We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waikava Harbour View

Certificate of Excellence
14 Larne Street, Waikawa, New Zealand
Waikava Harbour View
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I want to be able to give more stars but it is completely unacceptable that it took us an hour and a half and driving to another town to gain access to our room. As others have noted, there is no cell service in the area and there is no person on site for the separate units. The owners live... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waikava, Owner at Waikava Harbour View, responded to this review

To clarify some misunderstandings, the owner lives just 2km away but at the time of this booking was out of the country and behind NZ time by 2 hours. Due to the unavailability of internet data outside of the hotel where I was staying (not known until I arrived in the country) I did not receive notice of the booking... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were trying to find a stay for the night and had checked the camp ground in Curio bay and the DOC campsite in Waikava when we walked in to the information center at the Waikava museum. The lady at the counter suggested that we had a look at the Toi toi cottage. We were so lucky. The cottage had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gent/belgium
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This is what you dream about when you live in a big city! We got a stutio (Toi Tois) with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom (fantastic bed) and en-suite bathroom. All very new and very tidy and cosy. From our terrace we had the most fantastic view of Waikava Harbour and its wild environment. The quietness, the remoteness and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waikava, Owner at Waikava Harbour View, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Waikava Harbour View Toi Tois cottage. The autumn and winter months showcase the beauty of the Waikawa harbour on still calm days and the air is crisp and clear - a photographers paradise! More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 via mobile

After finding the accommodation we had booked elsewhere in Waikawa was not available we were very pleased to find ourselves in the gorgeous Toitoi cottage. Beautiful location over the water. The cottage is well appointed and roomy. The was plenty of room for luggage in the bedroom. The living, dining and kitchen area was also very roomy. We arrived in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

We were a group of seven adults staying in the 4 bedroom house. Absolutely gorgeous location, right on the water. If you are from overseas (or even from urban NZ), you need to understand that what makes the Catlins beautiful is that it is remote and wild and so services are very limited. This, for us, is part of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We stayed in the two separate units, Harakeke and Toi toi with friends for two nights. Very handy location and only a very short drive to many Catlins "must sees"! Absolutely immaculate units with well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and plenty of room. The deck is wonderful and the view over the estuary, with the waving grasses, amazing. Peaceful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Whilst the unit was very clean and tidy, and able to cater for the disabled, the advertised high speed wifi only worked for a couple of hours in 3 days in all the properties. As this was the main reason for booking Harakeke, so we could skype our family, and with no cell coverage to let them know. The owner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waikava, Owner at Waikava Harbour View, responded to this review

Due to the remote location of Waikawa in the South Catlins cell phone coverage is limited and internet is only possible via satellite. Waikava Harbour View offers a limited amount of WIFI internet, renewed daily, FREE to enable our guests to stay in touch. Unfortunately satellite is not 100% reliable but the staff at Waikava Harbour View endeavour to rectify... More 

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We only stayed for one night here but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is absolutely huge and the view from the verandah are spectacular. It was very well equipped and clean. If I were more self sufficient I would have liked to have stayed longer but as there are very few places to eat I personally would struggle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We had a week staying at Waikava View in the Lodge & thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The view from the deck to the harbour is glorious. The Lodge is spacious, with enough room for two small families to share (& two bathrooms), well equipped kitchen, large living space & comfortable bedding. The house was immaculately presented. Make sure you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Lovely clean and cosy unit! Comfy bed, and nice little deck to relax on - wish we could have stayed longer!! Take cash, as there is a dinky place to get fish and chips within walking distance of the unit. The local information centre has lovely helpful staff who are only too happy to advise on what to see. About... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities