We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Aldbrough B&Bs / inns

Wentworth House

Wentworth Grove | Aldbrough, Hornsea, Aldbrough HU11 4RX, England
Hotel amenities
Wentworth House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wentworth House to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Aldbrough B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014
JoBloggs771 London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

We stayed in room 8 and it was the worst stay we have experience d in a hotel, ever! As soon as you walked in the room you could smell the damp. The wooden bed was lopsided and wobbled and creeked so much, you woke every time you moved. Between that and people talking until after 230am, we didn't get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Gosh what a poor review, the worst we have ever had in eleven years and we are sorry that it was such an awful stay –although you never said a word when you were here? –we are obviously not learning a great deal on how to run a B&B. As you know some of the comments are untrue, such as... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Wentworth House is set in a lovely village location , but sadly does not live up to expectations . We arrived on Saturday afternoon for a wedding reception up the coast at Hornsea ; first impressions were of a rather tired building past its best & in need of a substantial refurbishment . Those impressions were unfortunately to a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review . We are always disappointed when guests feel disappointed and in this case I guess a lot was due to the prices paid. In both cases you used an agent to book our two family rooms (as family’s), and this was reflected in the prices paid. Direct booking are always more... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

Everything was as we expected. Wentworth House is an old building full of character. It has been tastefully and sympathetically updated to make the stay very comfortable. The room and en-suite were clean and the bed comfortable. It is well located to explore the coastal side of East Riding. Wi-fi available in the room as well as coffee and tea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide a review, which are always useful and reassuring when guests are happy with their stay. More

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a gentle easy going place. A lovely old building, unpretentious, clean and comfortable. When I phoned to ask check in times I was asked what time I would like to arrive - which is very unusual. My room was comfortable and had a good sized bathroom with a very efficient shower. I would have liked an evening meal,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide a review, which are always useful and reassuring when guests are happy with their stay. The only positive side to the erosion of the cliffs is that occasionally some interesting fossils may be found on the beach. More

Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We used the B&B as it was convenient for location for a family celebration. The property is signposted from the road as a hotel, meaning it is easy to find. Access is through a bungalow estate to the rear of the property, which is rather scruffy and run down. Has plenty of car parking. We stayed in the four poster... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our B&B. We are pleased that you found the bed comfortable and the breakfast good quality. In terms of cost we think that £68 for an en-suite room including breakfast is not unreasonable and £92 for a family room with 2 children also provides good value. The house itself is approaching its 400th... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The property is signposted from the road as a hotel which it is not. It is a guesthouse/b&b. It is located in a rather unprepossessing village and the vehicle access is via a housing estate. The first impressions are of a rather scruffy house but that could be due to it being spring and the lawns not being mowed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review and we are sorry that some elements wern't to your satisfaction. Unfortunatley some of the issues are beyond our control. The front of the property has daffodils during the spring and the council does not mow this section until they have died back. The Gallery is available on request, as is the pottery, unless it... More

New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I think this B&B is the most expensive we have paid for a one night stay. The hosts are lovely with friendly welcome on arrival. Secure car park behind the house. Great dinner recommendation at the George and the Dragon a 5 minute walk from the house, the meals are huge you can share one meal between two people or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review, which are always useful. When guests use an agency to book we are charged about 20% commision, which is refelcted in our prices. For the best deals always call the accommodation direct and you will probably get a price reduction on the advertised price. More

Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights Nov just gone , what a lovely old place peaceful and tranquil the silence only broken by the nearby church bell ringing on the hour.Our room lacked nothing,it was warm and cosy with a good en-suite complete with shower and all the trimmings.A bar is available for bottled beers and lager,the gardens are a lovely feature... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Markteale, Owner at Wentworth House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide a review, It was a real pleasure reading yours which captured the friendly and tranquil nature of the village. More

Cardiff
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here overnight whilst being guests at a nearby wedding reception. The hotel was clean and comfortable and all we could ask for after a rather boisterous wedding reception! The room we had was a bit small for the four poster bed and attached drapes and whoever sleeps on the window side has a bit of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend with my husband and 2 children and my two friends and their children. Couldnt of asked for more, what a lovely place! Very clean and gorgeous decor in our room. Loved the new guest lounge as well, very nice to relax in on the evening. Mark and Ann were very friendly and went out there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Wentworth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wentworth House

Address: Wentworth Grove | Aldbrough, Hornsea, Aldbrough HU11 4RX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Aldbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Wentworth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay