We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel Cley

The High St, Cley Next the Sea NR25 7RN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The George Hotel Cley
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

269 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    93
    106
    34
    24
    12
See reviews for
35
164
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (269)
  • Mar-May only
    (70)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a great meal here whilst staying in Cley. There's a good range of food on the menu and also daily specials. The restaurant was busy however the food arrived promptly . The staff are polite and friendly. Will definitely return on our next visit to Cley

Was this review helpful? Yes
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Hi So pleased you enjoyed your food and the service and thanks for being so kind and take time out of your busy day to write such a positive review. We look forward to serving you again soon. Kind Regards Stephen More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This a nice enough place, in fact it’s the only pub in this lovely village. The bar has a good choice of local beers, an OK menu with a good choice of puddings and wines. It’s a lot more restaurant than pub, it’s nice inside and we liked it very much. We experienced a massive spread of friendliness from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We made a last minute booking so we could meet up with family staying near by. The receptionist was very helpful and confirmed our booking. We met our family at the George and had lunch, service and food first class. We also stayed and had an evening meal, again superb. We found it very pleasant to be able to bring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself, my husband and our two children stopped in Cley as we had spotted The George whilst travelling through the day before. We were made to feel really comfortable as a family and the staff were absolutely lovely. The food was great. The children loved their chunky chips and remarked after how nice the lady was who had served us.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Rebecca Thanks so much for coming to stay with us and writing such a positive review. Glad that the staff made you feel welcome and that you were looked after. Also pleased that your husband enjoyed himself sampling the various ales. Please come back and see us soon and once again many thanks for the thumbs up. Kind Regards Stephen More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very enjoyable stay . Nancy is a star . I think without her the stay may have been not as good . Good Luck Nancy with your travel and uni . The breakfast is very good value for money. The dinner was fine

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, Where do I start. AVOID THIS unless it is the last open pub in Norfolk. Rude male staff poor and extremely slow service to the point of them ignoring you. Other family members in there already unhappy but already commited to drinks. We left after 20mins no drinks, no service just an ignorant male who needs some serious training... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Hi As you know you only have 2 reviews to your name and both are about your visit to the George where by your own admission you ate nothing and indeed you had no drinks so how you can review the food and the drinks is a little beyond me. That said if as you intimate you were with other... More 

France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the George for our evening meal. The welcome was fine but we had to go to the bar for our drinks and were ignored for some time before we attracted the attention of the barman who was behind the bar and not busy! The menu is limited but even so we were told there were no burgers along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your comments. I have no idea why you were ignored, as our custom is to take the drinks order when you order so apologies if it went wrong this time, I will look into it. The burgers are made from minced steak and are made fresh every day and usually we judge it right but obviously on... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We popped in just to have a quick look as online reviews where not great but were surprised to find a beautiful, light filled and welcoming bar and restaurant filled with local art. People, you are missing a treat if you bypass here. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the food was a real delight. Excellently cooked and artfully... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Hi Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a positive review and glad that you ignored the odd bad review on TA – this is mainly competitors writing false reviews and although I have complained to TA they have done nothing about it which is a shame as if it continues TA will lose its value. Anyway... More 

Great Dunmow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel charges London prices £125 per night for very average rooms. Three of us stayed last week to play golf. This price does not include hot breakfast. Rooms 6&7 had no milk cartons but when you move a cup there is a message underneath saying fresh milk available at the bar before you go to bed. Worst of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your review. Firstly I very much doubt you would get a five star hotel in London for £ 125, I doubt you would get much below £ 300 and most would be upwards of £ 500. As regards our pricing it depends on the season and the room type taken but it starts at £ 80 and... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had lunch which was lovely but a bit annoyed at the service charge that was added @12.5% , which is on the menu but small and at the bottom, we had to query our bill, this is when we found out service had been charged,you have to order at the bar get your own cutlery and condiments, the only service... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cley Next the Sea
3.4 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wells-next-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
1.0 mi away
The White Horse
The White Horse
#2 of 3 in Blakeney
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
17.6 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay