We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Newgate Street hotels

Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues to your Saves list
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
71%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newgate Street
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
yumtum1971 London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (203)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (56)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    67
    34
    20
    7
See reviews for
28
91
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arranged to stay here as a stop over before carrying on the next day for a birthday treat. We arrived at 9.30pm, and had dinner in the bistro (which was nice enough). Had a lovely comfortable night sleep. Breakfast however was a little disappointing, the staff did not adorn our table with any cutlery, cups or the like until... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cawsand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was really just a bed for the night after visiting family in the area. We stayed in the annex which was fine, good size room with all the normal facilities. Blackout curtains and a comfy bed which allowed for a good night's sleep. The reason for only a three star rating is the cleanliness of the bathroom. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel for just one night on business. Staying in the annex I found the room to be exceptionally clean and good quality towels and bedding were provided. A good selection of tea and coffee plus a help-yourself area with sweets, biscuits even popcorn in the foyer sections of the hotel. Set in lovely grounds with beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had our wedding at Ponsbourne Park and it was perfect Liz and the team were beyond helpful and really lovely. Everyone had a great time and they couldn't compliment the staff and the hotel enough. I would recommend any future husband and wife to have their wedding here. The only bad point is that it's all over. An amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Imposing hotel at the end of a long sweeping drive.Lovely place to stay for some peace and quiet ,but easy reach of A10 and M25. Found all of the staff very pleasant,receptionists of whom I met two were both smiley and friendly.The girls working in the bistro were working hard and managed to keep smiling. Good value food and drinks.I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having booked a premier room in advance, we were a little surprised to find ourselves in a room tucked away in the attic, the furthest room from the reception desk. In our 60s, it was an effort getting the luggage up and down without a lift. We were assured this was a premier room due to the view, which would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear jillchilds Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear you had difficulty getting to your room and that the windows were dirty, spoiling the view. However we are glad you found the staff pleasant and hope to welcome you back some day. Kind Regards Team Ponsbourne More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were lucky enough to book at room at £25. For this price it was amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were allocated "Room 101" which was a good sized room with nice bathroom that had a window. However we later out we were directly above the Bistro which made it a bit noisy. The entrance area has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear nudrover, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor. We are pleased that you found the room good value for money but apologies if you were disturbed by the noise from the Bistro. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More

Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Excellent place but very very quiet and nothing much to do. Very scenic, OK food. Rooms are average size with some great views and that's it ! Good for a couple of days ! Nice organised training rooms. Not very far from Hertford.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Vishal G, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the scenery and that the conference you attended was well organised. Kind Regards Team Ponsbourne More

Richmond
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Well where to start - Arrival is normally a good point unless you come across quite easily the rudest staff encountered this year. Having arrived slightly early (45 minutes) the receptionists first words, without even looking up at us, were 'you are too early to book in' go and have a drink. So having ignored the jugs of water, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear magoo63, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor. Sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More

Stanwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great location, booked a family room & arrived Sunday evening. The lady on reception (Joanna) was fantastic and made us feel really welcome. We were hungry & ventured to the Bistro. Food good, atmosphere relaxed. Staff looked after my 3 year old very well. Rooms big, clean and views across gardens amazing. Value for money is excellant!! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Vernonstanwick, Thank you for your feedback and are really pleased to hear our staff looked after you and your family so well. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Team Ponsbourne More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Address: Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Newgate Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hotel Newgate Street
Ponsbourne Park Hertfordshire
Ponsbourne Park Hotel
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hertfordshire/Newgate Street, UK

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by over 200 acres and set in the peaceful oasis of the Hertfordshire countryside, the combination of space, tranquility and friendly staff will help you feel quickly at home at Ponsbourne Park. The 19th-century house offers a blend of classic elegance brought stunningly up to date by stylish and creative design. Our facilities are the perfect tonic for today's hectic lifestyle. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast before a game of golf or tennis in the grounds or you could use the gym. (Please note that our pool will not be open for the summer of 2013). With Ponsbourne Park easily accessible from London, the M25 and Stanstead Airport, you have the perfect mix of town and country benefits in one great venue. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer