We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dormy House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Cromer Road, West Runton NR27 9QA, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dormy House Hotel
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    8
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We went there last Sunday 26th October 2014 at around 2pm. Was told half hours wait but was a lot less than that. Was so much better than a Toby carvary. Fresher vegetables as it's a smaller place. Definitely recommend going there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

My wife and I visited for an evening meal, the food was GREAT! Hand made burgers that melt in the mouth and have lashings of my favourite...blue cheese. my Wife had the fish pie which was equally tasty! I couldn't speak for the rest of the menu, but rest assured I will be returning to try more. Very reasonably priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Being single and a company MD it is important to have a good hotel to stay in where you can feel relaxed and all your requirements are met. For the price this hotel certainly did this. The staff were good, my daughters birthday party we had there on the 25th August 2014 was great every one enjoyed the food the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheEiders, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we hope to welcome you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Stayed here one night(every where else had minimum two night booking). The staff are very friendly and helpful, the hotel and rooms are average, but we ate in the restaurant and what a find! the food was stunning and lots of it, very helpful with my wife dietary requests and not very expensive. I would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheEiders, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your great comments about our food, this will be passed on to our Chefs. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

After making a booking error at another hotel in cromer we drove along the coast a bit to west runton where we came across the dormy house hotel where we managed to get a double room for the night we were greeted by a lovely attentive lady on the desk who could not have been more helpful she even managed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheEiders, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, very much appreciated hope we will welcome you again soon. More 

peterborough
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

went in for the carvery on Friday night with wife an grandson and it was perfect including the yorki puds, always get asked if we have enough meat, really is good value and children eat free from the carvery

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheEiders, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your Carvery, we always make sure you have enough meat when you come to our Carvery. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We were staying locally and decided to go to the Dormy House Hotel. We knew we would not be disappointed as we have had good meals on every occasion we have been there. This time was no exception, we had steaks which were cooked just as we like them. My wife likes hers rare and does not often get to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheEiders, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Wow Perfect Steaks!! nothing more to be said. Thank you. More 

Bedfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Just as we were running out of options and with rain threatening we saw the sign for rooms available. Don't be put off by the first impression of a tired looking place with need of modernisation. The staff are very friendly and the rooms and food excellent. The bar was not very well stocked but you can't have everything. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheEiders, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, we are updating all the time, most of our rooms have had bathrooms redone, updated and we are now going to be updating the reception area and bar with new carpets. hopefully the outside will be done early in the new year. More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The carvery was of a poor standard, which is not what you want after a long walk. The beef was very undercooked and the vegetables were hard. Very expensive for poor quality. The seating was cramped and not ideal for anyone with a disability.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheEiders, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Very sorry you didn't enjoy your meal, our Beef is not always undercooked, I'm sure if you had asked we would of cut from the more well cooked end part. please give us a look next time your in the area I'm sure we will be better. More 

Quorn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Third stay, this time with my wife, six year old grandson and four year old granddaughter and had two twin rooms, one for the "boys" and one for the "girls" Comfortable and welcoming hotel and very good and friendly staff, especially the restaurant manageress, the chief cleaning lady and a couple of the receptionists Great location, situated on the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheEiders, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your in depth review, very kind words. We hope to welcome you again at the Dormy. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Cromer Road, West Runton NR27 9QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > West Runton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormy House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy House Hotel West Runton, Norfolk

3 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay