We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Mosgiel B&Bs / inns

Silver Peaks Lodge

255 Main South Road | East Taieri, Mosgiel 9092, New Zealand
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Silver Peaks Lodge to your Saves list
Silver Peaks Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
90%
Ranked #1 of 3 Mosgiel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Kevin W Sydney, Australia
  • Reviews (51)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
17
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful setting in beautiful country side, Chrissie made us so welcome and everything you wanted was there to hand. Woke up to some stunning views and a hearty cooked breakfast. If you're there to visit Dunedin and the surrounding areas Silver Peaks Lodge is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, Thank you so much for the great review! It was wonderful to meet you both. Regards Chrissie and Gandhi. More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

When I'm travelling for work I don't normally stay at a B&B but was arriving late at the airport, no space in Mosgiel and didn't want to go into Dunedin and come back out. Friendly welcome and room was nice and warm. TV was ancient and set to one channel only! Shared bathroom but no other guests so not a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate feed back and will be taking your comments on board. The room you were booked into did have a bathroom across the hall but we upgraded you to a room with an en-suite so it was definitely not a shared bathroom. We have 4 guest rooms and 3 guest bathrooms so if... More

Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it very much: close to Dunedin, but away from city noise. House surrounded by beautiful gardens, nice views from the terrace. Excellent breakfasts, very friendly hosts : the hostess suggested we could stay longer on the day of departure , because our flight was in the afternoon. Many thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very convenient location to visit Dunedin and the surrounding area whilst not being in the city centre. Good breakfast. Lovely English gardens. Bedroom walls appeared to be quite transparent to noise as the children's noise from the next bedroom was noticeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Sorry to report this was the only place we were really disappointed with during our 3 week of holidaying in southern NZ: Dunedin, Otago Peninsula and Te Anau/Fjordland. Lukewarm welcome on arrival, no assistance with our luggage, very cold room and cold communal living areas on arrival (we straight away turned the heaters on for our young child). Very hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

We felt very sad to read this review as our guest’s enjoyment and comfort is extremely important to us. We wish you had spoken to us at the time so we could have done something to help make your stay more comfortable. The 11 guests you mention had prearranged to arrive at 11am but it is out of our control... More

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nites at Silver Peaks Lodge and spend our new year there. Very clean and cosy. Great warm breakfast and wonderful host. Would have stayed longer if time permits. Will definitely stay there if visiting Dunedin. Thank you, Chrissie

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay. More

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a great place to stay! Lovely house with nice and very warm decoration. My kids age 9 and 13 missed the place. They missed the 8 little puppies. Great host and nice cooked breakfast. We regret for not staying another night at the place. Highly recommended. ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the review - Chrissie and Gandhi More

Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We and my 6-year old boy stayed here for 2 nights and Chrissie and Gandhi is such warm host. The view from our room is so beautiful. It was very cold on the 2 nights we stayed even its summer (end Nov/early Dec). Chrissie is very attentive and pushed us a portable heater. We slept really well. We enjoyed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you. Regards Chrissie and Gandhi More

Mukilteo, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Even though we arrived completely unexpected, the welcome could not have been nicer. Our bed was so, so comfortable! Breakfast featured many items from their farm - yummy lamb sausage was my fav. Thanks for a great little map of Dunedin plus directions to the fascinating Tunnel Beach!

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Great review thank you! More

Augusta, Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

My cousin Paula and I stayed here on the last night of our two week trip around the South Island of New Zealand. We wish we had planned to stay longer. This is a gem of a place, made special because it is a working farm that is owned and operated by very warm and hospitable people, Chrissie and Gandhi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SilverPeaksLodge, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

WOW Nancy! Thank you so much for your fabulous review! Such kind and complimentary words. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Best wishes and we hope to meet you and Paula again sometime soon. Regards Chrissie and Gandhi. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Silver Peaks Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Silver Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Peaks Lodge

Address: 255 Main South Road | East Taieri, Mosgiel 9092, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mosgiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Silver Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Silver Peaks Lodge offers quality spacious farm-stay accommodation just 15 minutes south of Dunedin city centre. With private 4 guest rooms and 3 guest bathroom, 2 being ensuite, guest sitting room, guest dining room,guest laundry and spa pool. Relax in a quiet warm rural atmosphere and enjoy stunning views over the Taieri Plains and the hills beyond. Set in 16 acres of farmland the lodge is nestled amongst beautiful gardens and a pond area, which attracts a variety of native birds including Tui and Bellbirds. Activities include Farm demonstrations for example sheep shearing, working sheep dogs and milking "Polly" the cow! Only 10 minutes from Dunedin International Airport and within very easy driving distance to the Catlins area and the Otago Penisula. Close to the Otago Rail Trail and for golf enthusiasts, two golf courses within 1 km of Silver Peaks Lodge. A perfect place to stay! We look forward to welcoming you at Silver Peaks Lodge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
4

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer