We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel Cley

The High St, Cley Next the Sea NR25 7RN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel Cley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
The George Hotel Cley
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    99
    27
    19
    8
See reviews for
27
150
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (238)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for one night at this hotel as we were visiting the area for birdwatching. It is is located right opposite Cley marshes and within walking distance of the visitor centre. On arrival we were greeted by a young man whose name we didnt get.He was very helpful, if a little disjointed as if he was new staff.He took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stopped here with a friend visiting from South Africa on a bimble around north Norfolk. We needed lunch and were a little worried the obvious refurbishments going on (painters on ladders etc) might mean the service was slow. Not to worry though, good service from attentive barman, the interior refurb looked largely finished (clearly going for the modern look, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I dined at the George in May 2015. The two starts were fine, and my partners main was OK too. However, I had fish and chips, and it was really poor - fish overcooked and very bitter, with the taste of burnt oil; the mushy peas were solid and dry, and the chips were underdone. I left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a couple of days last minute. The chap who runs the breakfast and reception is very polite and helpful. Another employee called 'Paddy' is the total Opposit. It is like it is a big chore for him to help you. We had no hot water and we were just told to wait an hour by him, this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very fortunate that this excellent pub was on our walking holiday. The staff were excellent and made us very welcome. The food was brilliant and in my opinion worth every penny. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped off here twice during a week long break in the area and our meals on both occasions were delicious! Staff were friendly and attentive. Would definitely recommend eating here and we will be back at some point in the future :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The barman (owner?) could not have been more difficult and rude; you would though he'd appreciate our custom because the place was quite empty. We had average fish fingers and sea-bass, and ended up throwing up with food poisoning! Not the best way to spend your Saturday night on a weekend trip. We were 2 boys, so maybe it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

My first response was rejected so I am going to keep this short and sweet. Your comments are not true and the facts are made up, clearly Tripadvisor needs to stop competitors behaving in this manner otherwise it will cease to be useful. We have never had a single incidence of food poisoning in my time here, we did not... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Having driven past the George earlier in the week I was intrigued by the Teapots being used in the beer garden. I decided to return based wholly on the teapots. I was not Dissapointed. This Hotel/resturant/bar is a little Gem. The decor is lovely, very in keeping with the style of the resturant and the staff super friendly and efficient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Thank you so much for coming to the George and taking the time to write about your experience. I am glad that you like the teapots they are handmade in Suffolk and they supply teapots to many companies including Harrods! Glad that you enjoyed your food we have new chefs, who produce specials that change daily (using whatever is seasonal),... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We visited the George on a couple of occasions over our wedding weekend at the nearby Cley Windmill. There is a good selection of hand pulled quality real ales on the bar and those members of our party who dined there spoke highly of the food. We'll certainly be calling again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ely
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

The George is excellently located for enjoying North Norfolk. Good food and pleasant, comfortable surroundings make the George a great weekend getaway.Parking IS an issue but local parking facilities are available and the very approachable staff will point you in the right direction.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay