We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Leigh hotels

The Greyhound Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Greyhound Hotel to your Saves list
The Greyhound Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Leigh
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
brilin southport
  • Reviews (189)
  • Photos (53)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (45)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    57
    28
    21
    31
See reviews for
43
50
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southport
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having stayed here a couple of times and enjoyed it ,although this time we we're not staying in the hotel we decided that as we we're in the area we would have our lunch here. I had the 6 ounce cheese Burger with fries and a pint of cask ale, and thoughrally enjoyed it. Unfortunately my had a prawn sandwich... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighouse
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Together with the rest of our triathlon team from Halifax Harriers, we stayed at The Greyhound during our UK IRONMAN event. People in the hotel were friendly and the room was comfortable. Just be aware, there are some barking dogs living near the hotel and could be a problem if you are sensitive to this kind of noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HFYHManagement, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back next year. Regards Linda Tonge Sales Manager More

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

mixed opinions of this hotel, stayed for 2 nights 19th and 20th july, the reception area is lovely and the staff are very polite however the room was a disappointment clean but in need of modernising and the radiator was stuck on so the room was boiling, also the towel rail in the bathroom was on constantly, we had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night, when I walked Into reception it looked really lovely , but when we got to the room it was a big let down. Rooms are very dated , badly need freshened up. And the pool could do with a good deep clean. The start where however very friendly, and the food was ok, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Haydock races package - Hen do 5th July 2014 Well what can I say? The race package (gold) was worth every penny and then some! All 15 of us (henettes) had a wonderful time at the races on Saturday 5th July and the hotel hospitality was second to none! The staff were fantastic very friendly from reception staff to cleaners... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HFYHManagement, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for excellent review, your time and interest expressed in our hotel and the services we provide.. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I am delighted that you mentioned what great value our Race Packages are which have proven to be really popular and so far everyone that has booked have said they will be... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night for work as the Park Inn was changing over to a Holiday Inn and they said they think they had no rooms available. This is next to a pub and I was upgraded to a suite room as they had no double rooms available. The suite had 2 double beds and a sofa etc..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed on Saturday night for Elton John I must agree with some of the comments made in other reviews regarding the rooms as I was really disappointed on the standard of rooms, they were clean but very dated the room was not worth the money that we paid. The saving grace was the staff, they was all lovely and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed overnight on a Newmarket coach tour our room was large and comfy both the carvery and breakfast were excellent. However most of this review must praise the staff - on arrival the greeting was friendly and welcoming and again reception were so helpful when I went to tell them we hadn't any milk in our room, the receptionist immediately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I had booked in at this hotel online over a month ago so we could make a weekend of our tickets to see Elton John at the Leigh sports arena, but afraid that just wasnt to be!!! We paid £149.00 for a double room for one night but as rooms started from £45.00 per night we assumed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Staffordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Avoid this hotel at all costs.. Incompetent staff and terrible service! Rooms are dated and shabby, smell of strong cleaning fluid but are really quite grubby Service is terrible. In the bar we waited over an hour for two beef sandwiches. We weren't in a rush but when we saw tables being served food who had arrived 30 mins after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HFYHManagement, Manager at The Greyhound Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls encountered during your stay. I would be grateful if you could take the time to contact me directly on 01942 671256 so I may learn more about where we let ourselves down. Whilst at peak times areas of the Hotel can become very busy if a large group arrives together and staff... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Greyhound Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Greyhound Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greyhound Hotel

Address: Warrington Road, Leigh WN7 3XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Leigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Greyhound Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Greyhound Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyhound Hotel Lancashire

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
74

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer