We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oxwich Bay Hotel

Oxwich SA3 1LS, Wales
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    139
    78
    49
    41
See reviews for
118
222
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (472)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (156)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (115)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (88)
All months
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Arrived as a surprise night away arranged by my wife. At around £180 dinner bed and breakfast seemed expensive before arriving. Upon arrival the location is superbly unspoilt, quiet - like parts of Devon without the mass tourism. Had an earlier lunch at the nearby King Arthur Pub/Hotel which was excellent. Our room at Oxwich was a standard room -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I previously loved staying at the Oxwich Bay Hotel. Not any more. The room was ok but was freezing and dirty, I mentioned this to the staff and was assured this would be rectified. It wasn't and I even had to sit in my car to warm up. The next day, no hot water in room or heating, I waited... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Same old problem, food not living up to the description on the menu. Beautiful setting but food was horrible. Moules overcooked and were in hardly any sauce, home made bread still raw in the middle and garlic bread so hard we didn't even try it. no one asked if there was a problem with the food even we had left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Dirty floors. Service okay, until we heard dogs barking and realised dogs were allowed. Shocking. If a dog passes by your dining table, is that acceptable? Not to me...and no notices to say dogs were allowed in / around the restaurant. DISGUSTING!

Was this review helpful? Yes
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We welcome dogs inside with access restricted to two small areas, one area is tiled and the other area has wood flooring. It is not our policy to allow dogs into any carpeted area of the hotel or restaurant. We are sorry that on this occasion you were disturbed by dogs barking and passing your... More 

Monmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
43 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having walked several miles along the coast path to the hotel for lunch, we were certainly thirsty when we arrived, but the first person to be served was the dog! A fresh bowl of water for her and water for us while we made our choice. Hotel was busy but the service was very good and our meals, fish and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OBHOxwich, General Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you and your dog found a warm welcome here, and that you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope we might see you again soon, whether for a meal or perhaps an overnight stay – we have offers on our website for short breaks over the coming months, and dogs... More 

Lichfield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My daughter was married on April 19th in the ceremony room, the reception, and evening function were held in the Marquee .The whole day was a triumph of very helpful planning, friendly helpful staffing, superb location, and setting, good quality plentiful food and drink, at a very reasonable in this day and age competitive price. You would be very difficult... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OBHOxwich, General Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your daughter’s special day here with us, and how well-planned and well-executed you found the experience to be! Our dedicated personal wedding planners and team of staff work very hard to make each and every wedding day a joyous experience for all involved, and... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Nicholson room in the cottage owned by the hotel. 100% recommend the cottage it was beautiful. Huge room, decorated too a very high standard, very comfy bed and tea making facilities. It was our cutest visit here and we were staying due to being at a wedding. We will certainly return. I wouldn't recommend any one with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OBHOxwich, General Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re very pleased to hear that you found your room in Ye Olde School House to your liking, and we hope that you might stay with us again in the near future - all of our hotel and cottage rooms are available on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis too, and special offers for short... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently hosted an anniversary lunch for 43 people at Oxwich Bay hotel. The menu was very creative, and the chef was happy to make changes before we finalised it. The food and service on the day were excellent - absolutely delicious, amazingly so for a large function. Can't comment on the rooms as we did not stay overnight, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
OBHOxwich, General Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to host your anniversary lunch, and we are very glad to hear that you were so happy with the food and service both on the day and whilst organising the event. We hope you might join us again soon for a meal or perhaps a short break – all of our... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel stands tall when it comes about perfect romantic places. Everything was good specially there local beer. It's a perfect place for couples and also those who loves nature and want to spend some alone time.....)

Was this review helpful? Yes
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that our hotel is considered a romantic destination! We hope you might stay with us again soon – we have offers on our website for short breaks over the coming months. Kind regards, Senior Management More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only popped in for a pint and a sit down. Nicely kept beer. Watched the staff training a newcomer and showing real commitment. Food coming out of the kitchen looked really tempting too. Pricing was rather steep for the drinks but would definitely be happy to eat there. A place to take your time over and stroll around the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
OBHOxwich, Manager at Oxwich Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope you might visit us again for a meal or perhaps a short break – all of our menus, and special offers for accommodation, are available on our website. Kind regards, Senior Management More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

112 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (102)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question