We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Mosgiel hotels

Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel

4.0 of 5 Motel   |   85 Gordon Road, Mosgiel 9007, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mosgiel
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TravelSkite
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I found this motel very conveniently located on Mosgiel's main street and right next door to the funeral home I'd come down for (hopefully you'll be visiting for happier reasons). The receptionist was pleasant if not particularly friendly, and was happy to look after my bag after checkout the following morning. The continental breakfast was adequate if uninspired. The room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Hi . Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Reading your review annoyed me a bit as there is a heater on the wall , All our beds have electric blankets on them all year round for those who feel the cold, also we do have an extra blanket in the wardrobe. We are more than happy to assist at... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
34 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Modern and pleasant smallish motel room with good heating and quality furnishings. Good value but I'm surely not the only person to book this thinking it was actually in Dunedin rather than neighbouring Mosgiel. A pleasant 20 min drive from downtown Dunedin that is well worth it if you have business to do in Mosgiel. Excellent free WiFi and parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It means a lot to us to try keeping things right, Pleased you enjoyed your stay hope to have you again sometime. Just remember our weather is just a little better out here. More 

Cromwell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

4 star rated motel and can see reasons why - lovely decor, room well equipped and fairly new by the looks of it but was very disappointed with the size of the ground floor studio unit. If my husband and I had been travelling with average suitcases instead of small overnight bags, we wouldn't have had room to move. Also,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review we can not improve without feed back. I am sorry you were short of room But you did book a compact studio. we do not expect you to do the dishes we do them for you when the rooms are serviced. The problem with the wifi has also been sorted it was not your tablet is... More 

Brasilia, DF
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I loved the hotel, the owner is extremely educated. And I also loved Ally, very cute the note for not feeding her. My only complaint is the internet is limited a only few hours a day and bit slow. But the hotel is well located, the breakfast is good and the room is great and has everything that you need,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your review it is always helpful. With internet we give it out in 4 hour lots if you want more just ask we will print you out more. kind regards Keith More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

You's do well to better a place to stay that the Bella Vista in Mosgiel, Dunedin. Superior family service - the hosts went well out of their way to be helpful and hospitable - rooms well equipped, warm and spotlessly clean. Nice outdoor area for the smokers, private and well cared for and a lovely friendly dog! Great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Hi there . Thanks very much for your kind words. We do our best to make every ones stay as comfy as we can .The feed back is much appreciated. More 

Alexandra, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed 1 night. When we arrived we were greated very warmly. The small unit we had was very clean and easily heated. All supplies including plunger coffee were welcomed. The bed was very warm and comfortable (usually a night away from home is a restless night in a different bed) but it was not to be here, just like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We try to make your stay as comfy as we can. And we have our staff to thank for the work they do in keeping our motel clean and friendly. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent a night here recently en route to Dunedin Airport. Owners and dog were v friendly and welcoming. The room is comfortably furnished, and I liked the option of real milk for my tea; but the clean white linen and warm doona were probably my favourites. Motel is walking distance to the supermarket and a cafe called Blackstone, which serves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Maree501, Owner at Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel, responded to this review

Hi. So sorry for the delay in replying to your review. Thank you very much all reviews mean a lot to us .you are right blackstone is a good spot to eat. More 

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for a night just after a big winter storm. We were grateful to find the heater had been turned on in our room, taking the chill off the air. Our unit was clean comfortable. Plenty of Cafes and Restaurants close. Supermarkets not far either.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This Motel is among Mosgiel's finest accommodation. It is always clean, fresh and modern. All facilities are present and we have never been disappointed. Very friendly and totally helpful no matter what the problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. I had booked over the internet and even though this motel was clean and the owners friendly our room was very small and not really comfortable for more than a one night stay. Expensive for what we paid elsewhere. My advise is that you should make sure you get more information on the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel

Address: 85 Gordon Road, Mosgiel 9007, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mosgiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
0:56
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
0:56
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay