We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Red Lion Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Royal Lane | Hillingdon, Uxbridge UB8 3QP, England
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    77
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
50
17
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (189)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is a fairly average 3-star hotel as far as quality. The Good: -My room (109) was very clean and quiet. -The staff was friendly and helpful. -The food and drinks at the hotel restaurant were good. The Bad: -My room was very small; much smaller than the photos shown here. -Wi-Fi worked intermittently, which was very frustrating if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Midwest Alpinist Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor after your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you found our staff friendly & helpful, and that you enjoyed the food in our Restaurant. I was also pleased to read that your Bedroom (Room 109) was clean and quiet, you are... More 

Stamford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a reunion with friends. The rooms are nice and clean, free wifi and a really good choice of breakfast pity about the majority of the staff. At best they were miserable, apart from receptionist and bar staff on Friday, at worst they were rude. Have sent a complaint , but it hasn't been acknowledged. I think it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl P Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor, I was pleased to read that your clean and comfortable, and that you were able to use the complimentary wifi. It was also good to hear that you liked the choice of breakfast available in the morning. I was concerned, however to read that... More 

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

well i have used the hotel,restaurant and the and the bar on various occasions as a matter of fact i use the hotel for my visiting family whenever they come to visit me from abroad or other parts of the county. as i have live a few doors down the road. excellent service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clive Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor, I was delighted to read that you use the hotel, restaurant and bar when your family are visiting you here in Uxbridge, and that you find our service to be excellent. I know my team will be encouraged by your kind comments, and we look... More 

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We celebrated my Mothers 80th Birthday with 25 Family members, the staff made us feel more than welcome, and made the special day a great success, I can not thank Hudson the duty manager and the lovely restaurant staff enough for all they did for us on the day. The food was great and everything was as I had planned.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tina K Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip advisor after your Mothers 80th Birthday celebration in our Restaurant, I was delighted to read that all your guests enjoyed themselves. I will certainly pass on your thanks to Hudson and the rest of the team. Feedback such as yours gives a great lift to... More 

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Expected more, especially for the price paid outside of London. I can find much nicer places to stay that are more central to London. The walls were so thin it was difficult to sleep as you could hear everything outside. Other than that the hotel is clean and ok, however dated. Service was very good, breakfast was average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rutger_Evija Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor, I am sorry you were not impressed with your stay and that you found the bedroom walls to thin, and that your sleep was disturbed. I would appreciate it if you could give me a call on 01895 236860 so that I can asertain the... More 

Bath
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

If you have Central air and one of your 'guests' smokes in their rooms, everyone smells it. Offer more than back tea in the room, contol drunk guests at 3am. Totally unsatisfactory stay. We won't be back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip advisor, I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It would be very helpful to me if you could give me a call on 01895 236860 so that I can talk to you about when you stayed, and what room... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. The breakfast is excellent ( I had the full veggie English breakfast) and staff were friendly and courteous. The rooms were clean with nice toiletries and comfy beds. Free wifi was available along with all the usual amenities you need on a business trip. I had room service, the menu was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Natalie T Thank you for your kind feed back, I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your Room Service Dinner & your Vegetarian Breakfast in the morning. You are right to point out that it is advisable to book your taxi if you need one, in the evening beforehand, as we can be very busy with Taxi's... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

My husband and I were on a coach trip. We had a very comfortable stay and were impressed with the extras like fresh milk in fridge and cafetiere and fresh flowers in reception. The staff were polite and helpful. Would recommend if traveling from Heathrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bristolian22 Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor, it is always encouraging to receive welcome feedback, it means a lot to my team. Hopefully we will welcome you back to The Red Lion on the next occasion you choose to fly from Heathrow airport, which you rightly point out is only 20 minutes away... More 

Oxfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

We have stayed here about twice a year for the past 3 or 4 years. Always comfortable rooms and a nice selection of Fuller's beers at the bar. It is very reasonably priced - unfortunately we couldn't take advantage of their most recent offer of a Valentine's dinner in with the price of the room!! Even though we just booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ironwalker Thank you for your generous comments following your stay with us, I am delighted to read that you enjoy our fine ales, comfortable rooms and freshly cooked breakfasts. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel later in the year. Kind regards More 

Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

This hotel was recommended by a colleague when I was traveling on business. Reception was friendly. We parked where the pub is located at another end so we had to go through some winding corridors but it is well sign-posted so you shouldn't get lost. If you parked at the hotel grounds then the reception area is easy to find.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Redmond W, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eomer Thank you for your wonderful comments following your stay here at the Hotel. I was pleased to read that you liked your room and all the guest ammenities that are provided in the bedroom to make your stay just that little bit special. It is lovely to see that you would recommend our hotel to your friends, I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question