We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Thurnham hotels

Thurnham Hall

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thurnham Hall to your Saves list
Thurnham Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
90%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
lisa3101 Motherwell, United Kingdom
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    42
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Weekend away got a room upgrade on arrival and was very pleased the penthouse was lovely and very big , used the health club pool sauna and gym would have liked a steam room though. The rooms were spotless and had more than you needed, ground were beautiful and the food in the restaurant was good and not expensive would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad to read that you were happy with your apartment and the grounds of our resort. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our food and beverage manager who we are sure will be happy to read of your comments. We hope you visit us again in the future.... More

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited in March 2014 for a weeks stay in a studio apartment which was a gift for a milestone birthday. Very difficult to fault the place. Minor criticism is the lack of clarity of rubbish removal removal. Advised to leave it outside the apartment, which we did (in the corridor) and not removed, subsequently left outside the building but again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you were able to have a great stay with us. We do hold our staff to a high standard of service so it is always great when we read they have provided a great service. We hope you will return and visit us again! Lorna Cardwell Resort manager More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for a 2 day break for a birthday treat, this time in a "studio" - lots of space, kitchen with dishwasher, oven, microwave, toaster etc, large bathroom and very comfortable. Lovely grounds and leisure facilities, pool, sauna, and gym. The bar is really super with a huge open fire and lots of settees and chairs to relax in. Just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you apartment as spacious and to your liking. It is great that you used the bar area, we will be sure to pas so your comments to our food and beverage manager as we are always looking to improve. We will be sure to address your comments with our staff and... More

Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked our studio as we got a great deal via RCI and we wanted to explore the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. The hall is in a rural part of Lancashire but very close to Lancaster. Our gps took us on a route that drove us through some tiny roads, which thank goodness we were used to driving on.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Delivering excellent service and making our guest feel welcome and at home is our priority and so we are delighted to read that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us and made the most of your stay in the area. Thank you for sharing some day trips tips with your fellow travellers too. We are happy to... More

Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the Main Hall (but have previously stayed in one of the cottages) with friends who are Diamond Resorts clients. They were upset to learn that it would have been cheaper for them to have booked as non-members, and several of the people I met had the same experience. We had a one bedroom suite with very large living... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came for the weekend for my husband's birthday, expecting such wonderful things from the recent feedback and room pictures on Trip Adviser but were more than a bit disappointed in the one bedroom apartment (46) we were allocated. It was just so dated, quite shabby and poorly laid out that as a member of Diamond Resorts (Sunterra) for over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

We regret to read that on this occasion we were not able to offer you one of our upgraded apartments, however, we would like to assure you that our on-going refurbishment scheme will soon address most of such issues, although we would like to note that we do feel that all apartments are suitable for guest occupation. Nevertheless, we apologise... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first family holiday with our 7month old baby. We chose thurnham hall as it wasn't too far away, it had a pool & could accommodate the midweek dates we required. On arrival we were impressed with the lovely grounds & ducks. Check in was good with a useful info pack. We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay, however, we feel it is necessary to note that as you have mentioned, some of the apartments are in need of a refurbishment. As we hope you may appreciate, this cannot be addressed without maintenance works being carried out in the accommodations... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a lovely little getaway retreat, the staff our helpful and the apartments are kept clean. It has all the mod cons ie flat screen TVs, dishwasher, washing machine ect. We never got chance to use the facilities on sight but we are booked back to go in April so will be making use of the pool ect.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are glad you had a great stay with us. It is lovely to read that your apartment was to your liking and well kept. We will look forward to your return visit! Lorna Cardwell Resort Manager More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My mum had her wedding here on8th march and it realty the most fantastic day. My husband& our2&4 yr old girls stayed the fri&sat and we must say we were impressed!! We had a 2bed rm16 in the house and I thought it was amazing!! (We are very fussy!!)It was huge and our children loved playing there.. We took nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad your apartment was to your liking and we were able to meet your holiday needs. It is great to read that your children found lots to do during your stay with us. Check in times is something we can look at extending in the future so we have passed this to... More

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Thurnham a number of times using are timeshare. We stayed in 2 bed elite room was well maintained and peaceful. The wildlife was a bonus staying on a ground floor we had duck,squirrels and lots of different birds visiting. Great veiw eating breakfast. The restraunt food is excellent as always. Sadly the service is not the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoy staying at Thurnham Hall, and that your most recent stay here was a generally very pleasant one. We’re sorry to read your comments about the on-site bar, though. Although the catering facilities at Thurnham Hall are operated through a franchise, we would expect the same high level of service... More

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall Hotel
Thurnham Hall England
Address: Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thurnham Hall 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thurnham Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.