We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Empingham B&Bs / inns

The White Horse Inn

Save
You added The White Horse Inn to your Saves list
2 Main Street, Empingham LE15 8PS, England
Hotel amenities
The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Empingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Empingham
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Before booking this establishment, I read the comments on Trip Advisor and it seemed the best of a bunch in the area. We stayed over the weekend at the end of November with prime objective to go to the Burleigh Christmas Fair. For some reason the cost shoot up from £65 to £85 per night for bed and breakfast. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit this extensive review...having been notified by my staff of your 'eccentric' manner when making your booking it is entirely expected! Indeed following your call to book they even considered calling you back to advise that a country pub with rooms may not be suited to your needs! Having spoken to my team... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We stayed for two nights during October half term. We had a family room and my parents had a double room, both in the stable block. Really comfortable beds, lovely decor. Unfortunately the bathrooms are a little dated and a shower would have been nice but I think this is reflected in the price. Our food was fantastic, best breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the White Horse Empingham for three nights in late September. We travelled as part of a group of nine walkers but the views expressed here are ours alone. The White Horse is excellently located close to Rutland Water and possesses a large car park. Our room was in the stable block at the rear.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that we are able to offer suitable dishes and I will review the valid points that you have raised with a view to offering more vegetarian alternatives. More 

Rutland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Myself and five friends had a truly lovely meal at The White Horse on Friday evening. All three courses were fantastic, well presented and all the courses arrived very promptly. Found it very difficult to choose my meal as all the menu was very tempting, great selection! Attentive staff, charming atmosphere, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. More 

Horley, Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We found this pub by accident, passing through on our way back to the A1M. And we were so pleased we stopped off for lunch! Service from the staff was friendly and efficient. We chose Ploughmans which was fantastic - combination of local cheeses, pork pie and delicious ham - highly recommended. Atmosphere was very pleasant , we thoroughly enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. More 

Yorkshire
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

thank goodness we were only staying one night. We stayed in a courtyard room called whitwell. As previously mentioned the walls between rooms were thin, we could hear snoring from the next room! Our main complaint was the noise from the heating pipes when the heating came on at 6.45 and the continual clicking of pipes until we got up,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay, we will review the points that you have raised. More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We have now stayed here twice in the recent weeks...breakfast is superb and the cheery welcome of Edith (what would they do without her??) is a welcome bonus! Angie who has come in recently as manager does a fabulous job and orchestrates excellent service and hospitality at dinner. Claire the owner is charming and there is so much to commend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stays with us. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

A lovely country pub - we were 2 families travelling to Rutland Water for a sailing event and this suited us perfectly. Spacious, clean family rooms, friendly staff and great food at the pub - both in the evening and for breakfast. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch in the bar and, having not visited the pub since its refurbishment, we were very impressed. The menu was ver appealing and the food was excellent. The pub decor is lovely and it has a really pleasant atmosphere. Service was excellent too. I ate the stilton and broccoli soup Followed by the fish and chips which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We stayed in Empingham village for a wks holiday in September. Whilst we were there we paid quite a few visits to this pub and loved it! I have to say we didnt eat there, but we drank plenty of the Timothy Taylors, and it was spot on!! Also the young girl waitress was very kind to our dog, bringing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 2 Main Street, Empingham LE15 8PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Empingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Empingham

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay