We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dormy House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Cromer Road, West Runton, Cromer NR27 9QA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dormy House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dormy House Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    32
    16
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Holt, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just dined in the restaurant and found the staff very attentive and the food was superb. This was one of the best meals we had had for long time. The restaurant has excellent views out over the sea and would definitely visit the Dormy Hotel again. Many thanks to the chef.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HERTFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was very old fashioned, but clean. Beds were rock hard. Our room fronted onto the entrance, so we had cars coming in and out, and didnt have any net curtains either, so no privacy, unless we wanted to be in the pitch black and draw the main curtains during the day ! Only saw one member of staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Isn't funny how people have different ideas of hard and soft beds, some think our beds are hard some say they are too soft, guess its a matter of personal opinion. We did used to have net curtains but were criticised for that being old fashioned, again just personal taste. We are in the process of updating all our rooms,... More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

THE GOOD looked at a number of Restaurants in the local area to eat.We fancied the Carvery. It was good value for money tasty food attentive without over bearing waitress.The servings were plentiful with 3 different meats lots of different veg and gravy to chose from. THE NOT SO GOOD It was a warm balmy early evening with no air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I have looked into the beer running out, it actually wasn't the larger it was the gas, which ran out on the Wednesday, and were all refrigerated that evening. We have just had a new carpet in the Bar, and was decorated last year, sorry its not to your taste. Also sorry it was too... More 

common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although staff were friendly and helpful the ambience let this place down .. very dated in decor and furniture I have to agree with one reviewer residential home sprung to mind chairs in dining area were like 'conference chairs' lighting, decor , furniture, cutlery all old fashioned .. Surface of dressing room had not been cleaned hair on tea tray.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, However we can't find your details on our system, so we can't see what room you stayed in, could you please get in contact with us so we can investigate the problems you had, with regards to your dressing room not being cleaned? All your other remarks have been noted, We have refurbished the restaurant... More 

corby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, all very pleasant. But the hotel is a bit shabby for the money, my room was £114 per night and wasn't very good at all, in fact the second night I stayed elsewhere so I could get a decent nights sleep avoid room 107! Very much aimed at the older traveller I think, I wouldn't want to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James J, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

We are very confused why you said you slept elsewhere on the second night, however you checked out ok on Sunday Morning which was your second night, and you never raised an issue with us on your first night? we would of been happy to have moved you. Also reception was open till 1am Saturday night, so you could of... More 

sheringham
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed a delicious Sunday lunch here. The carvery was freshly cooked and there were plenty of vegetables to help yourself to. At £9.95 each this was good value and the sea views a bonus. The restaurant was full but the staff were efficient and we didn't have to wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James J, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Boston, Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were not staying at this hotel. We were camping nearby in our tourer and decided to pop in and book a Carvery lunch on Fathers Day. We were so glad we did. The food was delicious, hot, freshly cooked. All the veg was fresh (not frozen and cooked to perfection). So much to choose from and we certainly did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your visit with us, Fathers day is always a very busy one for us, good to hear you were happy with your meal. See you soon. More 

norfolk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

One negative comment,I did not appreciate being called MATE by the carver ( I am a 75 year old woman )I found it quite disrespectful in fact his whole attitude was such a let down and not in keeping with the Hotel when my daughter asked if she could have some potatoes he said quite rudely " they are finished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I'm sure he didn't mean to upset you, and I have spoken with him and he is very upset if this caused you to be upset. we can only apologise for this. I do know we did Temporarily run out of New Potatoes while they were being cooked, it was Fathers Day... More 

lowestoft
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

we have just had a lovely weekend here. when we arrived we were greeted with friendly and helpful staff nothing was too much trouble. the food was excellent and plenty of it. the room was very spacious, clean and warm plenty of drawer space and wardrobe to put clothes. a lovely welcoming tray with tea coffee and pkts of biscuits.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
James J, Owner at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, Its always nice to get Good feed back, hope to see you again soon. More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

I was fortunate to drive past and see the Dormy House Hotel had rooms available for that night. I was offered a choice of two rooms (one with bath and the other with shower) and was allowed to see them before I made my decision. The staff were amazing, polite and very friendly. They even picked up in conversation that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Runton
1.9 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
2.4 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Links Country Park Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Dales Country House Hotel
2.8 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sandcliff Hotel
Sandcliff Hotel
#5 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay