We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel

85 Gordon Road, Mosgiel 9007, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mosgiel
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Patches32
Add Photo

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
8
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (25)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stay. Me my husband and 2 younger kids really enjoyed our 2 days staying here would definitely go back. It's clean, quiet and the people that run it are very friendly and helpful. The room our kids stayed in had a TV which made their time staying there good too and the spa bath was awesome :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us thank you. More 

Alexandra, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had an nice stay, awesome pressure in the showers, extremely clean and heaps of tea and coffees, which was great as some places are very stingy with these. Have stayed here before and the hosts are helpful and friendly and love their dog Allie

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. Good fed back helps us to make sure that every thing can be done to keep up a good standard. More 

Bungendore, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Lovely small motel that was very clean & tidy. Great nights sleep. Owners there to help with excellent tourist advice or just a chat. Stayed 2 nights & highly recommend it. Close to Dunedin but out of the city rush

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review it means a lot to us. regards Keith More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

Location: on main street so quite a busy thoroughfare Price: ok, about as expected for a chain motel Value for money: good Amenities: toilet/shower - excellent. beverage/cooking - good Services: Wi-Fi - yes, free Sky TV - yes Presentation: excellent Hygiene/cleanliness: excellent Bedding/furniture: excellent Reception/check-in: friendly, courteous, obliging

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review the more we get the better we can make your stay. regards Keith More 

Masterton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

good location as you can walk to the shops (excellent fish 'n chip shop over the road) and good parking. Friendly owners, scrupulously clean but the room I had was very small and every time the shower in another room was used I had to turn the TV up, the noise from the nearby water cylinder being so loud! Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do try hard to make your stay as comfortable as we can. regards Keith More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 via mobile

Good mid-priced motel with helpful hosts. Simply furnished and spotlessly clean. Dunedin airport is a comparatively long way from the city so this is an excellent stopover if you have a late night arrival or early morning departure. Easy drive from city and quick to get back on motorway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review they come in handy to try and make things better. You are correct it is only about 10 min drive to airport from here nice when you have an early morning flight. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015 via mobile

Clean and tidy room albeit needed windows closed during cold evenings. Heating noisy but effective. Generally comfortable and recommended should you find yourself in the area. Ample parking and friendly staff with cute dog.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Hi . Not sure where you from. But very surprised you found it cold in December. More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

I found this motel very conveniently located on Mosgiel's main street and right next door to the funeral home I'd come down for (hopefully you'll be visiting for happier reasons). The receptionist was pleasant if not particularly friendly, and was happy to look after my bag after checkout the following morning. The continental breakfast was adequate if uninspired. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Hi . Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Reading your review annoyed me a bit as there is a heater on the wall , All our beds have electric blankets on them all year round for those who feel the cold, also we do have an extra blanket in the wardrobe. We are more than happy to assist at... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
48 hotel reviews
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Modern and pleasant smallish motel room with good heating and quality furnishings. Good value but I'm surely not the only person to book this thinking it was actually in Dunedin rather than neighbouring Mosgiel. A pleasant 20 min drive from downtown Dunedin that is well worth it if you have business to do in Mosgiel. Excellent free WiFi and parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It means a lot to us to try keeping things right, Pleased you enjoyed your stay hope to have you again sometime. Just remember our weather is just a little better out here. More 

Cromwell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

4 star rated motel and can see reasons why - lovely decor, room well equipped and fairly new by the looks of it but was very disappointed with the size of the ground floor studio unit. If my husband and I had been travelling with average suitcases instead of small overnight bags, we wouldn't have had room to move. Also,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review we can not improve without feed back. I am sorry you were short of room But you did book a compact studio. we do not expect you to do the dishes we do them for you when the rooms are serviced. The problem with the wifi has also been sorted it was not your tablet is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:56
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay