We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fat Pigeon

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Old Road, Brympton BA22 8TD, England (Formerly Brympton House)
The Fat Pigeon
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Brympton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015
Snoozling
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

There is no doubt that the location is perfect. However we booked an en-suite twin room - it was not en-suite, the shower room was across the main corridor that everyone uses to go to the breakfast room !! The room was clean and tidy. Soap was provided in the shower room but a miniature shower gel/shampoo would have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary H, Manager at The Fat Pigeon, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for this feedback We are sorry that we did not have any ensuite twin rooms left by the time that you arrived We do make it clear though that one of our twin rooms is not ensuite in the booking terms So thank you for this feedback - we will strive to make it... More 

Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The building is architecturally impressive but unfortunately the stay at this B&B was not so, at no time during our stay did we feel very welcome. The bed was comfortable but just a few changes could really make a difference. Our bath, a roll top, had a leg lying on the floor it was balanced on 3 legs, my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

The Fat Pigeon was a wonderful surprise. Booked on short notice to break a journey, finding this beautiful historic venue was a real treat. Quiet, comfortable an welcoming and delicious scrambled eggs from the on-site chickens. Highly recommended, will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

A few times a year my father and I will travel west and will always stay here. It is a wonderful building filled with so much character and history and you're always assured a delicious breakfast served by the lovely Lady Mary. My last trip was very special as I woke up with views of the stunning gardens on my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I don't recognise the description of this place from the other reviews. I feel quite traumatised by the night I just spent there - it's probably one of the worst B&Bs I've ever stayed in. We paid £117 in advance, which was lucky for the Fat Pigeon because otherwise I wouldn't have paid half that. Let me say the positive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Mary H, Manager at The Fat Pigeon, responded to this review

Dear Bizarre Staying in a Grade 1 listed house with all its quirks is not for everyone - and you might have been better at the Premier Inn as you suggest Obviously we have no control over events next door although the bride and groom who booked and paid for your room and were very happy with it knew there... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

We were booked into the Fat Pidgeon by a friend as part of her wedding event at Brympton d'Evercy, as it adjoins the wedding venue, which is the only reason we stayed the two nights of our booking. Frankly we were considering decamping to the Premier Inn down the road on night one. I live in a very old cottage,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Mary H, Manager at The Fat Pigeon, responded to this review

Dear Bizarre We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay Staying in a Grade 1 listed house that has been described as the most beautiful house in England is not for every one though; some people simply fill more at home in a travel lodge As your room was booked and paid for by the bridal party (who... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This place just oozes character from oak beams and boarded floors to the large inglenook fireplace in the breakfast room. As soon as you walk in the door the smell of hundreds of years of history hit you. On the down side the plumbing can be temperamental and there is renovation building work going on around the place but well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Herstmonceux, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Just one night at The Fat Pigeon was a delight. From the superb setting to Lady Mary's hospitality. Persuade her to give you a guided tour and don't forget your camera. And try her scrambled eggs from her own chickens! I'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

As usual, my wife Jill made all the booking arrangements although somewhat uncharacteristically she seemed excited by the prospect of staying in what I thought would be just another rural B&B. What a surprise I was in for. 'The Fat Pigeon' is most certainly not your everyday run of the mill B&B. To start with, the building itself is located... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

I went down to Yeovil area to meet up with old friends and normally stay at a travel lodge,but we decided to give the fat pidgeon a try out of curiosity as it seemed to good to be true at such a bargain price . I was totally wrong both the house and its situation were absolutely breathtaking and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay