We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel

Oyster Pond 97150, St Maarten-St Martin
Hotel amenities
Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Oyster Pond
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Lina J Montreal, Canada
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    88
    56
    24
    14
See reviews for
30
130
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel for a week and to be honest we arrived with some mixed feelings because of the opposite reviews. The property is located on a very secluded part of the island but still has a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance. It gives the impression to really be in the Caribbean unlike the big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Captain Oliver's is a perfectly located, but unfortunately neglected (to avoid the word "run down") place. Ground and room maintenance is solidly Carribean (including continuos visits from begging cats, some of them even cute and clean). Being situated on the French part of the island St. Maarten the official currency is Euro, but they charge your credit card in US-currency.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CaptainOliver2014, General Manager at Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reinhard B, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry for not being able to meet your expectations. I would like first of all to clarify that we did not receive any e-mail from you regarding the exchange rate and it is regrettable that the issue has not been brought to our... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Let me say that when I first booked the hotel, I was a bit nervous based on other reviews that the stay was not going to be pleasant, turns out I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is not this grand resort but if you are looking for a nice get away from the big attraction on the Dutch side, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Situated along the oyster pond harbor one can choose rooms with harbor view or with sea view. Very nice. Avoid garden view (only view on inside garden). Several rooms have problems with smell of the sewage line, but this can simple be avoided by putting a wet towel on the floor drain of the shower. Employees are friendly and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westminster, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for a week and lasted 3 days before booking another hotel. This hotel is off the beaten path and quite a ways from everything. You will need a car if you stay here. Upon arrival the girl that checked us in was very pleasant and helpful! When we opened the door to our room we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Thank you Trifon and rest of staff for making my stay much easier at Saint-Martin! I would have lost a lot of what this island has best to offer, without Trifon's advice and kidness, so he went out of his way a couple of times to provide very valuable help, and information that you can't find in the guide. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

I found this place online and was a tad apprehensive about staying on this side of St Maartin but Oyster Bay is a quiet little gem and I was extremely impressed with the hospitality and huge room on the water with a balcony overlooking the bay. They actually upgraded my reservation prior to my arrival without having to pay the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bonaire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

It was OK, but some disappointments. We had booked a few nights there, with a couple day break to go to wonderful Saba, then return to Capt. Olivers. Unfortunately, they are not doing anything to repair or maintain the premises, and failed to provide a store room, like almost every other hotel in the world so we could leave a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

The aggregate of the previous reviews would be pretty representative of our stay. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, our ocean view (we received a complimentary upgrade from a marina view) was gorgeous, there are some nice restaurants and grocery stores within walking distance (the hills are exhausting in the heat), but the rooms definitely need a good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

ChoseOliver's based upon reviews of Oyster Pond & we thought it would be interesting to stay on the French side of St. Maartin . . wish we hadn't! Whole area is run down. Hotel,grounds, restaurant & rooms, all in bad shape!. Our room was clean, yet smelled like sewage backup, sliding door, didn't . .Wi-Fi didn't work, bathrooms poorly lit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CaptainOliver2014, General Manager at Captain Oliver's Resort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madame, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Please note that the smell you are referring to in your review was due to the proximity of your room to the sea and the amount of seaweeds at the shore. This situation occurs very rarely and we always take immediate action against it and it is very unfortunate... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay