We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White Horse Inn

2 Main Street, Empingham LE15 8PS, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The White Horse Inn
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The White Horse Inn
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
20
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this lovely country pub on a Sunday lunchtime. It was very busy which is always a good sign. There was a lovely atmosphere and the staff were very welcoming. There was only a short wait for the food and a wait which was well worth it. The food was all freshly made and was delicious. We had starters... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rutland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Claire and Steve offered a friendly, hospitable and warm welcome to our stay. The staff are so accommodating and sincere eager to please your requirements. The ambience is perfect for those chilly days with the roaring log fires in the restaurant and the bar area where you can eat. The menus are varied to accommodate vegetarian as well as hearty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Table booked in advance, shown to grotty tables at end of function room laid out for a big party. Sole source of heat (log burner) had clearly only been lit within the hour, asked for more heat or to be moved. Told that was it and they were fully booked. Waitress was at best intimidating and at worst escaped from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
London
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

A very nice room , not huge but very comfortable and TV/Video, recently redecorated. The pub is furnished well, two log fires, food was excellent except for a bit of tough crackling on the Belly Pork but otherwise very tasty and beautifully presented. Location close to the A1 was a bonus and good value

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Before booking this establishment, I read the comments on Trip Advisor and it seemed the best of a bunch in the area. We stayed over the weekend at the end of November with prime objective to go to the Burleigh Christmas Fair. For some reason the cost shoot up from £65 to £85 per night for bed and breakfast. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit this extensive review...having been notified by my staff of your 'eccentric' manner when making your booking it is entirely expected! Indeed following your call to book they even considered calling you back to advise that a country pub with rooms may not be suited to your needs! Having spoken to my team... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We stayed for two nights during October half term. We had a family room and my parents had a double room, both in the stable block. Really comfortable beds, lovely decor. Unfortunately the bathrooms are a little dated and a shower would have been nice but I think this is reflected in the price. Our food was fantastic, best breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the White Horse Empingham for three nights in late September. We travelled as part of a group of nine walkers but the views expressed here are ours alone. The White Horse is excellently located close to Rutland Water and possesses a large car park. Our room was in the stable block at the rear.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that we are able to offer suitable dishes and I will review the valid points that you have raised with a view to offering more vegetarian alternatives. More 

Rutland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Myself and five friends had a truly lovely meal at The White Horse on Friday evening. All three courses were fantastic, well presented and all the courses arrived very promptly. Found it very difficult to choose my meal as all the menu was very tempting, great selection! Attentive staff, charming atmosphere, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. More 

Horley, Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

We found this pub by accident, passing through on our way back to the A1M. And we were so pleased we stopped off for lunch! Service from the staff was friendly and efficient. We chose Ploughmans which was fantastic - combination of local cheeses, pork pie and delicious ham - highly recommended. Atmosphere was very pleasant , we thoroughly enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. More 

Yorkshire
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014 via mobile

thank goodness we were only staying one night. We stayed in a courtyard room called whitwell. As previously mentioned the walls between rooms were thin, we could hear snoring from the next room! Our main complaint was the noise from the heating pipes when the heating came on at 6.45 and the continual clicking of pipes until we got up,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve G, Owner at The White Horse Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay, we will review the points that you have raised. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Address: 2 Main Street, Empingham LE15 8PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Rutland > Empingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel Empingham

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay