We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Thurnham hotels

Thurnham Hall

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thurnham Hall to your Saves list
Thurnham Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
90%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Thurnham
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Malcolm-kc London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    43
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We arrived for our 4 day weekend break over the Easter Bank Holiday. Reception staff was very friendly and quickly had us checked in and into our One Bedroom Apartment( Suite ). Was very pleased with our accommodation and went for a walk around the Resort. Very calm & peaceful location. We all enjoyed the walk. As we were tired... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've stayed here a few times and I love it. Everyone is happy to help and welcoming. Facilities are great, gym, pool, bar, restaurant. Only ever stayed in one and two bedroom lodges and always bowled over at cleanliness and lay out. This time had a one bedroom place with an amazing tear drop bath, and kitchen/living room opened on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family of four recently stayed in a 2 bed roomed apartment, within main hall (room 13) very we'll equipped with everything we needed, and was spotless - we couldn't fault it. Rooms were large and we'll decorated, with a lovely view over the pond - complete with ducklings. Kids enjoyed the pool. We paid for the wi-fi and son... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

We are really pleased that you had a great time here, and that our team were able to provide you with all the assistance you needed during your stay. We really hope you’ll get another opportunity to visit Thurnham Hall – we’d love to see you again! Lorna Cardwell Resort manager More

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Weekend away got a room upgrade on arrival and was very pleased the penthouse was lovely and very big , used the health club pool sauna and gym would have liked a steam room though. The rooms were spotless and had more than you needed, ground were beautiful and the food in the restaurant was good and not expensive would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad to read that you were happy with your apartment and the grounds of our resort. We will be sure to pass on your comments to our food and beverage manager who we are sure will be happy to read of your comments. We hope you visit us again in the future.... More

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited in March 2014 for a weeks stay in a studio apartment which was a gift for a milestone birthday. Very difficult to fault the place. Minor criticism is the lack of clarity of rubbish removal removal. Advised to leave it outside the apartment, which we did (in the corridor) and not removed, subsequently left outside the building but again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you were able to have a great stay with us. We do hold our staff to a high standard of service so it is always great when we read they have provided a great service. We hope you will return and visit us again! Lorna Cardwell Resort manager More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a 2 day break for a birthday treat, this time in a "studio" - lots of space, kitchen with dishwasher, oven, microwave, toaster etc, large bathroom and very comfortable. Lovely grounds and leisure facilities, pool, sauna, and gym. The bar is really super with a huge open fire and lots of settees and chairs to relax in. Just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you apartment as spacious and to your liking. It is great that you used the bar area, we will be sure to pas so your comments to our food and beverage manager as we are always looking to improve. We will be sure to address your comments with our staff and... More

Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked our studio as we got a great deal via RCI and we wanted to explore the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. The hall is in a rural part of Lancashire but very close to Lancaster. Our gps took us on a route that drove us through some tiny roads, which thank goodness we were used to driving on.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Delivering excellent service and making our guest feel welcome and at home is our priority and so we are delighted to read that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us and made the most of your stay in the area. Thank you for sharing some day trips tips with your fellow travellers too. We are happy to... More

Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in the Main Hall (but have previously stayed in one of the cottages) with friends who are Diamond Resorts clients. They were upset to learn that it would have been cheaper for them to have booked as non-members, and several of the people I met had the same experience. We had a one bedroom suite with very large living... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came for the weekend for my husband's birthday, expecting such wonderful things from the recent feedback and room pictures on Trip Adviser but were more than a bit disappointed in the one bedroom apartment (46) we were allocated. It was just so dated, quite shabby and poorly laid out that as a member of Diamond Resorts (Sunterra) for over... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

We regret to read that on this occasion we were not able to offer you one of our upgraded apartments, however, we would like to assure you that our on-going refurbishment scheme will soon address most of such issues, although we would like to note that we do feel that all apartments are suitable for guest occupation. Nevertheless, we apologise... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our first family holiday with our 7month old baby. We chose thurnham hall as it wasn't too far away, it had a pool & could accommodate the midweek dates we required. On arrival we were impressed with the lovely grounds & ducks. Check in was good with a useful info pack. We had booked a 2 bedroom apartment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
diamondresorts, Manager at Thurnham Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We apologise for the inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay, however, we feel it is necessary to note that as you have mentioned, some of the apartments are in need of a refurbishment. As we hope you may appreciate, this cannot be addressed without maintenance works being carried out in the accommodations... More

Been to Thurnham Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thurnham Hall

Also Known As:
Thurnham Hall Hotel Thurnham
Thurnham Hall Hotel
Thurnham Hall England
Address: Thurnham LA2 0DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thurnham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Thurnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thurnham Hall 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thurnham Hall is a 12th-century country house that stands proudly in a stunning estate of nearly 30 acres. Boasting an elegant Jacobean Great Hall, the resort combines the very best of old and new. All accommodations — whether you stay in the main house which retains a more traditional flavor, or at Thurnham Hall Tarnbrook where the courtyard retreats are complete with modern finishing touches — you’ll enjoy a quiet retreat on this grand medieval-style estate. Thurnham Hall's leisure center has a large swimming pool and extensive state-of-the-art exercise equipment, while the restaurant serves both fine and casual dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Thurnham Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thurnham Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.