We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Etchingham B&Bs / inns

King John's Lodge

Save Saved
You added King John's Lodge to your Saves list
Sheepstreet Lane, Etchingham TN19 7AZ, England
Hotel amenities
King John's Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Etchingham B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Etchingham
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Difficult to write this review and I certainly don't want to put people off from staying here. It is an experience that you should have. Especially when the flowers are in bloom. I stayed with my family, travelling down to see cousins at their farm house near by. It was the closest place to stay and the owner knew my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We didn't stay at the B&B - just visited and gardens and nursery. It's an enchanting garden, off the beaten track - lots of folk haven't heard of this place. The chap who runs the business was really pleasant and interested in our questions about the place. Excellent shop too. Tip - it's a full two miles from the signpost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Weymouth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Everything was perfect from the service to the room. We were made to feel so welcome and we were truly sad to leave. Breakfast was perfect and the building and grounds are stunning. Cannot understand why they got that bad review but there will always be someone that cant be pleased. Bottom line we loved it and cant wait to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, Freddy Cunningham. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at King John's Lodge and were blown away by the place. It has an amazing garden and is set in such a beautiful setting. Room was really big and bed comfortable. Would recommend this place to everyone which is why I am writing the review. Jill, the owner, was really accommodating and we liked it so much we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, Freddy Cunningham. More

London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have to say I couldn't disagree more with the person writing the review complaining about the owners and the breakfast. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was delicious! We stayed here for a friends wedding at the local wedding venue, Swallows Oast. We were lucky in the end that we happened upon this b&b. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, KJL. More

North Conway, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We recently stayed in the beautiful, historic King Johns Lodge and what a lovely time we had. Our room was large and cosy, with an ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was delicious, including fresh eggs laid by the chickens that roam the gardens. Talking of which, the gardens were absolutely stunning. Such a peaceful and romantic setting. The shop at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, KJL. More

London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I feel I must have stayed in a different place to the people in the other review! I had a lovely enormous room, with the most comfortable bed. I felt as if I was staying in a small stately home. The breakfasts were delicious and varied. The gardens are really beautiful, with several different areas - my favourites were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review king John's Lodge and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. All the best, KJL. More

Kent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Viewed website and were keen to visit as listed in the top 20 B&B's in the UK by Which. Although it was a lovely house and gardens in glorious surroundings, it was unfortunately let down by the complete indifference of the owners and a very poor breakfast. In all our extensive travels in the UK and abroad, this was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
freddycuba, Public Relations Manager at King John's Lodge, responded to this review

Hello, Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at King John's Lodge. We try to make everyone's stay special and obviously you did not think this was the case with your visit. Obviously yours is an isolated view as (as you mention) King John's Lodge was listed in the top 20 B&Bs... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage King John's Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to King John's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King John's Lodge

Address: Sheepstreet Lane, Etchingham TN19 7AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Etchingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
King John`s Hotel Etchingham
King John's Lodge Etchingham, East Sussex

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)