We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wentworth House

Wentworth Grove | Aldbrough, Hornsea, Aldbrough HU11 4RX, England
Hotel amenities
Wentworth House
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 2 Aldbrough B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
RataeMan Nottingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (33)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a bit suprised when we arrived, as our sat nav took us to the rear of the property, where the car park is. The room was more than adequate - nicely furnished and decorated, with a separate lounge area. Breakfast was nice, more than adequate portion, and the service was spot on. My only negative comment would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in the disabled suite on the ground floor, which is very spacious and comfortable. Wentworth House is in a peaceful village location, which makes it ideal for people that want to get away from the hustle and bustle and have a relaxing break. This guest house is excellent value for money. I have recommended it to my family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

It is stated on the B&B's amenities that breakfast is free. It is not. The charge was £9 in May 2015. When we visited the place looked unkempt outside with a murder of crows that tended to create a real racket at 4am in the morning. Not the owners fault though. It was in the middle of nowhere with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

We sell our rooms on a room only / B&B basis in the former breakfast is not included in the price, in the later it is. You booked on a room only basis (via booking.com) and hence paid a lower price for the room. You are correct breakfast is never free and personally I’ve never stayed anywhere where it is.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I turned up on spec, quite late in the evening, desperately looking for a night's accommodation on my sponsored cycle ride from John o'Groats to my home in Norwich. Although they had no other guests staying (they had just returned from a few days away themselves), Mark and Ann welcomed me warmly. Although breakfast at the weekend normally runs from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Many thanks Paul for taking the time to do a review. We are always happy when guests are happy. We wish you well with any further bike adventures you may have. More 

Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Located in an nice quiet village this was the ideal getaway that my partner and I needed. The rooms were well presented and clean, with Mark and Ann (the owners) who made us feel most welcome and at home. We will be happily returning and would recommend as a weekend break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to do a review of our B&B. It's great when guests are happy with our house and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We had a quiet, relaxing weekend break at Wentworth House. Friendly, helpful service from the owners. Well equipped, clean and comfortable room that suited us fine. Use of the large guest lounge was a bonus, as was the free wi-fi. No negatives that I can think of. Would recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our B&B. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and glad that you made use of the guest lounge, which some guests overlook. Hope to see you again and maybe next time you can try your hand on the potter's wheel. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews but the welcome we received was warm. A family run business by Mark and Ann who were very polite and very helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy and the location was perfect too, only a short drive to the beach were we could let our dog stretch... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our B&B. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again in the future. More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed in room 8 and it was the worst stay we have experience d in a hotel, ever! As soon as you walked in the room you could smell the damp. The wooden bed was lopsided and wobbled and creeked so much, you woke every time you moved. Between that and people talking until after 230am, we didn't get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Gosh what a poor review, the worst we have ever had in eleven years and we are sorry that it was such an awful stay –although you never said a word when you were here? –we are obviously not learning a great deal on how to run a B&B. As you know some of the comments are untrue, such as... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Wentworth House is set in a lovely village location , but sadly does not live up to expectations . We arrived on Saturday afternoon for a wedding reception up the coast at Hornsea ; first impressions were of a rather tired building past its best & in need of a substantial refurbishment . Those impressions were unfortunately to a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review . We are always disappointed when guests feel disappointed and in this case I guess a lot was due to the prices paid. In both cases you used an agent to book our two family rooms (as family’s), and this was reflected in the prices paid. Direct booking are always more... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Everything was as we expected. Wentworth House is an old building full of character. It has been tastefully and sympathetically updated to make the stay very comfortable. The room and en-suite were clean and the bed comfortable. It is well located to explore the coastal side of East Riding. Wi-fi available in the room as well as coffee and tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide a review, which are always useful and reassuring when guests are happy with their stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldbrough
7.5 mi away
Kingstown Hotel
Kingstown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hedon
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
18.3 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#2 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
10.2 mi away
Premier Inn Hull North
Premier Inn Hull North
#7 of 22 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
19.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#2 of 9 in Cleethorpes
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hornsea Lakeside Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay