We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Hotel Reading West

Bath Road, Padworth RG7 5HT, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Reading West
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Comfort Hotel Reading West
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    22
    22
    27
See reviews for
11
18
9
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

I stayed 2 nights here. The staff friendly enough but the room I was in was tiny. Very dated decor and tired furnishings. charged £76/ night for a room that should have been about £50 Breakfast so average I didn't have one the second morning. I was staying for 2 nights and almost checked out the first night but didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carshalton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Before checking in we had read some reviews and we weren't sure what to expect but to say we were pleasantly surprised is an under-statement. We were greeted with a smile and Anton was very helpful and accommodating, taking care of our request to change rooms quickly & professionally. Both rooms were functional and clean with everything you would expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

A pleasant quite hotel in a convienant location. Nothing to write home about. But cheap and does not pretend to be anything it is not. Shower in 106 needs looking at and could do with tidying up. But then price is very fair and staff very pleasant

Was this review helpful? Yes
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review, we see ourselves as a value for money 'home from home' hotel and we are glad you agree! Our friendly team look forward to welcoming you back to the Comfort Hotel Reading West in the future! Kind Regards Amanda Blyth Sales Manager More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

What a little gem. Magda, the receptionist excelled all our expectations. So helpful. Rooms spotless beds/towels spotless. Could not fault. Our only reserve was the distance from Reading, where our family live.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review

Thank-you for your 5 star review, we pride ourselves on our customer service provided by our small dedicated team and we are delighted they excelled your expectations. We have passed your praise onto Magda and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Amanda Blyth Sales Manager More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

stayed here last night :-( I booked online specifically booking a room with a bath and ironing facilities in room. When I got there, there was no one at reception. After 5 mins a person appeared who explained that their wifi has been off for 2 weeks so no wifi in my room. Not a good start. Got to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write this review. We have a small dedicated team who work in various departments of the hotel. Unfortunately the evening you stayed with us our limited amount of rooms with bathrooms were already accommodated, and we provide ironing facilities upon request direct with the receptionist upon arrival. That said when we get things wrong... More 

manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

This hotel is not the best but offers a clean and reasonable overnight stay TOP TIP don't book breakfast it's over priced Sainsburys is up the road and their Cafe is better and cheaper. The staff are not able to offer advice to find the hotel if you arrive late they are not UK and cannot help with directions

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review, we believe our hotel is a good value home from home and we are glad you agree. Following feedback we now offer reduced breakfast prices if purchased in advance, we do hope you will visit us once again in the near future. More 

Matlock, Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Bit of a mixture this hotel. Single room was small but clean and adequate; however the carpet was threadbare in places, it took a long time to get hot water to the hand basin, there is no wifi in the rooms and there is no lift. The walls are quite thin... I was woken at 5am by an alarm somewhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review

Thank-you for your feedback, we apologise for the confusion with your meal service but hope to welcome you back in the future. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

I recently booked three rooms at this hotel for a family wedding and can honestly say that it was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! We arrived at the hotel to be greeted by an extremely rude receptionist who welcomed us with 'yes, what do you want!'. Her customer service skills were appauling and whilst checking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review

Once again we apologise for the unusual customer service you received during your stay with us. A settlement of your complaint has been agreed since your feedback via Tripadvisor, we do hope you stay with Choice Hotels again in the future. More 

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok if you're working away as a contractor, but not some where to stay with your wife. In desperate need of up dating, the beer was rough and so was the breakfast Very expensive for what it is

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review

Firstly, we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Negative comments are not always easy to accept however we would apologise for the fact that you did not enjoy your stay. It is a shame that you did not enjoy breakfast however we do get a number of good comments from guests and we really do want... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I stayed there recently and to be honest for £30 I wasn't expecting a lot. Sadly I didn't get a lot. The room was small, cramped and the carpets had stains on which I can only hope was from muddy feet and nothing else. The bar there was expensive £3.40 for a glass of coke. Could do with modernising but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SKCHotels, Manager at Comfort Hotel Reading West, responded to this review

Thank-you for taking the time to write this review, we are disappointed your stay with us was not to our usual standards. We would like to take this oppotunity to mention £3.40 is for a pint not just a standard glass and that we are aware the carpet is in need of repair, it will be replaced in the new... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question