We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dog & Gun Country Inn

Cooper Lane, Potto Dl6 3HQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Potto
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Dog & Gun Country Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

30 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    2
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Came here for a Freddie mercury tribute evening on Friday which was excellent! The food was really tasty, the service was great it was such a good night and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. We are really looking forward to the next tribute night!

Was this review helpful? Yes
cleveland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again an excellent themed night, food very nice, staff friendly and worked hard to keep things running smoothly. Freddy Mercury tribute singer very entertaining and even threw in Michael Jackson. All round a very good night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ate here last night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have eaten here many times before and been very happy, however this time we were disappointed. A long wait for our meal (although we were offered a round of drinks on the house to make up for this) and then an even longer wait for our side dishes -in fact... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Yorks
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

This pub used to be smart, tidy and a nice place to visit. The staff are lovely, and it were not for them, score would be 1 star. Food was edible, apart from chips which were burned. Outside is so scruffy and dirty it actually left me feeling a bit queasy knowing I had just eaten there. Just needs a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dog_and_Gun_Potto, Manager at The Dog & Gun Country Inn, responded to this review

Hi I am really sorry to hear you did not enjoy your visit to us, however i am really surprised at your comments as the latest comments we have had by word of mouth and on TripAdvisor is how nice the outside area is. We only have a small decking area and a small patch of grass which is looked... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Having just been to an engagement party, we came to the dog & gun - to the most beautiful surroundings, decor, bedrooms, comfiest and biggest beds. Best nights sleep in a long time, very high standards! With both of us working in hospitality, I would not hesitate to highly recommend this place, to anyone visiting the North East. One of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

Stayed overnight last weekend, not for any other reason than to relax and enjoy a quiet weekend with my husband. Couldnt fault anything from the initial welcome to the final goodbye. Standards throughout were first class: decor, cleanliness, food (lunch/dinner/breakfast), customer service. Well done, loved it :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guisborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

As a family we like to go out on Christmas eve for a nice meal and this is the start of our Christmas celebrations, upon a recommendation we booked a table for 4 here and researched on the website the menus ect, when I telephoned to book I specifically asked if the menu would be available on the night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

I'm not one to post things on here but due to the response received from the owners today I feel it I'd only right that I share my experience. We booked to spend Christmas Day at The Dog and Gun as previous experiences here have been brilliant. However, our most recent experience on Christmas Day did not live up to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Have to confess that we found this place completely by accident in the summer when we were looking for lunch. Very impressed at the time so decided to try the B n' B offer the next time we were in the area. Based upon the current tariff (Sept 2014), this is excellent value for money; The room we had was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed for two nights to visit friends in the area. We originally booked for one night but later rang to ask if we stayed a second night could we have the second night slightly cheaper, this was refused. However, the bathroom shower gel and shampoo used on the first night were not replaced for the second, nor were the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potto
4.4 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
7.5 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#4 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
5.1 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rudby Hall
Rudby Hall
#1 of 1 in Hutton Rudby
5.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities