We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

3.0 of 5 Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    81
    46
    23
    8
See reviews for
35
104
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I arrived in the dark so can not mention too much on what the building looked like, but in the morning it certainly did not look like that main picture! The side of the building where you enter is run down & could do with one massive update. The staff were more than friendly though, could not say a bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear 0610CBS Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor. We are really pleased that you got to really appreciate the wonderful team here but are sorry that your room service was disappointing for you. Your comments will be passed to the chef and food and beverage manager to ensure this doesn't... More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our son got married here on Saturday 14/02/15 & we cannot fault the experience. The location is stunning, the staff were excellent - friendly, helpful & attentive to our needs, nothing seemed to be to much trouble for them, the rooms our family stayed in were comfortable, clean & spacious, & the food was the best we've tasted at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear sdwaller W Thank you so much for posting your lovely review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are amazing and we will ensure that all of the team get to see them. We are really pleased that we could make your son and daughter-in-laws day so special - it's very important to the team. We do hope that you are able... More 

Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here on the 31st January as a getaway with my husband. I'm so disappointed I couldn't wait to get home to write this. Upon arrival the woman on the reception was friendly and attentive. She checked us in no problem, she pre-authorised our card and directed us to our room. Then on to finding the room I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear RebeccaAM Thank you for your review that you posted on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay here are Ponsbourne and that the room did not meet with your expectations. With regard to the hour long wait for room service, the details have been passed to the food and beverage manager to ensure... More 

warrington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room was large and comfortable - attached restaurant was of a good standard but having to go outside in the rain to access it was a bit of a pain. Friendly staff and good service. Not many guests the night I stayed and the beer was off but that's my only complaint

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear keith&shelly Thank you for taking to time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Ponsbourne and found the team to be friendly. Apologies if the beer was not to an acceptable standard - the food and beverage manager is aware and has looked into this as a... More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015 via mobile

I was staying at the hotel. Staff had always been very friendly. I had ordered a bottle of wine which had taken a long time to Come, this wasn't the first time as they seem to have to go to the cellar or disappear from the front bar and bring back glasses filled with wine! Odd! I expressed my displeasure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Challengers16 Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear the you found one of our Duty Managers to be rude and disinterested - as you mentiones, the team here are always very friendly and accommodating and I can only apologise if you feel this wasn't the casein the instance you mention. I have replied to... More 

Ware, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

On arrival we went to our rooms all of which were in the main house and were clean and fresh and well presented. The NYE party was well organised. The food was very good and there was plenty to drink. The service was excellent- friendly and professional. The disco was enjoyed by our party of 8 and finished at 1am.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Jill J Thank you for your lovely review on Tripadvisor after attending our New Years Eve Party. The team here put all their efforts into ensuring that all our guests had a fantastic time and they will be over the moon to hear that this happened. We have received lots of fantastic feedback from the evening -it was great... More 

london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2015

My daughter arranged a 55th wedding anniversary for me and my husband and all my close family.. It as a truly great venue , all perfect service.food. room to our selves , We stayed overnight ,our room was great , we have stayed at this hotel on several occasions in the past ..and have always enjoyed it .. value for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear sylvia n It was a pleasure to host your 55th wedding anniversary here at Ponsbourne for you and your husband. The team will be so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable time here. It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your stays here on many occasion. We look forward to seeing you again soon.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014 via mobile

Ponsbourne was recommended and booked on our behalf by a family member who lives nearby. The reason why we stayed at this hotel, was due to a family gathering (from all over the UK) to celebrate the Christmas festivities at our relatives home at Carbone Hill. The room was booked from the 25 to the 27 of December 2014. Night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Sinski1958 Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay here at Ponsbourne Park. There are a number of points you have raised in your review which we are currently looking into. However, please understand that our guests safety is of utmost importance. Therefore, whenever the alarm is raised we must ensure that the guests we... More 

Romford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

Stayed on the night of the 27th as we were there for a family birthday party. The room was fuctional and clean. We had a lovely view over the grounds. Our room was lovely and warm which was appreciated. However my husband was in the shower when the water suddenly got extremely hot which could be quite dangerous for older/younger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Angela M Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that the rooms were satisfactory for you. The water temperature issue is being investigated to ensure that this doesn't happen again. Regarding the fire alarm, as you can appreciate, the safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and we must therefore take... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

We loved the look of this hotel but read the reviews about the 'cheap travel lodge' type annexe building and decided we did not want to stay in this. However, we noticed on the hotels website that their was a more expensive option for a deluxe room in the main mansion house so booked this thinking we had paid extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PonsManager, General Manager at Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues, responded to this review

Dear Sam K Firstly please accept my apologies for the confusion regaring the room that was allocated to you for your stay here. It is certainly not our intention to put any one booking above another. It seems that, on this occasion, we didn't meet our usual high standards and for this we apologise. It will be a key focus... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues

Address: Ponsbourne Drive | Nr Hertford, Newgate Street SG13 8QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Newgate Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hotel Newgate Street
Ponsbourne Park Hertfordshire
Ponsbourne Park Hotel
Ponsbourne Park De Vere Venues Hertfordshire/Newgate Street, UK

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay