We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Newgate Street hotels

Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues to your Saves list
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newgate Street
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
jillchilds Toulouse, France
  • Overview
  • Reviews (199)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (56)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    66
    33
    20
    7
See reviews for
27
90
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having booked a premier room in advance, we were a little surprised to find ourselves in a room tucked away in the attic, the furthest room from the reception desk. In our 60s, it was an effort getting the luggage up and down without a lift. We were assured this was a premier room due to the view, which would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were lucky enough to book at room at £25. For this price it was amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were allocated "Room 101" which was a good sized room with nice bathroom that had a window. However we later out we were directly above the Bistro which made it a bit noisy. The entrance area has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear nudrover, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor. We are pleased that you found the room good value for money but apologies if you were disturbed by the noise from the Bistro. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More

Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent place but very very quiet and nothing much to do. Very scenic, OK food. Rooms are average size with some great views and that's it ! Good for a couple of days ! Nice organised training rooms. Not very far from Hertford.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Vishal G, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the scenery and that the conference you attended was well organised. Kind Regards Team Ponsbourne More

Richmond
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well where to start - Arrival is normally a good point unless you come across quite easily the rudest staff encountered this year. Having arrived slightly early (45 minutes) the receptionists first words, without even looking up at us, were 'you are too early to book in' go and have a drink. So having ignored the jugs of water, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear magoo63, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on tripadvisor. Sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More

Stanwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, booked a family room & arrived Sunday evening. The lady on reception (Joanna) was fantastic and made us feel really welcome. We were hungry & ventured to the Bistro. Food good, atmosphere relaxed. Staff looked after my 3 year old very well. Rooms big, clean and views across gardens amazing. Value for money is excellant!! Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Vernonstanwick, Thank you for your feedback and are really pleased to hear our staff looked after you and your family so well. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Team Ponsbourne More

East Kilbride
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights on business. The hotel is old, however well looked after. The staff were very helpful and nothing was any trouble. I gave feedback on the card in the room on my 2nd night in relation to a rusty toilet brush holder that was unsightly and I felt behind the taps needed cleaned,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear H0lidaygirl50, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and that any issues you may have encountered were sorted out quickly. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More

Oxfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for a Saturday night in June because we were visiting relatives in nearby Hertford. First the good things. The location is great and the hotel is based around the 19th century house with surrounding parkland. I understand that the hotel is owned by Tesco (but run by De Vere) and used by them as a training centre... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited the hotel for a wedding, wonderful location, everything perfectly set out. Food was delicious and plenty of it, compliments to the chef. At the end of the evening my taxi did not arrive so one of the lovely ladies on reception took me to the railway station in her own car - you couldn't as k for more! Highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Rachel S, Thank you very much for taking time to leave your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the wedding, venue and food and that the staff went out of their way to assist you in getting home. Kind Regards Team Ponsbourne More

Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here midweek for the night, arriving at 11p.m. after a long drive to a very warm welcome from the receptionist who told us to help ourselves to coffee and biscuits after booking in. We stayed in the Annex and the room was spotlessly clean with the best towels and most comfortable bed we have ever experienced in any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Nixie60 Thank you for your kind feedback that you left on Triadvisor. It is great to hear that the team on reception as well as the housekeeping team looked after you so well. I am glad they were able to add little highlights to your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards... More

hu10 6as
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

hi just returned back to the hotel from a business meeting,this hotel like a whole host of hotels in the country survives on meeting through the week. But the service and setting of the Ponsbourne is second to none .staff very friendly like john who told me the best sites in san Fransisco where to go .my experience of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear bizzyinn Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are so glad that you enjoyed another stay with us here at Ponsbourne. It is great to hear that you find the team so friendly – they all aim to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay. John will be very pleased to hear... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Address: Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Newgate Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hotel Newgate Street
Ponsbourne Park Hertfordshire
Ponsbourne Park Hotel
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hertfordshire/Newgate Street, UK

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Surrounded by over 200 acres and set in the peaceful oasis of the Hertfordshire countryside, the combination of space, tranquility and friendly staff will help you feel quickly at home at Ponsbourne Park. The 19th-century house offers a blend of classic elegance brought stunningly up to date by stylish and creative design. Our facilities are the perfect tonic for today's hectic lifestyle. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast before a game of golf or tennis in the grounds or you could use the gym. (Please note that our pool will not be open for the summer of 2013). With Ponsbourne Park easily accessible from London, the M25 and Stanstead Airport, you have the perfect mix of town and country benefits in one great venue. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer