We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Newgate Street hotels

Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Hotel amenities
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 4 more sites!
73%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Matt Q Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    60
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
24
80
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 1 night on business, beautiful setting with lovely grounds. Had dinner, bed and breakfast for 2 with a bottle of wine for £99 which was a bargain in my opinion. Checking in was easy, given keys to room 123 which was quite a walk from reception up and down stairs(no lift). Room was clean and tidy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you are looking to have a gathering of any kind, this would be ideal. We celebrated an huge number of Birthdays last weekend here, and all guests had a great sleep, and fabulous meal and evening celebration. The attention to detail was fantastic. No question unanswered, no request ignored. A five star stay in a beautiful, country mansion! O... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a pleasant hotel located in the countryside. The room was very comfortable and for the price of £20 that I paid on my offer it was very good. If I was paying more I would expect more TV channels(not all freeview channels available), working wifi and also there was the obstruction of workmen in the communal areas(March 2014).

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear A_Guy-Called_Phil, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are pleased that you found the room very comfortable and that you thought that the price was good. Apologies that the wifi didn’t seem to work during your visit and for the obstruction of the workmen. We are currently under going some redecorating which I... More

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spend a relaxing night at this hotel. Staff were friendly and eager to help, room was nice size, well appointed ( FST TV, tea/coffee, en suite, ironing board) and breakfast, which was extra, was first class. Main accommodation was in a block opposite the main building and the Bistro, which served breakfast was also in a separate building, which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear david_hill_sf49ers, Thank you for you kind feedback you left on Tripadvisor. We are glad you had a relaxing stay and found the staff friendly and eager to help. Chef will be pleased to hear you found the breakfast first class. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Team Ponsbourne More

Peterborough, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are basic - Premier Inn style but the staff from reception,to restaurant, to Bistro to night porter, are all lovely. They are polite, helpful and full of smiles. They make up for any little faults with the hotel. The duty manager(?) serving in the restaurant asked each table if their room was okay. We mentioned two small problems with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Crocus20 Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you found the team so welcoming and that you enjoyed the food that we offer. Regarding the niggles, I have passed these on to the food and beverage manager and the maintenance manager to look into these for... More

stoke on trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Got an excellent room at a decent price after booking on laterooms! Staff more than keen to help out.We had an extra Z bed added to the room for our little boy. Our bathroom is nice and clean. Brilliant service will definitley stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Owain01uk, Thank you very much for your comments. We are pleased that you found our staff keen to help and sorted out the bed for your little boy. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon. Kind Regards Team Ponsbourne. More

Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The first impression of the hotel was not as grand as the photos make out which was a bit of a disappointment. The hotel grounds were very quiet and we felt very relaxed in the surroundings. The staff were first class!!! Everyone was chatty and accommodating!! Dinner was delicious!! The only thing that let this hotel down were the rooms!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Dombs, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on trip advisor. We are glad that you found the staff chatty and accommodating and delivered a first class service and that you enjoyed the delicious food. However we are sorry to hear that your relaxing stay was disrupted by noise coming from other rooms and the corridor.... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed for one night at the weekend and although we enjoyed our stay, we were disappointed with a couple of things. The hotel is in a nice spot and the staff are very helpful. However, we were unlucky to arrive as the small bar by reception was being redecorated so the place smelled strongly of paint. Obviously this has... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Carl R Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to hear that you liked the location and setting of the hotel and that the team looked after you. Please accept my apologies for the paint smell that was present in the hotel during the weekend. We tried to alleviate this as... More

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Only stayed one night but it was brilliant. Food, staff and everything is excellent. Would recommend this hotel. Thank you to Harry on reception and the staff in the Bistro. If you want peace and quiet stay here, in the warmer weather it would be ideal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Julie C Thank you for your lovely feedback that you left on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here and I will pass your comments on to the team, particularly Harry and the Bistro staff. They are always looking to go above and beyond and they will be pleased that they... More

Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting family in Hertford close by.Excellent value and superb friendly staff.Really good breakfast buffet with a great choice.I loved the healthy smoothies,really good idea. Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear stewart h Thank you for your super feedback that you have posted on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and that you found the team so friendly. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More

Been to Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Also Known As:
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hotel
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hotel Newgate Street
Ponsbourne Park Hertfordshire
Ponsbourne Park Hotel
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hertfordshire/Newgate Street, UK
Address: Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Newgate Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Newgate Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by over 200 acres and set in the peaceful oasis of the Hertfordshire countryside, the combination of space, tranquility and friendly staff will help you feel quickly at home at Ponsbourne Park. The 19th-century house offers a blend of classic elegance brought stunningly up to date by stylish and creative design. Our facilities are the perfect tonic for today's hectic lifestyle. Enjoy a leisurely breakfast before a game of golf or tennis in the grounds or you could use the gym. (Please note that our pool will not be open for the summer of 2013). With Ponsbourne Park easily accessible from London, the M25 and Stanstead Airport, you have the perfect mix of town and country benefits in one great venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues to your Saves list