We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Cley Next the Sea B&Bs / inns

The George Hotel Cley

The High St, Cley Next the Sea NR25 7RN, England
Hotel amenities
The George Hotel Cley
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cley Next the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    72
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
18
115
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
romford
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The ideal pub for a snack and a drop of locally brewed beer. Been dropping in here for more years than we remember, although we are only in Norfolk twice a year. New owners and refurb have brightened up the bars coupled with young pleasant staff and the crab sandwich was very tasteful. Keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here for many years but I doubt we will be staying again. The George has always been welcoming with good food and drinks and good value for money. Sadly this is no longer the case since the change in ownership. The staff - apart from Polly - fail to engage with the customers. The price has rocketed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry that you felt that we did not live up to your experience of previous visits. I can assure you that we are not sacrificing any aspect of quality in order to generate larger profits nothing could be further from the truth. Many of our competitors raised their prices this winter and... More

Reading
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights 7&8/2/14, refurbishment of the Dining areas had over run but apologies were made. Bedroom was lovely, overlooking marshes. Staff were very friendly. The food was good (Especially the Chowder and the breakfast). We will definitely go back later in the year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Firstly thanks for your understanding with regards to the refurbishment of the restaurant, it was a mammoth job as we tackled the electrics and replastered everything. Glad that you enjoyed your food we have invested heavily in the back and front end and ensuring that our ingredients are fresh and local so am pleased that you enjoyed the result. Looking... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very welcoming & hospitable! Accommodated four adults, five children & one cockapoo for lunch (without pre booking) after a long muddy walk across the marshland from Blakeney. We left our muddy wellies outside the front door & enjoyed a delicious lunch. A warm friendly pub/restaurant in the beautiful village of Cley next the sea.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

I was so pleased that you enjoyed your lunch, next time leave your wellies on , we have revamped the wooden floors so cleaning is dead easy! Looking forward to serving you on your next visit. Kind Regards stephen More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This review is for the restaurant, we booked to have dinner here one evening in August while walking the coastal path. The table had been booked over 1 month in advance, when we turned up in the evening, we were taken through to the restaurant by a member of staff to be seated, then another member had a tantrum in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments which I have taken on board, your visit was not on our watch as we only took over in October and I can assure you that any bookings made guarantee a reservation in the restaurant. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit. Kind Regards stephen More

Rayleigh, Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just got back from this wonderful hotel in a lovely quiet part of Norfolk and can't recommend it enough. Great staff lovely room and wonderful food. Recommend the smoked haddock chowder it's out of this world. Full English is very tasty and nicely cooked as is all the food .Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

HI I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The George and that you loved your food. We are launching a new menu on the second week in February but you will be pleased to know that we are keeping our house specials which includes the Chowder. The new dishes are really wonderful including tempura king prawns and... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My husband and I spent a couple of days at The George between Christmas and New Year. The room was lovely, large and cosy and the fresh milk and Caramel Wafers were a nice touch. However the dinner experience was very disappointing. The fire had been allowed to burn out, it was roaring when we arrived at lunchtime, and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your comments. I was very disappointed to learn that you were cold in the restaurant and I just wish that you had brought it to our attention at the time. As you may know Cley is in a conservation area so there are limitations to what we can do to the property although nearly all the... More

Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This review is just for the bar and restaurant. The George remains welcoming and very cosy. Unfortunately, the food was below par on this visit. I had the soup of the day, which was leek and potato with crusty bread. Sadly the soup was far too salty. For my main I ordered a burger with fries, salad and onion rings.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Hi So many thanks for your comments. I do apologise for your tasteless burger please do bring this to our attention the next time as I would have replaced it instantly or found you an alternative. We really pride ourselves on our food and we are doing all that we can behind the scenes to create a great dining experience... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Roaring fire, great service and good atmosphere. Menu was not long but had sophisticated dishes on it with local ingredients.All followed by a great meal at a decent price. Would recommend if you have been walking along the coast and are in need of a refuge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Hi I was so pleased that you enjoyed your meal it makes all the difference to our team when they hear from satisfied diners like yourself. I do hope we will see you again soon in the George for another lunch after a long walk! Kind Regards Steve More

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at The George Hotel on the 31st of December 2013 and had a very positive and enjoyable experience. We were greeted on arrival by friendly staff who welcomed us and showed us to our room, room 1. The room was clean and well presented. We had a brilliant dinner in the restaurant that evening. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cleyhotelier, Owner at The George Hotel Cley, responded to this review

Hi We were delighted that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your New Years Eve with us, it was quite a night, with excellent live music and everyone joining in with the fun. I am also pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and I do hope that we will see you again before this year's new years eve! Kind Regards Steve More

Been to The George Hotel Cley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel Cley

Also Known As:
The George Hotel Cley Cley Next The Sea, Norfolk
Address: The High St, Cley Next the Sea NR25 7RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cley Next the Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cley Next the Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel Cley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The George Hotel Cley to your Saves list