We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Hotel amenities
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newgate Street
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Bootrek Staffs
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    94
    89
    48
    23
    8
See reviews for
42
111
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (262)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Staffs
Level Contributor
77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

The approach to this is stunning and you think crikey this is posh. Looks like a stately home. The car park is at the side of the property with a short walk to the reception area. Blue badge parking is in front of the reception area. Nice welcome although receptionist thought I was part of a supermarket chain conference and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stay here last night in a room booked in main hotel. The room was very luxurious with a great view ( see attachments) I had dinner in the bistro which was very reasonable priced and made with good quality ingredients. Breakfast was included in room which was both full English and continental. I also took advantage of the free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow, again we had a fabulous family occasion at this hotel. It was earlier in the year, but as I am returning next week thought I had better review for last visit. Staff were as always brilliant. had Disabled room in the annex. this was very well equipped and although I do not use a wheelchair all the time, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear CasHollandonsea Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Ponsbourne for your sisters 60th birthday celebration. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the event as well as your stay here at Ponsbourne. We are looking forward to seeing you again next week. Kind regards Team Ponsbourne More 

Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked our wedding here on a whim as there was a last minute availability date, we booked even before viewing the venue!! Madness you might think but I'm so so delighted that we did. The venue was fantastic, the grounds are beautiful with lovely rolling hills and some woody areas and some lovely idyllic picnic style spots. The building... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Jules W We are so pleased that you whim paid off and that you had such a lovely wedding day. The building and grounds really are very special! The team here are really grateful for your super comments about the service they provided - they really are so keen to go above and beyond and it is great to... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to have our wedding here on 24/5/15. The pre meetings were supportive and the wedding organisers couldn't do enough for us. WOW what a day! The setting is fabulous, meal and staff great. There is not enough superlatives to describe how wonderful our day was. Thank you again !

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Claire D Thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that had such a great experience from the start and that you had such a fabulous day. Congratulations! We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Ponsbourne in the near future. Kind regards Team... More 

Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place could be really top notch, the setting is fabulous, the old building full of character and the staff and delightful but... we stayed in the separate building used for conferences and on entering into the lobby we were greeted by plates of half eaten sandwiches and the detritus from an earlier lunch, not a good start although ten... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear 2ManySh0es Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful setting and took advantage of spending some time on the Terrace and the Pitch and Putt. It is a shame that you found there to be some areas that were not up to standard which I have spoken to the... More 

London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Upon our arrival the receptionist was polite and friendly and this trend continued throughout our stay with all the staff. We were put in a separate building to the hotel which was disappointing as we were looking forward to the character of the main building. I felt this should have been clearly stated when we booked. We really wanted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear LondonShorty Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on tripadvisor. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here along with the food and the service received from the team. It is disappointing to hear that you weren't 100% happy with your room in the Woodland Wing. These have recently been redecorated and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

This hotel is lovely and set in beautiful grounds, rolling hills, really peaceful. Main hotel is nice old style building there is also an annex area which is used for conferences etcand which unfortunately doesn't fit with the style of the old building at all (think main house is better) The gardens are beautiful - if it were a spa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear CJohnson007 Thank you for posting your kind review on tripadvisor. We are really pleased to hear that enjoyed the setting and your stay here. As you mentioned, the pool was closed over 4 years ago now. However, we are able to offer use of the gym, pitch and putt golf course and tennis courts it these are of interest.... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

We travelled to this hotel as it was the wedding venue of a family member. I was so impressed by the hotel staff and they did all they could to answer each and every query as well as talk us through options. I also liked the Pitch and Putt offer which we put to good use the first day. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Jane W Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Tripadvisor. We are so pleased that you found the team to be so accommodating - they really do try to go above and beyond at every opportunity. It is also nice to hear that you liked the large, well appointed rooms with our lovely comfy beds.... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

We have had our club dinner and dance event at the Ponsbourne hotel for a few years now and the staff and management have been consistently great and helpful through the years. The organisation, advice, food and attendance of staff has been consistently good. Those members who have stayed overnight, have found the rooms excellent and I hear good things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Dips C Thank you very much for posting your lovely review on Tripadvisor - the team really appreciate receiving these reviews in order to be able to understand our guests feelings following their stay or event here. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed and appreciate all the aspects of your time here at Ponsbourne Park. As... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay