We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Glacier View hotels

Sheep Mountain Lodge

You added Sheep Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17701 West Glenn Hwy, Milepost 113.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674
Hotel amenities
Sheep Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glacier View
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glacier View
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
There are newer reviews for Sheep Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
San Francisco, California
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location was very nice and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The garden/trails were also nice. Unfortunately, the lodging did not meet expectations. The cabins did not seems as nice as they did online, though they were spacious. The fridge smelled so bad upon opening, that we could not use it and the smell lingered in the cabin... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheepmtl, Owner at Sheep Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

The classic cabins do have limited hot water supply. Our water is ice-cold mountain spring water that takes time to heat once the water heater is drained. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We offer our Premier cabins with on-demand hot water heaters that offer unlimited hot water. Thank you. More

Knox, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent one night here in June. The cabin was comfortable and clean, however, the shower has a very limited amount of hot water-you have to be quick or take a cold shower. During the summer months in Alaska it stays light and the cabin didn't have black out curtains. The restaurant was excellent

Was this review helpful? Yes
ashburn va
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family of four stayed in Cabin #1 for 2 nights in mid-July. I was surprised the cabins were so close to the road but there is not much traffic on the Glenn so noise was not a problem. It was spacious, had decent water temperature/pressure, and the large table area worked well for us. We ate several meals at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Charming, spacious cabins in a wonderful setting above the Matanuska Glacier fields. Definitely a hiker's paradise. Friendly staff, great services, and wonderful food in their restaurant at reasonable prices. Do miss a visit with the owner's sled dogs while you are there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Callahan, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

As others have said, this is a stunning location which the owners obviously take a lot of pride in maintaining beautifully. There is occasional road noise, but it's 50 yards away and didn't bother me. The 3% credit card surcharge was annoying- I'd rather get a 3% discount for cash even if starting prices were 3% higher. Dinner was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice cabins. Lots of space. Clean and comfortable. Frindly staff and good food. But: -There is a lot of noise from trucks and cars on the road during the night - They advertise with WFI – but it is extremely slow and can only be used in the restaurant building. - On our 19 days trip to Alaska this was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheepmtl, Owner at Sheep Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Our DSL internet service is slow here but it is better than none. There is nothing we can do about the capacity of service provided by the ISP, we have the highest speed plan possible. There is occasional noise from the nearby highway, usually not in the evening hours. We charge a 3% credit card service fee that is less... More

3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First impression was WOW...this place is soooo well kept and the scenery is breathtaking! Owners really take pride in their landscaping. Flowers planted everywhere! We found this place online with only 4 photos, so we didn't exactly know what to expect. We had two families, ages from 18 and up. Very active, love hiking and rustic camping. I would say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were only here overnight but this group of cabins is set off the Glenn H`way with superb views from your cabin. The cabins were perfectly adequate, no hint of the backpacker here. We had both dinner & breakfast here served by very pleasant staff. the actual food was fine. Again the the only snag was having to carry the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sperry, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here May 25, 2013. This is away from the noise of the city and gives you a feel for the real Alaska. The cabins immaculate, lots of comfort appeal. The view of the mountains outstanding. Food great and staff very friendly. When in Alaska would stay here again. The Smiths from Oklahoma

Was this review helpful? Yes
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Every cabin has a porch with a view of the surrounding mountains. It was absolutely breathtaking. The inside of our cabin was large and immaculate. There was no visible dirt anywhere, the bathroom was spotless, and the furniture was quaint. There's a sign by the shower telling you to wait an hour between showers if you want hot water for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheep Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheep Mountain Lodge

Address: 17701 West Glenn Hwy, Milepost 113.5 Glenn Hwy, Glacier View, AK 99674
Location: United States > Alaska > Glacier View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Sheep Mountain Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Sheep Mountain Hotel Glacier View
Sheep Mountain Lodge Alaska/Glacier View

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (58)
Bathroom (1)
Room/suite (17)
Hotel & grounds (8)
View from room (3)
Dining (2)
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (17)
Hotel & grounds (8)
Room/suite (3)
Bathroom (1)
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay