We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glen Helen Homestead Lodge

Hotel deals
Hotel website
Namatjira Drive | West MacDonnell Ranges, via, West MacDonnell National Park, Northern Territory 0871, Australia (Formerly Glen Helen Resort)
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Glen Helen Homestead Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

325 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    43
    143
    75
    37
    27
See reviews for
92
145
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (325)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in a motel room which was very average. For $175 a night the room was very small which I knew from the photos and was acceptable but the bathroom was terrible. It smelt, possibly from the water, the fittings were so old and made the shower difficult and the shower curtain doesn't even cover the length of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After reading TripAdvisor Reviews we knew what to expect. Our Motel Room was small the bathroom was not the best we have been in. It was clean. The best way to describe the place is its very rustic. The plusses are the food in the dinning room is excellent and to sit outside and look at the scenery makes up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakes Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked in April ahead of our trip and at the time of booking we enquired about the restaurant facilities, we were told they had an excellent restaurant at this property. When we arrived on Monday 17th August the male at reception had no idea we were even booked in until he checked the computer, he took our payment and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we have visited Glen Helen three times before as the setting is beautiful and it is close to many other attractions. We were so disappointed to see how run down the caravan park has become. The amenities were dirty, smelly and totally inadequate for the number of people staying there. I understand that the bore water stains everything but that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winston Hills
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Glen Helen for almost four weeks. It is a very beautiful part of the McDonnell Ranges and very close to a number of other attractions in that area. Unfortunately we had some car problems, but, the staff and management were so helpful and courteous. They helped us in every way they could and we appreciated all that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The charge price for a cabin of $200.00 per night for an average cabin is outrageous and the people I spoke to on the phone were quite rude and had a could not care attitude, also the beer was not cold, we were told that somebody did not alternate the beer

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great backdrop with gorge situated behind the resort ,was very busy when there but reception was able to find a caravan site for us ,which gave us our own toilet facilities almost.easy access to other places of interest as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
outback_oasis, Assistant to General Manager Shelagh O'Brien at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Teresa S, Thank you for sharing your recent experience of Glen Helen Homestead Lodge. I am glad to hear that we were able to accommodate you so well at such a busy time and that you had the chance to admire the view over the gorge. I hope to see you out this way again soon. Happy travels Stacey... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If the owners of the resort put as much effort into the rooms as they have obviously done with the food, several well deserved awards, this would be a great place to stay. Unfortunatly the motel rooms are in what I would describe as 'original condition' painted cement block walls, plastic shower curtains with mould growing, blankets with holes in,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
outback_oasis, Assistant to General Manager Shelagh O'Brien at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Dear davidsyd1, Thank you for sharing your experience of Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, your feedback ensures that we can continually improve the quality of our services. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the accommodation. We freely acknowledge that what we offer is simple and relatively old however we do focus on ensuring the highest level of... More 

Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, I'm not Australian. So "outback" had a somewhat mysterious meaning for me before going to Australia. I'm still not sure about the real thing but I found my dream outback at Glen Helen Homestead! Simple room overlooking the river and the red cliffs. The landscape at sunset is breathtaking. Nice restaurant, great food and even a guitar show that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
outback_oasis, Assistant to General Manager Shelagh O'Brien at Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Fhinn. Thank you for sharing your experience of Glen Helen Homestead Lodge, it is always a pleasure to hear from our guests. It’s true that there are far more ‘outback’ locations than Glen Helen but as you describe it is still a fitting word for us. To me it’s the quiet and the slow and the magical scenery in... More 

Malanda, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place is a bit of a lodge, a bit of a caravan park, a bit of a campground, some private tour company permanent camps, day trippers pulling in to see the gorge, a helicopter pad, and goodness knows what else all thrown together in an apparent random fashion. It does not work. The new owners appear a bit defensive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Near Glen Helen Homestead Lodge

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay