We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Empingham B&Bs / inns

The White Horse Inn

2 Main Street, Empingham LE15 8PS, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (67)
  • Photos (4)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Empingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Empingham
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Had lunch here on 26 July 2014. Chose the Seafood linguine. Cooked to perfection. All tiger prawns, crabmeat, smoked salmon flakes, and mussels melted in the mouth. The mussels arrived in the shell and the linguine had a thai (I think) infusion. Even though it was a main meal the portion was just right for a light lunchtime bite which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped by -- no booking, no consultation with TA, simply that we were in the village -- for Friday lunch, we had excellent baguettes & a cafetiere of coffee. Service really pleasant and prompt (we always feel a bit strange treating a pub like a coffee shop). Other diners tucking into more substantial fare, we heard nothing but good remarks,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
suffolk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My first stay and have had a very comfortable night's sleep. Staff were very welcoming and I had a very good dinner in the pub which was all very tasty and good sized portions without being too huge. Perfect Ideal location close to Water. Would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Having used the White Horse or many years, I am extremely disappointed at the change over the last year, The specials board is small and poor, the main menu shortened, the atmosphere gone, as are all the "offers",seems to have gone upmarket , and not so popular as there were many empty tables. We had to book previously. We live... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you don't see the change of direction that Claire and I have taken the pub in over the last year as positive. You are correct in saying that the menu has been shortened slightly. This allows us to source great quality local ingredients and ensure food is exceptionally presented. I am... More

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed in the White Horse for a night prior to a friends wedding. Our room was on the ground floor on the end of the block adjacent to the pub. The pub itself is really nice, great bar and nice food / breakfast. Our room itself was also fine, don't get me wrong its not plush but perfectly adequate,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased that you liked the pub and our food. we will look into the issues that you have raised regarding the room you stayed in and will take action to amend. Many Thanks once again for the feedback. More

Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We are just back from 5 nights at the White Horse as a group of 8 down for fishing Rutland Water. The rooms are good, the food excellent and the staff so helpful, in particular the ladies on breakfasts. Can't wait for our next trip down south to Empingham, thanks again Steve, Claire and all your staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to host you again and we look forward to welcoming you all back next year! More

Rome, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We recently ate in this pub. I will start with the positives, I like the slate plates and, er, Grainstore bitter is up to the usual Grainy standards. So, they go the beer supply and plates right. It’s very hard to ruin the exceptionally uninspiring starters. However, my wife’s the white bait (apart from being poor quality) was overcooked. And... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to us and I am sorry that you are dissatisfied. Please accept my apologies if you felt that the whitebait was overcooked and that the soup wasn't to your taste. Your comment about the salmon confuses my slightly as the salmon to which I believe you are referring was a whole... More

Swineshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I recently visited The White Horse with three colleagues whilst in the area on business. It is a quaint pub in a pleasant village. It is nicely decorated and has a warm atmosphere. We were looked after by an attentive waiter and got our food quickly. We were all really impressed with the quality and presentation of the food and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stopped off at this pub for a quick pit stop to break a long journey. Whom I took to be the owner/manager was surely the rudest publican I have ever met. He took great offensive that we were looking for a sandwich rather than a full meal. The young waiting staff were, however, extremely polite, I only hope he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please accept my apologies that we (and by the sounds of it I) didn't meet your expectations. I can assure you all our customers are equally valued. I will feedback your comments about your steak sandwich to the kitchen however, our steak comes from our award winning butcher and our focaccia bread is freshly baked. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked a table on Friday for two for Sunday lunch and increased this to two adults and one child on the Saturday. We had to wait at the bar for ages before we were 'greeted' - no smile. The service was very slow and no explanation given. The waiter dropped the cutlery on a vacated seat and made no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, please accept my apologies if you felt the service was slow and weren't entirely happy with your visit to us. Your feedback will be taken onboard. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 2 Main Street, Empingham LE15 8PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Empingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Empingham

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The White Horse Inn to your Saves list