous and the chef is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greg M, Manager at The Boathouse, responded to this review

Dear MIjz1234, What can I say? Thank you so much for your recent excellent review of our establishment. A positive review, such as your own, makes a lot of people very happy and we are all overjoyed that you enjoyed your recent 2 day visit. I will pass on your positive comments to our team in both the restaurant and... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Worst scrambled egg I have ever had served up to me. More ommlette than scrambled. Returned it and chose to have toast, with jam and butter instead as by the time a replacement came the rest of my party would have been finished. I wouldn't have minded too much, but they tried to charge me for food I didn't eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Broxburn, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Had read about this restaurant in a newspaper review and decided to give it a try. It was very busy with many family parties going on. Great place for families to dine. Good and varied menu choice. We had steaks and my daughter had something from the kids menu. Food was promptly and efficiently served. Food was amazing. Give it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Great location, great reputation, most of food very good but the fish and chips,ive had better from captain birds eye.staff for the afternoon were wandering around lost and clueless.don't know what rooms are like, but for what we paid for food,i would expect it also to be expensive.too big a menu, cut it down and then the quality should improve,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We have visited The Boathouse on a number of occasions and it is one of our favourite restaurants to visit as a family. The location is great with beautiful views of the marina, the staff are very friendly and welcoming, the food is delicious and it certainly provides value for money. I cannot fault The Boathouse in any way, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay