We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Silver Peaks Lodge

255 Main South Road | East Taieri, Mosgiel 9092, New Zealand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Silver Peaks Lodge
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Silver Peaks Lodge
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
20
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (55)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Silver Peaks was an excellent retreat on our honeymoon. It was much nicer to stay outside the city, on a quiet, beautiful surroundings while still a short drive to the downtown area. Chrissie and Michael were very welcoming and wonderful to talk to, while still giving us a lot of privacy. The rooms were very comfortable, the breakfast -of farm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your warm and kind review! Gave me goose bumps!! We're pleased you enjoyed it as it was a very special time for you on your honeymoon. Would love to meet you again one day. Regards Chrissie and Michael. More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay with Chrissie and (Gandhi) at Silver Peaks Lodge last week with our teenage daughter for 2 nights. We had booked the Silver Peak Suite which has its own Ensuite, Queen Bed, Single Bed and another Single bed in the conservatory attached. We enjoyed a quiet drink and cheese on the verandah both nights. The view of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We really enjoyed meeting you and getting to know you. We get such a buzz meeting people from all over the world and it gives us great pleasure to know they have enjoyed their stay. After all they have chosen to stay with us and we want to make their stay as... More 

Hamilton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Chrissy welcomed us to her lovely B&B which was easy to fine and well positioned close to the airport and mosgiel. Lovely shared guest loung with great views and tea and coffee making facility which we made use of whilst catching up on emails and relaxed on the comfy couch.. Large bathroom beautifuly appointed and really nice shower. Our room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We really do appreciate you taking time to do it. We loved meeting you and chatting with you. Happy Christmas and Best wishes for New Year. Regards Chrissie and Michael. More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Really enjoyed our 2 nights here. Chrissie & Michael (aka Gandhi) are terrific hosts. Beautiful grounds/view. Lots of birds. An excellent farm stay - they have 450 ewes, a cow (had really fresh milk in our room and at breakfast thanks to the cow), a pig and chickens. Gandhi gave us an excellent and easily the best sheep herding demo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fabulous review. It always makes us very happy to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Having just been away on holiday we know how important it is to make your holiday memorable and most importantly enjoyable. After all you have chosen to stay at Silver Peaks Lodge so it is our... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Beautiful setting in beautiful country side, Chrissie made us so welcome and everything you wanted was there to hand. Woke up to some stunning views and a hearty cooked breakfast. If you're there to visit Dunedin and the surrounding areas Silver Peaks Lodge is the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, Thank you so much for the great review! It was wonderful to meet you both. Regards Chrissie and Gandhi. More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

When I'm travelling for work I don't normally stay at a B&B but was arriving late at the airport, no space in Mosgiel and didn't want to go into Dunedin and come back out. Friendly welcome and room was nice and warm. TV was ancient and set to one channel only! Shared bathroom but no other guests so not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate feed back and will be taking your comments on board. The room you were booked into did have a bathroom across the hall but we upgraded you to a room with an en-suite so it was definitely not a shared bathroom. We have 4 guest rooms and 3 guest bathrooms so if... More 

Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed it very much: close to Dunedin, but away from city noise. House surrounded by beautiful gardens, nice views from the terrace. Excellent breakfasts, very friendly hosts : the hostess suggested we could stay longer on the day of departure , because our flight was in the afternoon. Many thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very convenient location to visit Dunedin and the surrounding area whilst not being in the city centre. Good breakfast. Lovely English gardens. Bedroom walls appeared to be quite transparent to noise as the children's noise from the next bedroom was noticeable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Sorry to report this was the only place we were really disappointed with during our 3 week of holidaying in southern NZ: Dunedin, Otago Peninsula and Te Anau/Fjordland. Lukewarm welcome on arrival, no assistance with our luggage, very cold room and cold communal living areas on arrival (we straight away turned the heaters on for our young child). Very hard... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

We felt very sad to read this review as our guest’s enjoyment and comfort is extremely important to us. We wish you had spoken to us at the time so we could have done something to help make your stay more comfortable. The 11 guests you mention had prearranged to arrive at 11am but it is out of our control... More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nites at Silver Peaks Lodge and spend our new year there. Very clean and cosy. Great warm breakfast and wonderful host. Would have stayed longer if time permits. Will definitely stay there if visiting Dunedin. Thank you, Chrissie

Was this review helpful? Yes
CCDunedin, Owner at Silver Peaks Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the fantastic review. It was a pleasure to have you to stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Silver Peaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Peaks Lodge

Address: 255 Main South Road | East Taieri, Mosgiel 9092, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mosgiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Peaks Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay